We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great price, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Stefanie
Ranked #25 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great price, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in October '07. We chose the hotel based on previous reviews on Tripadvisor and for its location - and we weren't disappointed. The location is ideal - 10 minute walk to Stephansdom, 3 minutes to trams, trains etc. The service in the hotel was very good, with all hotel staff friendly, courteous and helpful. The breakfasts in the morning were of a buffet style and unlike a previous reviewer, we could not fault the breakfast - plenty of choice, fresh fruit, more coffee than you could drink. We had a double room and our only gripe would be that our 'double' bed was two single beds pushed together, with two lots of single bed linen. Would have preferred double bed linen.
Vienna itself is a fantastic walking city. Even the cemetery, Zentralfriedhof, is well worth visiting. The rows and rows of WW2 graves are so poignant.
One of our highlights was listening to the Vienna Boys Choir at Sunday Mass in the Hofburgkapelle - book your tickets online before you travel and then there is no queuing.
We had dinner in Da Capo Italian restaurant, 18 Schulerstrasse - Wow!!!! Fantastic food, excellent service and a really good atmosphere. Definitely book ahead, especially on the weekends.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    340
    71
    17
    7
See reviews for
155
471
118
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2008

Stayed in the Hotel Stehanie with friends for four days after Christmas. The staff were courtious and helpful and spoke very good english. The rooms were very warm, spacious and spotless. We only had breakfast there, I have never seen such lovely breakfast buffet, there was plenty of everything and even champagne ,.I would deffinitely stay there again and would highly reccomend it. Mary, Ireland

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Limericklove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

Chose this hotel after viewing many reviews for its'combination of location, traveller recommendations and facilities. We were not disappointed - trams directly outside, 5 minutes walk over the canal to Swedensplatz for metro/tram intersection. 10 minutes walk to Stefansdom church and shopping/restaurants etc. Hotel staff were very courteous and helpful, room was large, clean with a newly appointed bathroom. We had asked on the booking form for 2 adjoining rooms at the back of the hotel and that was exactly what was provided. Some may find the hotel decor old-fashioned but we thought it summed up Viennese charm and style. The breakfast was huge and varied - from Bucks Fizz and smoked salmon, to a variety of cheeses, hams and breads - there was something to suit everyone. The only downside of the Hotel Stefanie ( and numerous other European hotels!) was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but otherwise I would recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Liked — location, friendly staff, decor
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pillwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2007

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Stephanie as part of a group package. The location of the hotel is OK—about 3 long blocks to the Ringstrasse and a major public transportation hub. If you are not into walking, the tram runs right by the front door, but you will have to wait a bit for a train. Our room was quite compact, but had all the necessary features and was comfortable. The front desk staff was helpful, but always quite busy, so we often had to wait just a bit when asking for information/directions. The breakfast buffet included with our package was poor. The selection of items was adequate, but the hot items were cold and greasy. The cold items were of low quality and lacked flavor. The fruit was poor quality. Overall, an OK hotel if you do breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCrackr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Stefanie for three nights, based on the reviews posted on Trip Advisor.
The location is fantastic. It is within walking distance of the centre of Vienna (less than a 10 minute walk to Stephansdom), and only a three minute walk from Schwedenplatz underground station.

The room was very big and comfortable, but the furniture was ‘antique’ style, and a tad clichéd. The staff were nice and very helpful. The breakfast was fair, with a reasonable choice.

We cannot fault the hotel on any aspect. It is a nice place to stay, but we found it a little too old-fashioned for our tastes.

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Disliked — Old-fashioned furniture
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biothac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

I chosed this hotel based in the info I found on the net, namely TripAdvisory site. It´s central, 10 min walking to St Stephans. It has an excelent breakfest, the room I had was small, but clean. But not a 4 star. Missing hot water in the morning, it was mild, and no 24 hours room service.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JoaoPaiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2007

Stayed for 3 nights mid October on the basis that reviews on Trip Advisor were very favourable at this hotel. Very easy to find on arrival just a few minutes walk from Schwedenplatz metro station. Journey from airport 9on the snellbahn) takes about half an hour with one change to the metro, couldn't be easier. You can take the CAT train but that only saves 10 minutes and costs 3 times as much.

Hotel has nice entrance lobby, small bar and nice dining room which serves a very god breakfast buffet. We didn't eat here in the evenings as thought it was expensive compared to restaurants in the city.

Room was spacious (we asked for one of the newly refurbished rooms) which was big enough for the couch to become a third bed for our son. No coffee making facilities but these are free and can be requested from reception.

Our only problem was that when we came to check out the bill was 100 euros more than I had been quoted and at first I thought this was going to become an issue. However, in the end the reception staff agreed to charge what I had originally been quoted (if booking off the website take confirmation email with you I'd suggest).

Everywhere is in walking distance from the hotel. St Stephen's cathedral about 10 mins, Opera 20 mins, Hofburg 15 mins. Vienna is certainly easy to get around on foot, but also take a tram ride from Swedenplats number 1 or 2 which goes around the whole city in about 35 minutes and is an excellent way to see the city for less than 2 euros!

Would certainly stay there again simply because it was a good price and good location, with trams stopping right outside if needed.

We didn't find rooms at the front of the hotel noisy but if you don't like even minimal noice ask for a room at the back.

  • Liked — spacious rooms and location
  • Disliked — tried to overcharge at check out
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank witneytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#24 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Property: Hotel Stefanie
Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Vienna
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#23 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Business Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 400 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest hotel in Vienna. As the hotel longest in the possession of the family Schick, it lays the foundation for the private SCHICK Hotels-group - "Over a century of Viennese Charm". Today, the hotel-only a few minutes' walk from the 1st district, the historic centre of Vienna -presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 120 Stylish rooms with air conditioning and WLAN (free of charge), three conference rooms (total capacity of 200 persons), as well as the restaurant 'Stefanie' form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Viennese cuisine acts as ambassador of Austrian hospitality in the restaurant and is served in the imperial ballroom or the relaxing courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing