We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in heart of old Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Ranked #86 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superb hotel in heart of old Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

This is the second time we stayed in this lovely hotel. We were able to get a suite at a nicely discounted price through AARP. Room was immaculate and very quiet. Huge bathroom too.
This hotel serves a very generous breakfast including sparkling wine at no extra cost. The heart of old Vienna is only steps away.
This is our go-to hotel when visiting.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sxeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    120
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
209
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

I have to be honest and say that I stayed here a while ago (over 1 year ago) but was just thinking how great this hotel was and figured Id write a review. My husband and I have never stayed at a Best Western Premier hotel. I was VERY hesitant to be honest. However, I was so surprised by the cleanliness and beauty of this hotel. The rooms were clean and that's always my biggest concern! I am an interior Designer and the decor was beautiful too! The breakfast was great and the service was wonderful. Id 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for six nights and enjoyed every one of them. Arrived tired after the long trip from USA and were so pleased with the appearance of the hotel lobby and our room. The room was well decorated, clean and very comfortable. Bathroom well equipped -- the hair dryer worked really dried my hair! As we started to unpack we discovered a luggage problem which required us to return to the airport. The desk manager on call that evening was so helpful in contacting the airport lost and found and getting us a taxi. Once problem was resolved we asked for restaurant suggestions as we were very much in need of some wine and food. We were very pleased with his restaurant recommendation that evening and others plus all other information we received from both this gentleman and other staff on different occasions.. The breakfast buffet included fruit, cerals, yogurts, a variety of meats, cheeses and wonderful, grainy breads plus eggs, bacon and sausage and a wide array of juices. Of course, the wonderful Viennese coffees were also available. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again should we return to Vienna.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariah10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed in the hotel for 4 days after driving from Salzburg. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The most impressive thing is the beautiful decor. Rooms, hallways and breakfast room are beautiful and we constantly saw the place being cleaned and polished.
The location is 1/2 block from the largest pedestrian street in the old town, yet location is
so quiet.
Top quality., full breakfast buffet was included.
We would absolutely stay there again.
If driving be sure to arrive at back entrance as Annagasse St is pedestrian only.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyvoyager8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

Friendly, helpful staff. Great location. Wonderful breakfast room. Clean, well appointed rooms.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

This is a gem of a hotel: Reasonable prices, superb location, friendly and high level service, super breakfast, stylish rooms if a bit old fanshioned. Great value for money, warm and helpful staff.
The only thing I would improve on would be the beds; not that they are no comfortable but could be higher and softer.

Tip: Not all rooms are the same, some have smaller bathrooms and limited views, so try and ask for those in the top floors with the full size bathrooms.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreekElvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home Counties
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

We had high hopes for the Romischer Kaiser. It has loads of historic charm, and truly superb service from all of the staff, who went out of their way to be attentive and helpful. The location is good if you want to be close to alot of major tourist attractions -- only a few blocks from St Stephen's, the Hofburg Palace including the Spanish Riding School, the Albertina Museum, the Opera, the Secession House and several others. It is also very close to several major tram and U-bahn lines and thus easy to get out to other destinations further away. The rooms are clean and comfortable although not particularly large. The breakfasts (included in room rate) are fantastic. The problem is with noise. The hotel is located on a pedestrian street, which ought to mean that it's quiet. However, there are quite a lot of bars, cafes and nightclubs on this street, and in warm weather at any rate these nightspots are all busy and loud until very late at night (or well into the early morning hours on Friday and Saturday nights). The rooms have double-windows but even with the windows closed and the blinds drawn this doesn't totally block out the sound. Maybe in the winter months when it's too cold for people to be partying outside it would be quieter....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpaca19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#66 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#35 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#75 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#184 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser

Property: Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Address: Annagasse 16, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Premier Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#42 Family Hotel in Vienna
#62 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#117 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing