We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, with a view!”
Review of NH Danube City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Danube City
Ranked #92 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed here just one night as the client I was visiting is located a few minutes walk away from the hotel.

It was clean and good sized rooms.

The shower seemed to lose pressure, not sure if this is normal or because everyone was taking a shower at the same time. There was a very large tour group staying there at the time.

Breakfast buffet is reasonable, had a good selection of things although definitely not the most impressive hotel breakfast I have seen. The layout was a bit weird so it got very crowded when you tried to get some food.

Overall, I had a very positive stay here, didn't encounter any problems and found the staff friendly and the bed comfortable. Everything you would expect for a hotel basically!

They offer an airport shuttle which from what I could see left 5 past the hour from the hotel every hour for €7 or €8. This is great value considering the price of taxi's in Vienna, with a taxi to/from the airport costing at least €40.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emimurata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel because it was convenient for a conference nearby. The hotel is too far from the centre of Vienna to be attractive to tourists, and the charges for internet access make it expensive for business use. The room was average, with inadequate air conditioning and cups that were cracked and dirty. On the other hand, breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isandina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

I stayed there for a conference in November 2010. The hotel is in a quiet area and very close to the metro station. Don’t stay in this hotel if you want to be in the city centre. But if you know how to use the metro station go for it. (its around 10-15 minutes to get to the centre)
When we arrived I was happy to find out that I was upgraded to the top (renovated) floor because I asked for a smoking room and there were no other rooms left. This is the first time I get better treatment because I smoke :))
The room was more than I expected! Big flat LCD. The most comfortable bed I ever slept on, cleaned every day, tea and coffee available every day for free, big bathroom. I couldn’t find anything wrong with the room.
Staff was extremely friendly and they were doing there best to help us (if you concider the fact that the place was fully booked, this was heroic of them :)
During my stay the hotel was packed with people from conferences. I mean other than my conference. The restaurant was always busy and you had to wait to get seated. I don’t know if this was the time of the hear or if this hotel has a policy to make better deals to conference organizers.
Overall, my stay there was very pleasant, and I found it quite easy to use the metro station. But I repeat. If you don’t know how to use the metro station and you want to be in the centre then don’t choose this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria-Lesleynoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Yes, it's a bit removed from the city centre, but the metro (Red line) will take you there in a jiffy. Being so close to the Danube--the banks of which beckon you to take a walk on-- and the very modern appointments highly recommend this hotel for a short duration stay. The restaurant--for breakfast and dinner--is a fine experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BalakrishnanUnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I selected the NH hotel simply for the location near the Vienna International Center, but the room and the staff were very good. The internet was excellent. Comfortable bed. Clean room and good bathroom. The staff were very nice and spoke fluent English. The room service menu was a bit limited but tasty, but the dining room's menu was much more extensive. My room (16th floor, on the front side) had a view of the Alte Donau river with many (rental) boats motoring and sailing around--very nice.

The breakfast buffet was good and the staff did a good job but the serving area is very cramped for all the guests that have to serve themselves. Some days it was almost complete chaos. The airconditioning in my room was working, but could not completely cool off the room when it was warm outside.

I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip. The hotel had nice clean rooms and a nice breakfast buffet.

They didn't have free internet access in the rooms but in the lobby you could get vouchers which gave you 30 minutes of access to the lobby Wi-Fi. To get VPN working over the Wi-Fi you needed payed access.

The hotel is perhaps a little off from the center of the city but there is a subway station less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel which takes you there in no time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonasfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

On a weekend trip to Vienna the NH Danube City offered the best prices and best value for money. It is located close to the UNO and the commercial district with great access to public transportation. Also the airport bus has a stop right in front of the hotel.
Overall the hotel was in a good shape, clean, modern, some facilities like sauna, gym, etc. The room (we stayed in a tripple room) was ok, but the interiour to our suprise not as modern as the other parts of the hotel.
The staff was excellent and very helpful with all our matters.
Definately a recommandable hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oriii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Arcotel Kaiserwasser
#133 of 359 in Vienna
705 reviews
Kaisermühlen
Melia Vienna
Melia Vienna
#54 of 359 in Vienna
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#103 of 359 in Vienna
1,330 reviews
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#68 of 359 in Vienna
1,145 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Danube City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Danube City

Address: Wagramer Strasse 21, Vienna 1220, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Kaisermühlen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Vienna
#68 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#76 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#84 Family Hotel in Vienna
#93 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $48 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Danube City 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Ambience, excellent food, modern technical equipment and comfort are just some of the distinctive hallmarks of NH Danube City in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Danube City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Danube City Vienna
Nh Danube City Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing