We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$360
$317
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $359/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$296
$290
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $417/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$353
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$218
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$286
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$141
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
$114
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$147
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$235
$207
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,127)
Filter reviews
2,127 results
Traveler rating
1,701
367
42
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,701
367
42
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopera housequiet side streetexcellent hotelkarlsplatz stationcity centrebreakfast buffetsparkling wineminute walkquiet locationwithin easy walking distancebreakfast was amazingwould highly recommend this hotelstate operamain attractionsold world charmbeautiful citywonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,201 - 1,206 of 2,127 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

After such a glowing report in April, it saddens me to report that standards are slipping at somewhere I have always regarded highly.
I booked a room in the normal course and stipulated a non smoking one (Austria seems to be lagging behind the rest of Europe). It was particularly relevant as I have just completed a course of medication after discovering I had lung cancer earlier this year (for what it is worth, I have never smoked in my life).

A replacement room was provided without demur but imagine my shock when I found the toilet had not been cleaned....once again, profuse apologies from the receptionist but rather a let down after previous visits. Please Kaiserhof, don't get carried away with all the positive comments.

You are only as good as your last review.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank WednesdayOrpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiserhofWien, Director of Sales at Hotel Kaiserhof Wien, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Dear "WednesdayOrpington",

first of all we would like to thank you for your feedback and comment to your stay at the KAISERHOF.
It is very important to us to get a reply and therefore to have the possibility to change ..

Refering to your comment we are very sorry for the circumstances and of course have briefed our colleagues and solved the situation internal . It is important to us to get your comment - as it is the possibility for us to improve our service for future guests.

We do hope to may welcome you back to the KAISERHOF.
Should you need any assistance for your next stay please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Best regards,
Your KAISERHOF-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We recently spent a few days in Vienna and had the good fortune to stay at the Kaiserhof. It's conveniently located about 10 minutes walk from the centre of the city on the south side. We found the hotel clean, well decorated, nicely furnished and with the biggest bed you could ever hope to sleep in! The main attraction of this hotel, however, is the staff who were the friendliest you could hope to meet. THIS HOTEL IS STRONGLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Romseycobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiserhofWien, Director of Sales at Hotel Kaiserhof Wien, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Dear "Romseycobbler"

we hope you had a comfortable journey back home. Great to see that you enjoyed your stay at the KAISERHOF! It is very important for us to get your comment so that we are able to improve our service.

It would be great to may welcome you back soon!
Best regards from Vienna,

Your KAISERHOF Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here end of June. Fabulous hotel. Reception is beautiful and staff very helpful. Rooms were spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. Bathroom was big, clean, power shower. Location was perfect- we walked everywhere- bout 10 mins walk from centre. Breakfast was amazing- lots of choice and a glass of fizz for those who can handle it that early! Their herbal tea collection was also impressive. Lots of choice of hot food- including yummy waffles!
Would come back to Vienna just to stay at this fabulous, relaxing hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank advicefromus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiserhofWien, Director of Sales at Hotel Kaiserhof Wien, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear "advicefromus",
thank you very much for your respond and comment - your feedback is very important for us to
improve our service.
Great to see that you enjoyed your stay at the KAISERHOF and in Vienna - hope to welcome you back soon!
Your KAISERHOF Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Hubby and I had travelled to Vienna for a conference and as we were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary at the time, we decided to stay on for an additional 3 nights. We decided to spoil ourselves with a stay in a classy hotel and the Kaiserfof seemed to fit the bill nicely!

We were made feel very welcome by the lady at Reception when we arrived and the gentleman who showed us to our room was very helpful and friendly too. We were delighted to see that our room lived to expectations as we had paid a little extra for a luxury room, given the fact that we were going to live it up for the few days.

The staff had left a lovely bottle of sparkling wine on ice for us, and also the next day when we returned after our sightseeing there was a little box of chocolates left for us with a card wishing us well on our special anniversary. Little touches that meant a lot!

The bed was large (at least 6 ft across or maybe more) and the mattress seemed to have a memory foam top on it, or at least whatever it was made of it was heavenly! The curtains were blackout curtains so when they were closed the room was really dark and we slept like logs each of the nights that we were there!

The room was very well equipped, with a large well stocked mini bar, a trouser press (which really just creased the trousers more, but whatever!) a large card operated safe, tea and coffee making facilities, quality toiletries in the bathroom, large fluffy towels embossed with the Kaiserhof emblem (very posh altogether!), and a nice flat screen TV which just had a small selection of English speaking channels like CNN and the like, but then we weren't there to watch the television!

The room was air conditioned and it was necessary to keep the air conditioning running all day and all night to keep the room any was comfortable. This wasn't the fault of the hotel however, and it was stiffling heat in Vienna for the few days that we were there. Obviously everyone had their air conditioning on flat out and the system must have been struggling to cope with the demands.

We had the room with the red and cream decor and a canopy over the bed, which did add to the feeling of luxury, and because we had opted for a luxury room we had quite a bit of extra floor space compared to the other rooms on the same floor. (We were able to check out the layout by looking at the floor plan on the fire escape info).

The bathroom was a little dated, with a moss green coloured floor tile, and a white/grey mottled wall tile. It was perfecty fine though, and as I mentioned above everything within the bathroom oozed quality, but over the years we have got spoiled with modern marble bathrooms and the like. It didn't take away from the fact that the room was luxurious, but I just thought I'd mention it, for anyone who feels that a bathroom needs to be as impressive as the adjoining bedroom! (Let's face it, we've all got very critical nowadays when we have access to such beautiful hotels across the globe!)

Downstairs the rest of the hotel was magnificently decorated. The stairs were marble, the large glass windows on the returns on the stairs were all decorated with etched glass and the like and there were chandeliers twinkling everywhere you went! Everything was glittering it was so clean and it really did have an air of elegance about the place that made you feel you were very privilaged to stay there!

There was a nice bar area where we stopped for a nightcap on our last night, although this closed down rather early, at shortly after 11pm, so probably best not to bank on staying up late in the bar if that's something you like to do. (Frankly with the heat in the city and having trawled through the streets sightseeing all day, we were well fit for bed before it got too late into the night!)

Breakfast was excellent with a variety of warm and cold dishes, fruits, juices, cereals, breads and pasties. Everything to set you up for the day ahead. The dining itself was beautiful again with lovely plasterwork and chandeliers.

The staff really were very friendly at the Kaiserhof and we would love to return there some day. I would certainly recommend it for it's location and if you are looking for a little bit more than just the average comfortable hotel experience then the Kaiserhof has all the little extras that make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Berniebobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear "Berniebobcat"
we hope you had a comfortable journey back home. Great to see that you enjoyed your stay at the KAISERHOF! It is very important for us to get your comment so that we are able to improve our service.
It would be great to may welcome you back soon! - should you need any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us!
Best regards,
Your KAISERHOF Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Kaiserhof would have many prerequisites for being a great hotel..
- location is excellent: city-centre, most sights and the Westbahnhof are all in short distance. Karlsplatz subway/tram-hub is just a short walk up the street.
- most staff of the hotel are friendly and helpful
- the breakfast-buffet is certainly good.
- public areas, the bar and the breakfast-cafe have a very inviting cozy atmosphere.
- its spotless clean
- free Wifi

Yet, the hotel has (some ?) rooms that are a letdown:
- the room i stayed in was smallish in size and looked tired.
maybe just bad luck with that particular room though ?
- the proportions of the bed were tiny - taller people might well find that their feet are hanging of the end of the bed - the bed is not only short, its also quite narrow, you shouldnot roll around unless you dont want to fall off the side.
- the mattress is extremely soft ... one sinks in it as if it was a waterbed with half of the water let out - now this is up to individual taste whether one likes soft or firm beds, but i found the bed in the Kaiserhof quite uncomfortable
- soundproofing on the windows facing the street is good, but internal soundproofing is pretty much non-existant. you get the hear everything from the corridor and the adjacent rooms.

Be aware that if you check-in in the evening, the hotel bascially shuts down on everything except the reception after 22:00 PM
bellboy to help with the luggage ? .... nope
order a late dinner from the room-service ? .... nope

so, the Kaiserhof is a mixed bag. commendable all-in-all (especially for the prime location as vienna-.base for tourists) but with some flaws.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear Mr. Christian,

first of all we would like to thank you for your feedback and comment to your stay at the KAISERHOF.It is very important to us to get a reply and therefore to have the possibility to improve the service for your next stay and for other guests.
Refering to your comment on the rooms, we of course would change the room if you are not satisfied with it or if the bed is too small for you. as we do have special large beds for tall persons we could have changed immedeatly.For future reservations we kindly ask you to inform us before arrival so that we can handle everything before your check-in.
For late arrvial and late snack - room service is possible till 22:00 pm and all snacks are served till 23:00 pm at the bar.
We are happy to see that you liked the breakfast-buffet as well as the our cafe and all amenties at the KAISERHOF.
Hope to may welcome you back soon !
Best regards,
Your KAISERHOF-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews