We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel Near to Centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Stefanie
Ranked #21 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel Near to Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Stefanie for three nights on a leisure break to Vienna having stayed there once before three years ago. The hotel is very well located being only a ten minute walk to Stephanplatz. It describes itself as the oldest four star hotel in Vienna and on entering the lobby it is easy to see why. The public areas exude history, are beautifully decorated and there are antiques and glass cabinets containing old clocks in the lobby area. Check in and out were extremely friendly and efficient. Our room was at the rear of the hotel and was a very good size, clean and with a well appointed bathroom. We were not exposed to any internal or external noise. Free wifi was provided and worked well throughout the hotel. Breakfast was excellent, served in a grand dining room, with numerous hot and cold options that were regularly replenished. All the staff were very friendly and helpful which enhanced the overall feel of the hotel. We had an excellent stay and I have no hesitation in recommending it. We would stay here again when in Vienna.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are not exposed to traffic noise from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 14SRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear 14SRH,

We are very happy that you kept us in good memories and choose to come back after three years; thank you for your trust!

With pleasure we passed your nice compliments to our entire staff. We would be happy to welcome you back soon and wish you, in the meantime, a great summer.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    329
    69
    17
    6
See reviews for
151
460
115
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

enjoyed my holiday in vienna largely because i enjoyed my stay at hotel stefanie. thanks to the warm and efficient service of its staff: from the front desk to the housekeeping to the restaurant/breakfast service crew. when i checked in, i only had to wait a couple of minutes for my room to be ready. while waiting i was even able to go online and check my email on my laptop at the hotel lobby as wifi connection was good. my room was small but clean and comfortable, wifi connection was also very reliable which was important to me as i had email to send. i also loved the fact that the hotel has a rich history and it shows: on display is the original key of the imperial chamber of Franz Joseph. breakfast was pretty impressive too: many delicious choices- includes champagne! and whenever i had questions/requests (laundry, directions to tourist sites, having my airline ticket printed out) the front desk staff was always ready to help. danke!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maskinano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear maskinano,

We are delighted to read about your experience and thank you very much for your compliments for our staff. We are happy we could contribute and offer you a comfortable stay with us.

We wish you a nice summer and send you best regards from Vienna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
395 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Schick Hotel Stefanie is a nice historic 4 star hotel in the centre of Vienna. The hotel is very close to everything in Vienna. It is only 15 minuttes to walk from the hotel to St. Stephen's Cathedral. The breakfast was nice. My room was nice and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianHellevang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear ChristianHellevang,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Stefanie for your Vienna visit. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our house and thank you for your compliments regarding the breakfast, the cleanliness and the hotel location.

We hope you had a nice journey back home and wish you a nice summer beginning.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

It was a great experience
We had a wonderfull wekend
A very clean hotel and room
The staff was kind and pacient
The breakfast was good
The hotel is very close to the heart off the city and all the atractions

Helpful?
1 Thank ma29
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear ma29,

We are very pleased to read that you spend a nice weekend in Vienna and fully enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Stefanie.

We thank you for your compliments and important feedback.

We wish you a great summer beginning and send best regards to Tel Aviv.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Great little hotel that is close to the first district. In Vienna, streets are very walkable so the location of this hotel is great.

Some of the things I liked
- great breakfast (included)
- great receptionists (despite being quite full they could even remember which exact room you stayed in even though we were there for 4 days!)
- clean, recently renovated rooms

Something's I didn't like
- old fashion big heavy keys to the room so you always need to leave keys with reception.
- small compact rooms. Single bed rooms are quite close to inhabitable for the price you pay! (Bed against the wall) double rooms are decent.
- poor cooling. Opening window was noisy
- sporadic internet speed. There were good times and bad throughout the day. Suspect a bandwidth and router issue.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank thehappyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear thehappyface,

Thank you for your detailed listing, which gives us important information about our services.

We are happy to read that you liked our breakfast offer, our reception staff and the cleanliness in the entire hotel.

Of course we also noticed your remarks: we choose to keep the keys for the room in order to keep the conversation and interaction between the guest and the reception.
The Hotel Stefanie, offers different categories and also the possibility to book a double room for single occupancy (depending on availability and for a surcharge). Do not hesitate to contact us directly at the time of your next booking. We will be pleased to advise you.

The air-conditioning system normally works very well and is checked at regular intervals. Please contact directly our reception staff during your stay so we can react immediately and check if there is any defect.

The internet speed has already been increased by some additional routers. We are sorry that it did not work well all the time. Please do accept our sincere excuses.

We still hope you enjoyed some nice days with us and would be pleased to welcome you back in future.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were happy that we found this pretty hotel near the walking street. The staff gave us directions to everywhere so we won a lot of free time to enjoy Vienna. Our room was small and spotlessly clean. Good value for money ratio.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1990bacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear 1990bacci,

We are glad to read your impressions and appreciate your compliments.

We hope you will keep your stay in Vienna in good memories and send best regard to Triest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I am just back from Vienna after a 3days getaway, ı stayed in the Hotel Stephanie durıng my stay and ı truely enjoyed my stay that ı wish to share with you all!
The stuff of the hotel was great, they were frıendly, helpful with a true smıle on theır faces at all time which is very important for me,
we had issue w/ our room on the first night and manager on duty that nıght called Phillip helped us a lot and right on the following mornıng our room was changed for our convenient.

The room was comfortable, air conditionıng worked well, the room were always clean. The locatıon of the hotel eas also convenıent, ıt was 100mt walk or so to metro and aırport bus statıon, there were also a lot of food shops around the area for quick bites as well as super markets,
I would stay in the Hotel Stephanie if ı visit Vienna ever again:-)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with trip.ru

Helpful?
1 Thank Eda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Eda T,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community.

We are happy to learn that you truly enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Stefanie and are glad we could offer you a room change to your advantage.

We appreciate your nice comments and would be pleased to welcome you back in future.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#22 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#18 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel City Central
Hotel City Central
#54 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Property: Hotel Stefanie
Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Vienna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#23 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Business Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 400 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest hotel in Vienna. As the hotel longest in the possession of the family Schick, it lays the foundation for the private SCHICK Hotels-group - "Over a century of Viennese Charm". Today, the hotel-only a few minutes' walk from the 1st district, the historic centre of Vienna -presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 120 Stylish rooms with air conditioning and WLAN (free of charge), three conference rooms (total capacity of 200 persons), as well as the restaurant 'Stefanie' form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Viennese cuisine acts as ambassador of Austrian hospitality in the restaurant and is served in the imperial ballroom or the relaxing courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing