We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Stefanie
Ranked #25 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2007

We stayed at Stefanie from 18th to 21st May. Vienna hotels were very full that weekend (public holiday) but we were very pleased with this choice. My mother had a single room overlooking the main street, small but comfortable; my wife and I had a double room at the back of the hotel overlooking the covered eating area.
The bathroom was good, but with a strange shower position in the bath and the bedroom was very comfortable. On 2 of the 3 nights our room was really quiet, but on the Saturday there was a wedding party in the hotel and as we overlooked this covered area it was really loud with the windows open. the noise stopped at 00.30 - no problem as we had only just got back. The rooms are a bit hot but the A/C seemed OK.
It really is a very short walk to the Stephansdom area (10 to 15 mins max, depending on your speed).
The staff were great; the breakfast is excellent.
Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Shliben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    341
    71
    17
    7
See reviews for
155
472
118
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2007

Well located to the trams and the metro. Walking distance to the historic center. Friendly, competent service. A little dated but clean and comfortable. Ours was a quiet, rear facing room. Excellent breakfast - the best of the trip.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

If you want to enjoy Vienna and still maintain your budget, book your stay at Stefanie! Clean property yet not updated, excellent service, divine breakfast (included in price), fantastic bar (best Caipirinas!), and, of course, splendid location (just over the river, close to the Metro and 5 minute walk to Stephansdome). book this - you will not regret it!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldEventPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2007

Recommended as a 3 star hotel in a great location at the city end of Taborstrasse just 10 minutes walk from St Stephens Cathedral. Stayed there over New Year when Vienna was overflowing. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, a real strongpoint. The hotel is smokey in that European way but clean and quiet accomodation (room/bathroom). Its not glitzy or in the middle of the tourist area but that can be a plus.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank GAAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2007

I stayed in the Best Western Hotel Stefanie for 2 nights while in Vienna on a business trip. I found the location of the hotel to be excellent, a very short walk to Schwedenplatz. The gentleman at reception on the night my colleague and I arrived (Saturday, January 6th) - I never did get his name was an absolute gentleman and incredibly helpful, making a reservation for dinner for us in a nearby (wonderful) restaurant. He was there the next day also and gave us advice about the hop on hop off bus tour. Breakfast was amazing. This was a business trip and my first time to Vienna but I will be returning again for pleasure and will definitely stay at the Stefanie again.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — not applicable
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clare41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, UK
Level Contributor
512 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2006

I had a business stay here for 1 night.

I found the reception and stafff generally did a good job.

My room was typically Austrian, comfortable bed, not a huge room, but quite OK for a Best Western.

Others have advised on location, I cannot say too much on that as I taxi'd into and out of the hotel and did not explore the local area.

I liked the outside area, with trees above. A nice place in spring or summer months to sit and escape the bustle of the city.

Breakfast was above average, a nice European experience.

I could not find any faults in my short stay.
Can recommend.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

It must firstly be said that the rooms of this hotel are quite small and a little dated. However, all other aspects are certainly above average.

Hotel Stafanie is located about 300 metres from Swedenplatz, so for all intents and purposes, it is as conveniently located as many of the hotels on 'the Ring' without the price to match.

The rooms have airconditioning and balconies.

The buffet breakfast (served between 6:30 - 10 am) is very expansive, offering a wide selection of hot and cold foods, juices, fruits and breads (and even Champagne if you get there early enough). The breakfast area itself is very large and on the rare occasions when it fills up, the opportunity to sit outside presents itself (this is fantastic in summer but, presumably, untenable in winter!)

The city-centre is probably no more than 15-20 minutes walk from the hotel; if you make the journey be sure to try some gelato at the massive shop along the way! Attractions such as Freud's house and Stefansdom are reachable by foot as well.

There are two supermarkets within 100 metres of the hotel, along with a variety of small cafe/pubs for those prepared to head away from the river for some local cuisine and experience.

All in all, without being exceptional, this is a quality hotel to stay at in Vienna. Above avaerage.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Graz-Mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#24 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Property: Hotel Stefanie
Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Vienna
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#23 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Business Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 400 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest hotel in Vienna. As the hotel longest in the possession of the family Schick, it lays the foundation for the private SCHICK Hotels-group - "Over a century of Viennese Charm". Today, the hotel-only a few minutes' walk from the 1st district, the historic centre of Vienna -presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 120 Stylish rooms with air conditioning and WLAN (free of charge), three conference rooms (total capacity of 200 persons), as well as the restaurant 'Stefanie' form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Viennese cuisine acts as ambassador of Austrian hospitality in the restaurant and is served in the imperial ballroom or the relaxing courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing