We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very centre of Vienna, good choice”
Review of Hotel Das Tigra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Das Tigra
Ranked #47 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is located in a few minutes walk from the main places of interest.
The stuff is nice, rooms are quite big and clean, good europen breakfasts.
If go to Vienna next time, definitely will choose Tigra again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and recommendation. I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and a wonderful time in Vienna
We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Best regards
Markos Georgakakis
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 963 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel is elegant in a quiet way, and is well located for walking to many museums, coffee houses,and restaurants, and is on the "D" line
tram from the main train station, as well as a 10 minute walk to the metro which goes directly to the airport metro stop. We really enjoyed the soft restful colors in our room (facing the front of the hotel), and the breakfast
is one of the best. Service through out this small hotel is professional and
friendly. We were very pleased to stay there , and will certainly do so again when we return to Vienna. Our friend ,who we vacationed with, was pleased as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citycat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

It is located in a very central yet calm area. Walking distance to the main places in Vienna. The staff is very friendly and caring, contributing to the well-being of the guests. We recommend this hotel without any doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DitaLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

thank you for feedback and recommendation. Christmas markets are soon coming this year again!!! Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes from Vienna
Markos Georgakakis
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

For several years Best Western Plus Hotel Das Tigra is our hotel in Vienna: we already feel there ‘at home’. It is located in a very central yet calm area, close to the famous Café Central. The main sightseeing places are reachable by a pleasant walk. The hotel has a warm and welcoming family atmosphere; it offers all comfort (including adjustable heating in the winter – which is not the case in other hotels) and a very good breakfast to start the day in a good shape. The staff is very friendly and caring, contributing to the well-being of the guests. We recommend this hotel without any doubt.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

thank you for feedback and recommendation. Christmas markets are soon coming this year again!!! Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes from Vienna
Markos Georgakakis
Front Office Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

reception very average !
very impersonal ! no great help / advise for anything
rooms great / clean
no street noise
breakfast pretty good
location good , walking distance from restaurants / central area

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitreoretina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback.
I just answered a review where the hotel Das Tigra was complimented for the good value for money and the friendly staff. I regret that we did not meet your expectations.
Best regards,
Markos Georgakakis
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Best Western Plus Hotel Das Tigra last week and were very pleased with the hotel. The handful of criticisms I would make have largely to do with things that can't be changed (like the weird/skinny layout of the bath/shower set up or road noise). Among the things that could be addressed are tiny housekeeping details like providing clean glasses when the room is cleaned (rather than leaving used glasses from the night before). Also, as many others have commented, the air conditioning did not work - it only blew lukewarm air. But I have found this same problem in many European hotels so perhaps this is more a function of cultural preferences than equipment functionality. As we were there in November we just opened the window. There was road noise to deal with then (even on the 6th floor) but it is a hotel in a city so that is to be expected.

Among the numerous positive things I would cite are a relatively quiet city street, fairly easy walking distance to anything in the center city, pristine rooms and public spaces, and a very gracious front desk staff (who spoke English quite well). One of the reasons we chose this property was that many previous reviewers commented that they had been able to check in early. We were arriving on a transatlantic flight early in the morning and when we got to the hotel at 9 am they had a room ready for us. To be able to get into our room right away was truly a terrific thing. Obviously we reaped the benefit of visiting during low season, but this still wasn't something the hotel needed to do and it was much appreciated.

The breakfast buffet is more than ample. It won't wow you, and it doesn't really vary from day to day, but you will find plenty of options for a healthy, hearty breakfast for almost anyone.

So I can easily recommend this hotel. If you want to be in the absolute center of the action, with quaint Viennese charm and high end touches, then this isn't for you. But if you want friendly, reasonably priced, safe and welcoming inner city accommodations this is a great option.

Room Tip: Higher floors will get you a bit away from the road noise, but unless you keep the windows open I do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMBMaryland_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for giving us such a great and detailed feedback, which is surely very informative starting point for other guests.
We are looking forward welcoming you some time in the future and
remain with best wishes!
The Team of the Hotel Das Tigra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Spend 3 nights at the Best Western Tigra and had a great time there. It's in a very quiet street, i haven't heard any noise at night. (5th floor) Location is perfect, just around the corner of all the things you want to see in Vienna, walking distance! Beds are good and the breakfast is excellent, wow, very fresh. Breakfast room is a bit cramped though. Recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antikis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

thank you for feedback and recommendation. Christmas markets are soon coming this year again!!! Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes from Vienna
The Tigra Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#40 of 359 in Vienna
504 reviews
Inner City
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
#31 of 359 in Vienna
852 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#23 of 359 in Vienna
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#22 of 359 in Vienna
637 reviews
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#38 of 359 in Vienna
1,337 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#81 of 359 in Vienna
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Tigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Tigra

Address: Tiefer Graben 14-20, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Das Tigra)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#55 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $139 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Das Tigra 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located where others want to be. The ideal starting point for your stay is in the very heart of Vienna: at Das Tigra. Whether it is St. Stephen’s Cathedral, the Vienna Opera House or Hofburg palace: Each of the attractions close by has fascinating stories – such as our own house, where Mozart lived. The museums guarantee an all-embracing experience filled with art and natural history enlightenment. Charming cafés and exquisite restaurants as well as shops featuring internationally acclaimed designers round off the pleasurable life in our area. The perfect address for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Das Tigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Das Tigra
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing