We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Viennese Classic”
Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stefanie
Ranked #22 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tbilisi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Viennese Classic”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hotel Stefanie is billed as the oldest hotel in Vienna (400 years old), but you would never guess. It is elegantly decorated and the service and setting is superb. It is located 500 meters away from the Schweden Platz U-Bahn station, which is one stop from Wien Mitte where the City Airport Train terminates. Very easy to get to and convient to travel throughout the city. The single rooms are small, but have all of the ameneties and are very comfortable.

Room Tip: I've stayed three times and all rooms seem great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank General_Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear General_Ron,

Thank you for your very charming description of our building.

The Hotel is the oldest one in Vienna and offers an ideal combination of historical flair side by side with modern comfort. We are happy that you felt comfortable.

We hope you will keep your stay in good memories and choose us again at the time of your next Vienna trip.

In the meanwhile, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese Charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    354
    71
    17
    7
See reviews for
162
494
122
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
203 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in mid-October with two traveling companions.

Room: We had a "Superior Double", I believe it's called, with a 3rd bed. There are only a few of these rooms, and ours was in the rear of the hotel and opened onto a courtyard-type setting. We could hear the church bell chime. To accommodate three ladies traveling together, the hotel is able to pull the usual king bed apart into two twins and make up the daybed/sofa into a bed, which was our main requirement for looking for a place to stay in Vienna. From other reviews, I get the feeling this may have been on the large end of the spectrum of room options. We had a walk-in closet, desk, as well as one comfortable corner chair, sofa table, and the sofa made into a bed.

Bathroom was large and brightly lit. Face washcloths are included, which is always a Bonus for an American traveling in Europe. My main observation regarding the bathroom is the high edge of the tub. If I were older or had mobility issues, it would be precarious to climb in and out. Shower was mounted in the middle of the long wall, with an adjustable rod.

Breakfast: As others have stated, the breakfast buffet is immense. However I would advise arriving around 8am to beat the 8:30-9am rush of the tour groups, or at least that was our experience. Hot items, yogurt buffet, breads, meats, cheeses, fruit, espresso machine, juices, sparkling wine, you get the picture... Also if you have an early departure, the hotel will make you a bagged breakfast... We took advantage of this, and were pleasantly surprised with two sandwiches, 3 pieces of fruit, cake, and juice (per person)!

Location: If you love to walk, this is a great spot. It's in the 2nd district, away from the city centre, north of the Danube Canal, but only about 10-15 minutes brisk walk to Stephansdom, and 20-25 to the Hofburg. We enjoyed checking out the less expensive, local hangout restaurants in the evening that were in close proximity to the hotel.

Fitness: The sister hotel a few doors down the street has a fitness facility, but I ended up not using it. The running path along the canal was so close and a great way to feel Vienna in the early morning.

Staff: We found most of the front desk staff to be helpful with check-in, transportation to airport arrangements, and restaurant recommendations. One woman seemed to speak limited English and was hesitant to help with a restaurant (perhaps they are advised not to make recommendations due to on-site facility?)

Complaint: I had one minor run-in with a breakfast room attendant because I was waiting for a table to be cleaned, but she did not see me standing there (or decided that I looked like a bum in my running clothes) and offered the table to other guests who walked up. Both the other guests and the employee shot me dirty looks, but I had been waiting, was clearly there first (coffee already in hand), and sat myself down at the table.

All in all a great hotel, old world decor and charm (I liked the whole turn in the key thing), and as long as you are okay with being slightly outside of center, it's a sure bet.

Room Tip: Superior Double rooms that face interior are spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wkmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear wkmoon,

thank you for your very detailed review.

We are happy to learn that you fully enjoyed your accommodation: a double room superior.

We also read your comments regarding the breakfast buffet and the location and appreciate your compliments. Your detailed information will be a good advice for further travellers.

Most of our reception members are long-term employees which can give good recommendations and information about restaurants (not only on-site!). The team is also complemented by apprentices who still require consultation with a more experienced colleague. Please do excuse the hesitant response.

Also please do excuse the misunderstanding at breakfast. The service staff surely did not pass you intentionally. This happening will be discussed in the affected department.

We are glad that your overall impression is very positive and you denote us as great hotel with old world decor and charm.

Hoping to welcome you back soon, we remain,

with best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese Charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel on numerous trips through Vienna, mostly short stays. It's well located, with a quaint and pleasant atmosphere and an unusually helpful staff. On my last trip, I had to make a last minute change, and the staff went out of their way to assist.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Angela P,

Thank you for choosing again our Hotel Stefanie as your base in Vienna!

We thank you for your loyalty and are glad to have had the opportunity to help you with your change.

We gladly look forward to your next visit, with pleasure also for a longer time and remain in the meantime,

with best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We only had one night in Vienna on our cycling tour but very much enjoyed it at this lovely hotel. The location was close enough to old Vienna for a walking trip to see the Lipizzaner stallions and other sights in the old town. Comfortable beds, a nice bathroom (with a tub!), and a great buffet breakfast. The staff were helpful in assisting us to arrange transportation to the Vienna airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Charlotte M,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay although you just had one night in Vienna!

It would be a great pleasure for us, having you back in the near future and maybe then you will plan a longer visit.

Looking forward to hear from you we remain,

with best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Many of the major hotel chains like Marriott, Hyatt etc are outrageously expensive, but this hotel had affordable rates, and lived up to the expectations. The concierge is very old-style, where you drop off your keys rather than having a key card. The rooms were very clean, lovely - each one of them had an orchid in it. Nice touch. Loved the breakfast buffet, which was included in the price and was very extensive, including prosecco!! The wait staff was friendly, and so were cleaning staff, and front desk. Definitely a great choice for a visit to Vienna. Close to the Schwedenplatz and all the major sights.

Room Tip: Ask for a double room, not that much more expensive, but nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neuenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Neuenburg,

thank you for choosing our Hotel Stefanie for your Viennese stay.

With pleasure we learn that you were satisfied with our offer, particularly with the cleanliness of the rooms, our breakfast buffet and all the staff. Thank you for your compliments.

Waiting to welcome you back soon, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I spent 2 nights in this hotel, on a business trip in Vienna.
Everything was absolutely perfect! The staff at the reception have a good English knowledge, they even know some words in several different other languages:). The room was pretty small, but very clean and well serviced.
The breakfast was also good with a wide choice.
The restaurant staff - always smiling and helpful

The location of the hotel is perfect - really close to the old town but still in a quite area. It is easily accessible from the airport by CAT train (walking distance from the station).

Overall, the next time I`m in Vienna, I will definitely book this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian_Tapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Sebastian_Tapu,

We are delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and find it to be absolutely perfect!
Thank you for your nice compliments.

We hope you will soon be staying with us again.

In the meantime, we send best regards to Bucaresti.

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leskovac, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

During my stay in Vienna at ESMO Congress,29 September 2012 in the morning,about 8 30 h,in room 507 I saw man who ,when he saw that I woke up,ran out of the room . After returning colleague Dr Kosta ,we saw that we lost our money in the Eu and dinars. The police were called but without effect. During the theft, the woman who cleans the floor was in one of the adjacent room with the door open, but she said she didn't see anything ...??? My stay in Vienna in 5 days was torture for me.

Room Tip: Room on south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goran_Z1631744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Goran_Z1631744,

Thank you for your review.

Unfortunately you had a very bad experience since you have been stolen money from your room. We very much regret this happening and could we undo it, we certainly would.

At the time of the theft, the room was unlocked and the stolen money lay on the table, although all our rooms offer a safe.

The reception react by calling the police in order to view the theft.

I can really assure you that the welfare of our guests is very important to us and that this situation was even for us a challenge.

We wish you all the best and remain,

with best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 360 in Vienna
681 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#20 of 360 in Vienna
489 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 360 in Vienna
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 360 in Vienna
1,616 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 360 in Vienna
1,439 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Property: Hotel Stefanie
Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Vienna
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#23 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Business Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 400 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest hotel in Vienna. As the hotel longest in the possession of the family Schick, it lays the foundation for the private SCHICK Hotels-group - "Over a century of Viennese Charm". Today, the hotel-only a few minutes' walk from the 1st district, the historic centre of Vienna -presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 120 Stylish rooms with air conditioning and WLAN (free of charge), three conference rooms (total capacity of 200 persons), as well as the restaurant 'Stefanie' form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Viennese cuisine acts as ambassador of Austrian hospitality in the restaurant and is served in the imperial ballroom or the relaxing courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing