We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fond memories”
Review of Hotel Am Parkring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Am Parkring
Ranked #23 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Almost a year since we stayed for 5 nights at this very centrally situated hotel across the road from Vienna's Stadtpark. We had a lovely view over the old town area, were only 5 minutes from the metro and within walking distance from major attractions. The Lindt chocolate bunny on the pillow Easter Monday was a special touch.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Am Parkring, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Gerda V,

With pleasure we learn that you kept your Easter holidays 2012 in good memories and therefore decided to review now your stay.

We appreciate your nice comments and would be pleased to count you soon again to our guests.

In the meantime, we send greetings to Johannesburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 762 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

In Vienna's Stadtpark area there are other luxury hotels within its perimeter but only this hotel standout among the rest as they offer rooms with panoramic views of the city. Upon check-in, I was upgraded to a corner suite located at the 12th floor of the building and whatever I viewed from the video stream and photos in the internet becomes real and breathtaking as minutes after I entered the suite I immediately grab my camera and proceed to the balcony to take shots. It is walking distance to Opera approximately 15 minutes and St. Stephen's Cathedral.

Room Tip: select a room located on the 12th floor where Schick restaurant is located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank christianyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Am Parkring, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear christianyvr,

Thank you for posting your experience.

We are delighted that your stay at our Hotel Am Parkring fulfilled all your expectations and you therefore enjoyed your holidays.

We wish you a nice winter and send best regards to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel was within a 10 mimute walk of the old town area and the metro was right across the street. It had all the amenities you needed (including a nice chocolate on your pillow at night) and was quite pleasant. Other guests complained about the front desk, but they were perfectly nice and helped us find anything we needed and called us a cab when we asked for it. They even booked us a room with two twin beds, which are hard to find seperated in Europe! My one recommendation would be to not purchase their breakfast; 19 euro is a LOT! There are plenty of cafes nearby!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HiImMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Am Parkring, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Mmlall06,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to learn that you had a very nice stay at our Hotel Am Parkring and thank you for your compliments for our staff, especially the front desk team.

As you wrote we offer twin rooms but also double rooms and suites can be booked.

We are sorry that you did not try our breakfast buffet and hope that maybe we can convince you at the time of your next stay.

Wishing you a nice winter continuation, we remain,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I just spent the New Year holiday at this hotel. The location is perfect, just a 100 meters or so from the Stubentor Ubahn station and within walking distance of the city center and major attractions. The view is lovely and if you have a chance to visit on New Year's Eve, you will be treated to a city-wide fireworks show like none other.

The problem is that my room was located directly beneath the restaurant food bar. The employee(s) closing up at night have no consideration for guests, banging around, stomping, creaking floorboards, dropping things, moving furniture, and creating all manner of noisy ruckus for HOURS until long after 11:00 at night. Once that cacophony ends, you're treated to a similar symphony of noise in the wee hours of the morning. I got little to no sleep and complaining did not do much good.

I was otherwise relatively happy with the experience, though I think the hotel is closer to 3 stars than four.

Note, do not pay €19 for the breakfast! There are plenty of cafes within walking distance where you can treat yourself to a lovely breakfast at a fraction of the cost.

Room Tip: Make sure they do not place you in a room beneath the restaurant! You will get no sleep as the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Am Parkring, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Karin S.,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community.

We were very happy to learn that you fully enjoyed the hotel location and the spectacular fireworks to New Year’s Eve taking place in Vienna.

But we really regret that your otherwise so nice stay was overshadowed by disturbing noise at night, that could have been avoided. Please do accept our sincere excuses.

Your critic is very important for us and has already been passed to the concerned department in order to be discussed.

We still hope you will keep your stay in good memories and wish you a successful year 2013.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We ve stayed on this hotel for two nights. I would not suggest it as the decoration on the rooms is too old and the rooms have a strange smell. In this value I would prefer other choices next time. The only advantage is the location of the hotel and the view from the rooms. The breakfast is too expensive for its value. Through booking we did not have the choice to book without breakfast which is a disadvantage also. Not value for money.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Korinaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Am Parkring, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Korinaki,

Thank you for posting your opinion.

We were pleased to read that you liked the location of the hotel and the offered views.

But we are sorry that you were not satisfied with the decoration of the rooms. With pleasure we inform you that we will renovate some rooms in the next weeks and hope to get a further possibility to show you our quality and service consciousness.

Your critic regarding your reservation through booking surprised me. I contacted the resident manager of the Hotel Am Parkring to check this problem and can answer you that both rates are listed (with or without breakfast). We are sorry that you could not book as desired. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any support or information needed.

We wish you a nice year 2013 and send you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

It was our 35th wedding anniversary and to be honest the AM Parkring was not our first choice for a long weekend in Vienna. It was however a lot better than we'd expected. Upon arrival we met Robert who helped us park our car and helped us up to the 13th floor with our cases. A really cheerful and helpful guy who made us feel at home.
The right ups spoke of a well located hotel with a great view across Vienna, so we'd asked specifically for a view over to St Stephansdom Cathedral...we had a corner room with wrap-around balcony that gave a fantastic spectacle of Vienna. Especially when lit up at night, really beautiful. This more than compensated for a smallish room with not much storage and no tea making facilities.

.

Room Tip: Ask for a view across to St. Stephansdom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrevTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Am Parkring, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear TrevTrav,

thank you for your review.

We are happy that although we were not your first choice, our offer convinced you and you enjoyed your stay with us.

The tea and making facilities are available upon request at the reception. Please do not hesitate to ask our staff. We will be pleased to help.

Wishing you a great New Year 2013, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I think that I made mistake when i made booking on booking.com and I did not contact hotel directly. But we were in a hurry and it was last minute booking. We arrived around 4 pm and we were told that they do not have our reservation or room available. But what hurt me was not what receptionist said but how. That rude tone that attitude that was something that I can not explain here with words.
At that moment we were travelling for a three weeks so hotels and receptionists were something we are used to but that attitude could not pass with out equal response.
So after lot of bed words, loud bad words to be exact, manager told us that HE will solve this problem.
So we waited for two hours in a lobby before they arrange our room. Room was not that bad. It was clean but it has seen better days.
For the price we were paying we expected much more especially since we came from a great place in Zagreb (see Hotel As review).
So as fare as I could find out there was a problem between Hotel and booking.com but that was not my mistake.
So what did I learned from this is double check your reservation with hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Am Parkring, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Steve M,

First of all let me say that I am sorry that you could not completely enjoy your holidays in Vienna.

As we read your review we were a little surprised because we could not remember this happening. We checked all reservations we got for the months of October 2012 and none was made under the name Steve M from London.

So we tried to contact you through TripAdvisor and send you an Email unfortunately without success.

We are keen to resolve this case and the circumstances that led to your dissatisfaction, but unfortunately this is not possible for us because we have no concrete data.

Maybe you have reviewed the wrong hotel?

Best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#22 of 359 in Vienna
556 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#32 of 359 in Vienna
901 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#35 of 359 in Vienna
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
#18 of 359 in Vienna
586 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#21 of 359 in Vienna
1,268 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 359 in Vienna
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Parkring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Parkring

Address: Parkring 12 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#20 Green Hotel in Vienna
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#41 Family Hotel in Vienna
#54 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $121 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Parkring 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Boutique-Hotel Am Parkring, located on the 11th through 13th floors of the Gartenbauhochhaus along the elegant Ringstrasse, which surrounds the historic center of Vienna, offers the finest views of the city. Whether in the rooms, suites with roof-deck, the gourmet restaurant "Das Schick" or the conference room "El Panorama" -at the SCHICK Hotel Am Parkring you'll enjoy a magnificent panoramic view. The 55 rooms and suites are tastefully furnished and equipped with modern technology, WLAN (free of charge) and air conditioning. At the Restaurant "Das Schick" seasonal and local products of Austria and Spain are combined to creative and fascinating delicacies. A culinary cross national teamwork-including a view over the rooftops of Vienna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Am Parkring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Parkring Hotel
Best Western Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing