We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly, close to Metro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Vienna City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #59 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, close to Metro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

The hotel staff were very friendly and the room was clean and equipped with modern furniture. Not in the city center, so you need to take the Metro in for good restaurants/sights, but it's only a 5-10 min walk to the nearest Metro stop. It was a great hub for our excursions into the city. It's also near a fun, bustling open-air market that occurs every Saturday.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caleb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    449
    107
    22
    15
See reviews for
232
374
82
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

I stayed with my spouse in HI Vienna City centre since Nov 17 till Nov 21 to enjoy Vienna city architecture and opera.

The hotel is situated just 4 mins by walk from the underground and within 5 mins of walk from Staats Opera. The hotel facility is neat, the rooms are very clean and well-maintained. The room includes coffee and tea station, which we intensively used and which was quite convenient.

The bathroom was very clean and maintained well.

I would note the outstanding work of reception: I approached them many times and they advised me on navigation around Vienna (they gave me the map upon arrival) and also suggested a good travel operator, which took us for 1-day trip to Salzburg. The reception team was polite and helpful.

I think we received very god value for money into this hotel and will definitely come again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenisG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

If being a little way away from the historic centre of Vienna doesn't sit well with you, this is not the place for you. If you're okay with not being in the heart of the city, this could be just fine; transport in Vienna is easy, especially with a day card.
The front of the hotel is drab, rather like the street, frankly, but inside we found a friendly welcome and comfortable room for a reasonable price.
Expect the usual Holiday Inn facilities - comfortable beds, TV, work desk, wardrobes, chair and table, hairdryer, squeezy soap dispenser, mini-bar, safe, air-con and 24 hour reception.
Our room was on the top floor with Velux style windows which could be opened for fresh air. Although the lift served 6 floors, we never waited too long.
Breakfast was everything you'd expect, fruit juices, fruit salad, yoghurts, bread, boiled eggs, hams, smoked fish, cheese, pastries and coffee. The breakfast buffet area got a little cramped at times.
The hotel is in a quiet, safe neighbourhood, there are some places to eat nearby (e.g. Gergelys), there is a friendly pub (Fridolin Engels) and wine bar (Pub Klemo).
There are plenty of transport options: the U-Bahn U4 is nearby at the western end on the Naschmarkt; bus 59A from the Opera stops just two minutes from the entrance to the hotel; tram stops for the number 1 (goes north round the ring, and many of the sights) and 62 (to Karlsplatz). A taxi cost us less than €5 back from Opera! Less than €5!
Walking to and from the centre takes around 15 minutes, but as you'll probably do a lot of walking anyway, save your feet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blebo Craigs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

This hotel is very comfortable, very well kept and ideally located within an easy stroll for all the pleasures of Vienna. The staff are welcoming, efficient and unfailingly helpful and obliging. They made staying in their hotel a real pleasure.

Highly recommended.

Stewart and Isabel Fleming

Room Tip: Just ask and the staff will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Great stop returning to the U.S. Only a short 25 min ride from the airport. Room was exceptional having been recently remodeled and is comparable to upscale hotels. The breakfast buffet was above my expectations for a HI. Restaurants and attractions are within walking distance. We'll stay here again on our next visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skywalker56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stayed here one night. It is an easy walk from the airport train. The area is not far from the city center (under 10 minute walk to St. Stephan Church), and there is are some pleasant shops nearby. This area in Vienna closes down a bit early, so due to a late arrival I chose to eat at the bar. The food was good and the portions decent sized.
Room was well equipped and comfortable, staff at the front desk very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beckyTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Although this hotel is a bit off the beaten path and there is not much to see or many restaurants nearby, it is a 15-minute walk to the Opera and close to public transportation. Easy check-in and check-out, very polite staff. Clean room with a very comfortable bed, good bathtub/shower, minibar, and flat screen TV.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sykesy116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#41 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Property: Holiday Inn Vienna City
Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing