We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Is the Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Ranked #86 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
293 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“This Is the Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at two Best Western Premier properties in Vienna, both excellent. Would return to this one because it is cozy, small, and feels like home. The delightful, witty, multi-lingual Mr. Brunner is a chief selling point for the Romischer.
Cons: This is not a non-smoking hotel, and there was no grab bar in the shower.
Pros: Everything. Large room for the location, robe, slippers, great a/c, 11:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. sweet and savory snacks at the reception (not exactly Happy Hour, but good enough in an emergency), Manuela, and a young, blond, very professional server at the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Specify your smoking preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuViPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    119
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
58
208
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel is very close to many main attractions & sights. Be aware that it is only accessible by taxi from the back entrance, as the front is on a closed cobblestone street. This wasn't a problem for us since we arrived by train & just walked the 2 blocks from the station. We did feel a little conspicuous bumping our rollerbags across the cobblestones as everyone was sitting down to dinner at the outdoor cafes that line the street!
The rooms were very nicely appointed & ours had a lot of space with a little couch & coffee table. The elevator was small but worked fine.
Breakfast was very nice- eggs made to order & the usual assortment of yogurts, meats, cheeses & pastries. Excellent coffee.
My only complaint was the evening front desk help- not too friendly, which in general, was unusual for Vienna. I would not let this prevent me from staying here, but did not care for the condescending attitude. Other staff were quite friendly during the day. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellithetaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
354 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were on the top floor, which has lower ceilings and sloping walls and dormer windows. The air conditioning struggled to keep us cool, and the weather was fairly mild. On the other hand the room was clean and well appointed. Wifi is free and the included breakfast was excellent. Not quite up to the standard of the Unitas in Prague or the Hiltons in Frankfurt and Berlin where we recently stayed.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor rooms if you can. You could smack you heat either in the room or the corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank datawest20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We found this to be a lovely little hotel in an excellent location. The staff were all very pleasant and the hotel very attractive. The quality of the breakfast food was superb and a great example of less is more, we arrived here from a larger Best Western in Prague where the breakfast was a much larger selection but presented in an unappetising industrial canteen manner. Our room was the smallest on the first floor but still a decent size and, ok the natural light was limited, however readers should not let comments about the rooms deter them from choosing this hotel - you don't come to a wonderful city like Vienna to spend a lot of waking time in your room!

Room Tip: A suite does not neccesarily get you a better view. Studying the layout of the first floor posted i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles_Clore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel was a great find for our stay in Vienna. Its location provided quick and easy access to many of the top attractions. Our room on the 4th floor was just fine. (Note: the elevator is a bit small, and we had to take our luggage in 2 trips--not a problem.) Nicely decorated, clean, and quiet. A/C worked very efficiently. All staff were very professional and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was a very nice surprise. We were expecting the typical BW fare; however, the selection of fruits, cereals, pastries, juices, cheeses and meats was amazing. Many restaurants are conveniently located nearby. We really appreciated being able to leave our luggage after we checked out, so we could take a couple of final tours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edw65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent one week at this hotel in center Vienna and were very, very pleased. First of all, the attentive service received from all staff. Secondly, an acceptable room considering Europe standards. Thirdly, and very importantly, a great breakfast buffet included in their reasonable price. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginiasierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodlands, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

A last minute business trip required a few days' stay in Vienna, my former home and favorite city on the planet. And while Vienna has added an impressive array of international hotel chains to its offerings of lodgings, the prospect of a sterile and predictable business hotel just like in New York or London was not attractive. So I booked the Roemischer Kaiser through the efficient and user-friendly Best Western website.
It has been 5 years since I last stayed at the Roemischer Kaiser and everything I loved about it then is still evident, and more -- perfect location to stroll the 1st district between business meetings, close to my favorite cafe (Heiner's on Kaertnerstrasse), super staff who accommated all my last minute travel changes with grace and efficiency, even more sumptuous breakfast buffet than I remember (including a remarkable cherry strudel), and free wifi that functioned flawlessly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelerWoodlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#67 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#33 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#72 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
#16 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser

Property: Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Address: Annagasse 16, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Premier Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#42 Family Hotel in Vienna
#61 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#117 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing