We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best choice for vienna downtown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Das Opernring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Das Opernring Hotel
Ranked #99 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandroupoli, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best choice for vienna downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

The location of the hotel is the best for exploring the centre of Vienna(innere stadt in German),just a few steps from the Opera and other sightseeing places. The room was clean, warm and comfortable and the bathroom was quite big. Although it was just on a main street of Vienna,there was no much noise! Breakfast was good,friendly staff and free internet access.
I definately recommend perple to stay there, yoy can go everywhwre on foot!!
The problem is that Vienna is too cold at this period!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xrisa_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Das_Opernring, Manager at Das Opernring Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review at Tripadvisor. We're happy that you were such satisfied with the service and the rooms our hotel provided to you.

From November till the beginning of March it could get quite cold in Vienna but the period from spring till fall is quite warm, so much more comfortable than the cold period :)

We hope to welcome you again in Vienna at our hotel and remain with

Kind regards,

Your "Hotel am Opernring" - Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    140
    46
    9
    8
See reviews for
63
175
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

We have traveled a lot and we found this small hotel to be outstanding. It is only one block from the Opera House (the pickup point for many bus tours as well as wonderful concerts). As such, it is within easy walking distance for shopping, dining and sightseeing. The room and bathroom were large - especially for Europe. One characteristic we liked was a large window which we could open two different ways and which completely shut out the street noise at night. The front desk personnel were always very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast offered both choice and taste. The elevator was a tad small, but we often took the stairs anyway. As one who does not carry a computer, I appreciated the free Internet access in the lobby. This hotel's rates were about half of those of the major hotel just down the block. We definitely would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingDave72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Das_Opernring, Manager at Das Opernring Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review at Tripadvisor. We're happy that you were such satisfied with the service and the room that our hotel provided to you.

Our house has been built in "art nouveau" in the end of the 19th century and as a attribute of our hotel we want to keep the outstandig characteristics of this period - like the frame of the elevator :) that's the reason why no bigger, more modern elevator fits into our house.

We would be pleased to welcome you again at our hotel soon and remain

with kind regards,

Your "Hotel am Opernring" - Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Europe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

If you have an Eastern European Bank account be prepared for a debit in advance.

For this property, this time I made a telephone booking.
Upon my remark that my card account was debited in advance what is not usual with other Hotels, even after showing the electronic SMS debit notice, the reception clerk answered: "... that is not possible... .... there is no need to clarify... ... we cannot debit your account without your signature ... ... I work here and know what is going on ... ...".

The Duty Manager later clarified the situation and elaborated that already many Eastern European customers complained about advance debits but according to her it is not the hotel, that only "blocks the money", but (the following is a quote) "diese Schweine in den Russischen Banken" ("those swines in Russian banks") that debited my card account.
I work with that Russian bank, so I am still wondering whether I am one of the swines, or whether I ended up on a candid camera remake of Fawlty Towers sixth series.

The In-advance debited money was returned promptly to my card account (with good value) after paying the invoice.

In any case, if you decide to go here anyway, prior to booking look for "Hotel Opera" what is the same property but that offers better rates and last minute "cash-only" transactions.
Reception:
See above, no other comments. Carry your own luggage.
Location:
Very Good, but many other hotels are similarly well located.
Sleep quality:
good beds, but on busy street (nice view actually) with a bar/restaurant next door. AC was not available in our room so it is either noisy, especially on low floors, or stuffy. Moreover, the person in the adjacent room had a bad cough.
Breakfast:
adequate for 3 star, but no Capuccino even if you are prepared to pay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v4u474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

The hotel has probably the best location in Vienna since it stands on the so-called Ring, right in front of the Opera house. You can walk to many museums and galleries (not to Belvedere or Schonbunn though). You can also take the tube or the tram and be there in few minutes. The hotel is close to the U1 station, which connects you to many places in the city. The rooms were renovated. They are clean and quiet. Breakfast is OK but do not expect a culinary tour de force. Just food simplicity. No room service. Walk to the nearby Sacher Hotel and have a Sacher Torte with a melange. A hot dog (Wurst) stand is close from the hotel (behind the opera) and is quite famous. Many musicians and artists gather there for bite. Two main commercial streets: Kaertner Strasse and Maria Hilfe Strasse are not distant.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuincasBorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

Hotel is situated in the centre of Vienna, that I really liked, because I could walk around after the working hours. Everything is very close, 5-15 minutes to main attractions, so it is very nice if you like sightseeing.
Hotel has free wireless internet in rooms, which was absolutely essential for me and I think it could be quite important for other business visitors.
Rooms are nice and cosy, completely equipped and they have a small balcony overlooking a busy street below. If you close the windows during the night the noise is not that big. Also, there is no air conditioning, but the hotel is situated among very high trees so the temperature in the room is very comfortable even in the 'worst' summer.
The staircase is quite old and in order to get to the rooms at the 1st floor you need to pass a very heavy door. They are very difficult to open if you are carrying a suitcase at the same time. I haven't spotted that on other floors.
The staff is friendly, but also quite official. Carrying the key outside the hotel is not allowed. :-)
If you come by car, hotel has an agreement with a garage nearby, 24€ for 24 hours. I would suggest you to take your luggage out in front of the hotel and then go and park because you would need to cross several streets and an underground passage.
Breakfast area is quite nice, but the buffet could be better. They do not have much fresh fruit and vegetables, but on the other hand the bread is always fresh and not from the day before.
The price is quite high and in my view it is mostly because of the location. If you sum it up with parking costs it could be quite a big expense.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It has much more pluses than minuses and I think you would enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srceko25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
181 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2008

We chose this hotel because of it's proximity to a musical event we were attending at New Year.
Hotel was functional, rooms were cosy but small, breakfast room was nice but there was no bar or lounge area.
Room rate was very expensive for what it was, prices are higher over new year as usual but even the standard rate was higher than this hotel deserved in my opinion.
Central location was good though, walking distance of all major sites. Viennas public transport system is also very efficient and easy to use.
The hotel also had some apartments on long lets and those people seemed to receive a much better and friendlier service at breakfast with the rest of us being left to fend for ourselves & even having to clear a table so we could use it after waiting for 15 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMackDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2008

Conveniently located just on the Ring, facing the Opera. Close to the heart of old town (no more than 10 minutes walking to St. Stephen) and to all public transports (metro, tram) with a taxy station just in front of the hotel. Safe area.
The staff is very nice, helpful and friendly. They tried to speak Italian, provide us with all information required about city attractions and on arrival left in our room complimentary water bottle, fruits and chocolates.
Room extremly spacious and clean.
The 20th-century building is a little strange: no hall, just a reception. No shared spaces or bar, just a breakfast room on 3rd floor (very nice: it overlooks the Opera).
Breakfast was good with a good choice of items (eggs, cakes, ham, cheese and so on).
Premises in good general order, although some renovation would be advisable (e.g. stairs, doors, entrance).
At the end of the day, the hotel is for sure a very good base to explore this elegant city.

  • Liked — Convenient Location & Helpful Staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RSMDMuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#66 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#83 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#23 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Opernring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Opernring Hotel

Property: Das Opernring Hotel
Address: Opernring 11, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#73 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#97 Business Hotel in Vienna
#98 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Opernring Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Das Opernring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Opernring Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing