We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Ranked #65 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Best Western and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Rooms were a lovely traditional style and very cosy-we stayed in a suite which we found a good size with a very comfortable bed. The location is excellent-a short walk to lots of attractions and the main shopping square. Breakfast although not extensive is more than satisfactory. We found it to be a charming little hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovestotravel021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 404 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2012

Could hardly ask for a better location. Situated in the heart of the Inner ring in the pedestrian-only section of town, the cobblestone streets and strolling couples will likely become one of those fond memories that fades slowly. You walk outside your hotel and you're in the middle of the best part of Vienna.

The hotel photos and reviews here are accurate. The hotel exterior and lobby are charming, well-maintained and have the type of character that leave an impact. You really feel like you are in the type of quaint, little European hotel that can make trips overseas so appealing.
The service as most reviewers note here, is also the type of attentive, gracious hospitality that is becoming increasingly rare these days.

My room was good-sized, which in Europe, can be an inconsistent commodity at times. It was very clean and quaint, in the classic Baroque style with white wood paneling, a crystal chandelier and a restrained elegance. It's true the bathroom was not very large as some have noted, but I never considered it an issue for me, as it was spotless and modern.

The complimentary breakfast, while note extensive, was very well-done. My cappuccino and omelet were perfectly prepared and their little dining room overlooking the postcard street made for a great morning start. I really enjoyed this little jewel, it was a pleasant surprise. I've stayed in nicer hotels, but perhaps none as charming or better situated as this one.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSelmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

For a first time tourist to Vienna the location is extremely good - on a quiet side street but close to most attractions.
The room itself was very good and charming like most things Viennese, but despite being large we felt that the room was not the most well designed from a utility perspective. Other than that it was very clean, very comfortable, everything was spic and shiny, and had good air conditioning.
The breakfast was a typical European affair, and the lovely waitresses in the mornings were very helpful.
The not so good:
1) The lift is very small and with luggage just one person could get in. But I guess this is a minor issue.
2) We had requested a baby cot, and at check in the gentleman at the reception confirmed that it was there in the room. When we went to the room, it wasn't there, but was brought in in about 30 mins once we complained
3) The same gentleman was a bit unhelpful - I waited at the reception for him for about 5 minutes for him to finish what was quite clearly a personal call. However, he did not make any attempt to finish the call and attend to my query. Also, the hotel had no European plug adapters (I had a British style 3 pin plug). Other than this gentleman, the rest of the staff were pretty okay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Really good value hotel in the heart of Vienna. First class staff, clean rooms and comforable beds. This is a hotel that understands hospitality.
Avoid the nearest restaurant to the hotel, though. The Weinbotschaft is expensive and they treat customers very badly. Walk a little further up the street to the Fuerlich, recommended by the hotel. Reasonable prices, lovely food and typical Austrian hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms can be a little on the warm side, so ask at reception for help with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueMur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Hotel is well situated for a business or leisure trip. The service was outstanding and for that reason I can recommend the hotel. My room was ok but a bit dark and very hot. Only way to cool it down was by opening the window.

The hotel doesn't serve food apart from breakfast I think but given the location this is hardly a problem. Cost was maybe on the high side but acceptable.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeitchB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Excellent small hotel, big on character, big on quality. Ideal as a bed & breakfast type base for exploring the sights of Vienna. Great location within The Ring. Several top attractions, main shopping street, & U Bahn stations within 10 minutes walk. Good sized rooms with air conditioning & double glazing. All very clean & well maintained. Staff were courteous, efficient, & friendly. Very good breakfast. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This hotel is in a great location on a pedestrian street in a very convenient location. It's a Baroque mansion with lovely details and furnishings. The minor drawbacks are that our room (no. 11) was small and the bathroom tiny for the price. The shower door leaked water all over the floor. Also, the man at the desk when we checked in was a bit surly, although the rest of the staff were cordial and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ribrabrobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#32 of 359 in Vienna
917 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#67 of 359 in Vienna
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Mailbergerhof
Hotel Mailbergerhof
#169 of 359 in Vienna
268 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 359 in Vienna
830 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser

Address: Annagasse 16, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Premier Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#48 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#116 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $131 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing