We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Ranked #16 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Convenient and Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of the inner circle and just a few feet from the Naschmarkt, the fruit and veg market, complete with lots of eateries. What's good about the hotel? It is quiet, not too large, has plenty of character, the rooms are more than adequate, the tempting breakfast spread enough to satisfy most tastes, the staff at reception very helpful, One treat of a bonus is the complimentary classical music recital given on Sunday afternoons in the lounge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomberwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarella240464, Inhaber at Hotel Beethoven Wien, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your good Review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and hope to see you again one day!

Happy New Year and all the best,

Barbara Ludwig & Team
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    327
    55
    10
    6
See reviews for
194
731
77
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Rarely have I encountered a staff as service oriented as the folks at this hotel. Example: family that I was traveling with had a problem with their door lock. He reported this to the front desk in person and the agent (Eva) immediately picked up the phone to report it. Within five minutes someone had been to the room to see about the door. Wow! Eva was also helpful in making dinner and tour reservations. She was a wealth of knowledge. Also outstanding was the Italian desk agent (didn't get her name) who was very sweet and extremely helpful.

We stayed four night over Christmas and on Christmas day after returning to my room, housekeeping had left a nice letter wishing me a Merry Christmas, a Christmas ornament and two chocolate bars - how nice. I was in a renovated room on the 5th floor (505). It was so lovely: spacious, a wicked cool design aesthetic, heated floors in the bathroom, wonderful amenities (bathrobes, slippers, coffee service) and some of the best skin lotion I've come across.

The location is on a quiet side street across from the Naschmarkt and is a 15 minute walk to Stefensplatz. The Karlsplatz metro station is a five minute walk.

Breakfast each morning was very good, varied and plentiful. The young lady that worked in the dining room could not have been nicer or more efficient.

The management of this hotel has gone above and beyond in the hiring of their employees. As a frequent traveler I am fortunate to stay in many hotels and Hotel Beethoven ranks at the very top.

Room Tip: The rooms on 5 and one room on 6 have been renovated as of 12/27/13
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobZAtlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarella240464, Inhaber at Hotel Beethoven Wien, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
I am really glad that you felt so comfortable in our Hotel. Thank you so much for your nice words abd your very good Review! Hope to see you again and wishing all the best for 2014,

Kind regards from Vienna

Barbara Ludwig & Team
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beringen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

All excellent, Situation near "Naschmarkt" beautiful, staff friendly, breakfest great, we came already the second time there and stayed this time for 3 Days for our annual stip - visit to vienna. We were very happy there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugen965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarella240464, Inhaber at Hotel Beethoven Wien, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
It was great to have you back! Thank you so much for your good Review!
Happy New Year and hope to see you soon,

all the best,

Barbara Ludwig & Team
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Situated down a side street near Nachtsmarkt, it's a bit hard to find. If arriving by U-bahn the nearest station is Karlsplatz but make sure you take the exit marked 'Secession'.
Our room was quite small and basic but very quiet. The bathroom was OK - plenty of instant hot water though the shower in the bath was awkward to use - situated to the side, it was hard to avoid soaking the floor. Nice liquid soap & shower gel provided. A good breakfast was included in the price and it was nice to get good fruit juice and decent coffee.
The hotel is quite old and has obviously not been refurbished for some time so it feels a bit gloomy. However it is well located just outside the 'Ring' with the centre of Vienna a short stroll away and the reception staff are very cheerful, welcoming and obliging.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sicarius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarella240464, Inhaber at Hotel Beethoven Wien, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your Review on Tripadvisor! We have been in the process of renovating our Hotel since 2 years now and just finished the refurbishment of 11 rooms in our roof floors. Also we do have 5 different categories of rooms with different sizes and styles. If you happen to stay again in Vienna we would be pleased to offer you one of our renovated rooms.

Nevertheless I hope you enjoyed your stay in Vienna. I wish you a Happy New Year and all the best for the future,

Barbara Ludwig & Team
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Location, breakfast, staff, reception, clean room, everything was great.
We stayed at the hotel two couples for 4 nights and the hotel conditions allowed us to realize a dream vacation in Vienna.
We while come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michal y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarella240464, Inhaber at Hotel Beethoven Wien, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your great Review! I am glad you had a good stay in our Hotel and could enjoy Vienna!

Looking forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards and a Happy New Year,

Barbara Ludwig
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was here for a meeting in another place not far away. The staff was friendly and helpful. One of them even found a gluten-free restaurant for me that was excellent. The breakfasts were great, they even had gluten-free bread for me and remembered me every morning. The comments that I have seen on this hotel are right on. The house concert with champagne on Sunday evening was stupendous. When I go back to Wien I will definitely try to stay here again. The proximity to Karlsplatz and the U-bahn make it easy to travel. The Naschmarkt which is only a couple of blocks away is interesting.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarella240464, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Beethoven Wien, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice words, we really appreciate that and are glad that you had a nice stay! Have a wonderful Christmastime and come back soon!

All the best,
Barbara Ludwig & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was the first time we had visited Vienna. We found this quirky boutique hotel on the internet. We certainly were not disappointed with our choice.From the moment we walked through the doors into the reception area, we were made to feel welcome. As neither of us speak German, it was just as well that each and every staff member speaks English.
The lift to our room was rather on the small side, but we managed. Upon entering our room, we were impressed with the olde worlde charm. Our window looked out onto the nearby market, so we knew straight away that we had chosen well. the window at first glance seemed a bit odd, in that it was in a sort of alcove, but it worked well.
One thing that surprised us was the coffee pod machine instead of a kettle. Every hotel should have these in their rooms. Although the hotel has an olde worlde charm, the room itself has been updated. Our bed was very comfortable. Our bathroom was large and clean enough ,with modern amenities. It was large enough for me to wash and iron my shirts.
Another thing that pleasantly surprised us was the choice at breakfast. There was something for all tastes. My personal favourite were the scrambled eggs. Not for a very long time have I tasted eggs this good. Full marks to the chef.
If we every decide to visit Vienna again, then this hotel would be our only choice. It is such a shame that we were not staying longer. all we really wanted was to visit the Christmas markets, so we thought that three nights would be enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarella240464, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Beethoven Wien, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice words, we really appreciate that and are glad that you had a nice stay! Have a wonderful Christmastime and come back soon!

All the best,
Barbara
General Manager & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beethoven Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beethoven Wien

Property: Hotel Beethoven Wien
Address: Papagenogasse 6, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#15 Family Hotel in Vienna
#18 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#23 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beethoven Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Beethoven – Lovers of Vienna welcome The 4-star Hotel Beethoven lies ensconced in culture and cuisine on the “bohemian“ Naschmarkt, opposite the Papagenotor at Theater an der Wien, just a few minutes’ walk from the Opera, the Musikverein, the Museumsquartier, the most traditional Viennese coffeehouses and shopping streets. 4-star hotel situated on Vienna’s NaschmarktThe location of the 4-star Hotel Garni on the Naschmarkt lets lovers of Vienna dive right into the typical Viennese lifestyle. The market, with its dozens of little stalls and selection of fresh fruit, vegetables and specialities, is a colourful and lively snapshot of Vienna, which is even more varied on Saturdays, with the farmer’s and flea market. In addition to the restaurants and cafés around the Naschmarkt, a trendy restaurant and bar scene has developed in the market area. Coupled to cultureThe culturally committed Ludwig family, which owns the hotel, sponsors numerous Viennese cultural institutions, such as the Albertina, the Mumok and the Musikverein and inspires lovers of Vienna to special cultural delights: invitations to previews, exhibition openings, museum visits and preferential ticket orders at the Musikverein. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beethoven Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beethoven
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing