We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Das Tigra
Ranked #49 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2010

This is a well-run modern hotel in the centre, but in a back street and therefore quiet when we were there. The beds are good, the bathroom modern and the heating is termperature controllable, so you don't roast. The only poor details was the towels, which are worn out.
Unlike many similar places there is free access to the internet
The breakfast is excellent

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beenaroundLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 942 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2010

The hotel is in the heart of the city, clean and offering the best breakfast ever. Free wifi is available in the rooms which is a great asset.
The bathroom was old fashioned but clean. The room was small but generally ok.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I was pleasantly surprised when at the reception, I was offered an upgrade, which I immediately accepted. The location is ideal for a tourist. Very close to spehensplatz and other tourist attractions. The staff is always eager to help. The breakfast buffett is great. I had some problems with the internet, however is was minor issue.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
Thank hgaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We did not have high expectations of this hotel (after paying a similar price in Barcelona and getting poor quality) (the reviews were all very good for BWHDT) but were pleasantly surprised by the organisation, room and service offered. We had an early check out and a breakfast was provided especially for us. Any requests were responded to promptly and courteously.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

The Das Tigra had a number of things going for it; location, good size rooms, excellent staff, and the absolutely finest breakfast we encountered during our entire visit to Europe. Although very close to the main attractions of the city, it is situated on a very quiet street. There was free WiFi, but only accessible from the lobby. I would not hesitate to stay here my next visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFlickGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

The hotel is centrally located some 8 mins from St Stepehens catherdal, it is in a quite street. the hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff extremely helpful and were always very pleasent.
The room was again spotlessly clean and very comfortable, when we asked for tea making things they were there within 30 mins, the same with more pillows.
We stayed B&B the food was really good plenty of fruit and fresh bread etc also there was loads of scrambled egg bacon and sausages, this was always freshly cooked, also if you wanted a fried egg you only had to ask.
all in all a really great hotel and would defeinatley recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Heyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Ok, so they have a strange approach to checking you in. Not the first arrival, gets the first available room. The rooms are apparently already been allocated beforehand to the list of guests. So while two of my colleagues arrived later, they were checked in immediately. Me and another colleague on the other hand had to wait (and waiting can be done in all the nice coffee bars in the city centre. Yes, the location is a very positive point.).

The hotel covers different building so it's difficult to know how all the rooms are organised. I was on the first floor in the most left building (stairs behind the reception desk). The room was spacious (American style), tidy and well-furnished. (see the photos) The room looked out on the street, outside noise was limited.
On the downside, the bathroom is rather cramped.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#35 of 359 in Vienna
481 reviews
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#38 of 359 in Vienna
1,293 reviews
Inner City
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
#31 of 359 in Vienna
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#22 of 359 in Vienna
587 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#60 of 359 in Vienna
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Tigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Tigra

Address: Tiefer Graben 14-20, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Das Tigra)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#40 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#55 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $131 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Das Tigra 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located where others want to be. The ideal starting point for your stay is in the very heart of Vienna: at Das Tigra. Whether it is St. Stephen’s Cathedral, the Vienna Opera House or Hofburg palace: Each of the attractions close by has fascinating stories – such as our own house, where Mozart lived. The museums guarantee an all-embracing experience filled with art and natural history enlightenment. Charming cafés and exquisite restaurants as well as shops featuring internationally acclaimed designers round off the pleasurable life in our area. The perfect address for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Das Tigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Das Tigra
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing