We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed and Mislead.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Ranked #12 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We chose this hotel after spending almost an entire day reviewing many hotels in the area. Specifically , we were lead to believe it was a good hotel based upon the glowing reviews it had received previously. It also advertised that "NO PETS(were) ALLOWED" which was our strict preference and the reason for our lengthy hotel search.
To be fair, we were allowed to check in early as per our request because we were so exhausted after a grueling 16 hours of overnight international flight to come to Vienna for an international conference.
As we entered our assigned room, we heard a loud noise of someone drilling the outer walls of our room and doing construction. We requested to be transferred to another room. We were then assigned a room in the second floor. The room we were assigned this time had some unusual stains on the carpet which we thought were possible "pet stains". That afternoon while having tea in the second floor lobby, we were surprised to see a man walking upstairs in the hotel with a large dog.
Our suspicion that pets were being allowed in this hotel despite their "no pets allowed" policy as advertised on the website, was confirmed when we had to spend the whole night hearing a brief but strong growl from a dog every 15- 20 minutes from the adjacent room. At around 3:00 AM , with both of us sleepless and could no longer tolerate this disturbing noise, we called the front desk to complain. The man in the front desk at first denied about having a dog allowed in the hotel. However, when we told him to come to our room and listen to this "dog growl" , he then said that "pets are admitted in the hotel under special circumstances but their owners had to pay more".
We immediately contacted our booking agent , filed a complaint and moved out of this hotel at daybreak.
We were most certainly disappointed and mislead.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JBDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2010

The service was excellent, and the staff very pleasant. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable, the food was very good and I would not hesitate to stay there again. The hotel is situated in the centre of the city and ten minutes walk from the Opera.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oobly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Very nice hotel, very clean, good location, nice and helpful staff, great breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

This was a great experience in Vienna. We began with a friendly and helpful greeting from reception. The staff is very good. The room was small but very well laid out with comfortable bed and great shower. Good lighting!! Breakfast was excellent. Location near the Nasche Market was a real plus. We ate at small restaurants there for two nights. Food and value were excellent. The hotel was quiet and we definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoTravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

My mate and I stayed here in June, 2009. I loved everything about this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast was awesome - one of the best we've had anywhere. The location is great also. I don't know if you can go wrong in Vienna.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amber9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

This hotel is located next to the Karlsplatz train stration, which is only about a 5 min walk away. The area is sorrounded by Chinese, Japanese and wine bars. The staff Doris and a blonde haired lady were very nice to tell us where to go and dine and sights to see.

We arrived there at 7:30am and was told we could go upstairs to a lounge to have complimentary tea and coffee so we could research on where to go. They also provide complimentary apples in the lobby a nice touch!

The room was spacious and very clean, equipped with a tv, fridge and room safe. The bathroom had minimal toiletries. There was no air con but a small fan and we could open the window fully outwards. Lucky it was cold and raining in the middle of Summer, so maybe not recommended for the warmer Summer months!

Overall no complaints and we would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaynorchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Really, really good experience here. Outstanding location near Naschmarket. Very quiet at night, but 2 minutes to Underground and 15 minutes to Stephenplatz. Breakfast excellent . . . wide variety, very fresh food, eggs cooked to order, and courteous staff. Entire staff very polite, friendly, and made you feel they were happy to have you there. We stayed in their apartment on the top floor . . . huge and spacious, gracious, very modern furnishings. They had advertised this as a "junior suite" but it is much more . . . a full bedroom, bath, comfortable living/dining/kitchenette, with laundry. Not the cheapest option we saw, but an absolute delight.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djw009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,962 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 359 in Vienna
2,592 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,567 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beethoven Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beethoven Vienna

Address: Papagenogasse 6, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#18 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#23 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $128 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beethoven Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Beethoven – Lovers of Vienna welcome The 4-star Hotel Beethoven lies ensconced in culture and cuisine on the “bohemian“ Naschmarkt, opposite the Papagenotor at Theater an der Wien, just a few minutes’ walk from the Opera, the Musikverein, the Museumsquartier, the most traditional Viennese coffeehouses and shopping streets. 4-star hotel situated on Vienna’s NaschmarktThe location of the 4-star Hotel Garni on the Naschmarkt lets lovers of Vienna dive right into the typical Viennese lifestyle. The market, with its dozens of little stalls and selection of fresh fruit, vegetables and specialities, is a colourful and lively snapshot of Vienna, which is even more varied on Saturdays, with the farmer’s and flea market. In addition to the restaurants and cafés around the Naschmarkt, a trendy restaurant and bar scene has developed in the market area. Coupled to cultureThe culturally committed Ludwig family, which owns the hotel, sponsors numerous Viennese cultural institutions, such as the Albertina, the Mumok and the Musikverein and inspires lovers of Vienna to special cultural delights: invitations to previews, exhibition openings, museum visits and preferential ticket orders at the Musikverein. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beethoven Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beethoven
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing