We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulence at a fair price”
Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Stefanie
Ranked #21 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Opulence at a fair price”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel was luxurious from start to finish, but not with the luxurious price tag. Our room was not only spacious, but we got a rather large bath! Beautifully fluffy towels. Breakfast was a real treat, and one morning we had our champagne breakfast. The buffet certainly outranked the usual European fare, and the wait staff were ready to attend to our every need. Close to the city centre, after a short walk, but this was welcome after all the Viennese schnitzels we had consumed! Well worth a recommendation, and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoBrazaitis1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear JoBrazaitis1971,

Thank you very much for your positive review.

We are delighted that you fully enjoyed your Vienna stay and appreciate your compliments.

We hope you had a nice journey back to Australia and send you our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    361
    71
    17
    7
See reviews for
170
510
125
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

this hotel is in an AWESOME location. close to the airplane bus and all things vienna. most definitely a good buy if you get a very low room rate. the rooms are noisy due to the staff constantly cleaning in the hallways. perfect if you are not looking for a little rest and relaxation along with your world wind visit to vienna. if you want to relax and enjoy some services (the room, spa, room service, other) AND the city. i suggest one of the other numerous hotels in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psuedofrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear psuedofrog,

Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you were very satisfied with our offer and thank you for your compliments.

We noticed your critic regarding the noise in the hallways and kindly ask you to accept our excuses. We already forwarded this important information to the housekeeping department.

Wishing you a nice winter continuation, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent a lovely week in Vienna over the Christmas period and the choice of our hotel was the cherry on the cake. We asked for a non-smoking quiet room so we got one at the back. Nothing fancy but very comfortable and a good size too. It also had a big bathroom with large bath. We got a kettle in our room because we asked for it at no extra cost. The lavishing breakfast is to die for and we suggest you try the restaurant in the evening too. All the staff had pleasant personalities and can communicate very well in English. They also helped us to buy our transport tickets and an excursion. Hotel Stefanie is just a few minutes walk to the Metro across the bridge and within walking distance to shopping areas. Warm clothing and comfortable shoes are highly recommended for Vienna. Obviously one cannot miss out on Hofburg. We strongly recommend this hotel as we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Whenever we travel we always ask for a nice quiet room and so far this has always worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea12303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear andrea12303,

We are happy to learn that you fully enjoyed your trip to Vienna and thank you for recommending our Hotel Stefanie.

We would be happy to welcome you back in future and wish you, in the meantime, a nice winter continuation.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is in a good location; very close to shopping and restaurants. The breakfast buffet is amazing. There are so many choices and the coffee is marvelous. The draw back comes when you get to your room. It's dark and dreary. None of the bulbs have high wattage. They want to conserve energy but really?! My room faced another building so I got very little light. It had a negative impact on me as the room was quite depressing. The fact that the room was also very, very small didn't help. It just felt dreary and depressing. I took every opportunity I could to stay out of it. At least the buffet was delicious. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear R C,

Thank you for informing us about your experience.

With pleasure we read that you were very satisfied with the hotel location and the breakfast buffet.

We regret that you were disappointed about your room that simply did not fulfill your expectations. We offer different room categories and would be pleased to advice you at the time of your next booking.

Your critic regarding the darkness of the room has been noticed and we thank you for steering our attention to this matter. The lightness of the chosen bulbs will be controlled by our technician.

We hope you will give us a further opportunity to convince you and would therefore be pleased to welcome you back in future.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour group just before Xmas 2012. Centrally located, meaning easy walk to old city centre across canal. Hotel had good restaurant and great breakfast. Not your typical big name Hotel, but very warm and cosy, with an old wold charm that enhanced our stay. Staff pleasant and courteous enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajk021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Ajk021,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your Vienna holidays and appreciate your nice comments.

Wishing you a nice winter, we remain,

with kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

the hotel is pretty close to the center of the city, as well to metro and tram stops. It is quite and clean. Wi-fi works really well. Rich breakfast with many choices,I think it is a very good choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Ioanna B,

Thank you for posting your impressions.

We appreciate your nice comments and are happy that you found our Hotel Stefanie to be a “very good choice”.

We hope you had a safe journey home and send our best wishes to Heraklion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We found this hotel very central to almost everything we wanted, the hotel itself is quite comfortable, good food great staff. Only one complaint as we visited in December they had the central heating up to high and the controls didn't seem to work, so we opened the window.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear wendy_camer,

With pleasure we read about your experience and thank you for your compliments for the staff and the hotel location.

We regret that you did not felt comfortable with the room temperature and could not regulate it as desired. Please do not hesitate to contact the reception at the time of your stay. The colleagues will be pleased to help.

We hope that you will still keep your stay in good memories and wish you a wonderful winter.

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#23 of 360 in Vienna
701 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#20 of 360 in Vienna
504 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#25 of 360 in Vienna
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#18 of 360 in Vienna
1,632 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Property: Hotel Stefanie
Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Vienna
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#23 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Business Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 400 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest hotel in Vienna. As the hotel longest in the possession of the family Schick, it lays the foundation for the private SCHICK Hotels-group - "Over a century of Viennese Charm". Today, the hotel-only a few minutes' walk from the 1st district, the historic centre of Vienna -presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 120 Stylish rooms with air conditioning and WLAN (free of charge), three conference rooms (total capacity of 200 persons), as well as the restaurant 'Stefanie' form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Viennese cuisine acts as ambassador of Austrian hospitality in the restaurant and is served in the imperial ballroom or the relaxing courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing