We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”
Review of Hotel Das Tigra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Das Tigra
Ranked #55 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Best thing about the hotel is the location. it is very convenient for some of the best sites within walking distance and is very near to a train station to get to further attractions. When we arrived there was no one to help us with our luggage, no creature comforts like tea and coffee facilities. We were told all such extras were available on request, but we had to go down to reception to collect it. After a long stressful journey you expect to be able to make a cup of tea without having to read through all the hotel info. Even the very poor hotel we stayed in last week had this. We were told that this is common practice in Vienna. But it's not common practice everywhere else and they could at least have told us on check-in. The room was not made up the next day even though we specifically requested it. the following day there were no bath towels. the next day the cups, glasses and cutlery were left dirty. On three of the four days of our stay we could not access the internet. Although the hotel info said that adapters were available, there were none available for us for the first two days. Generally very clean and well presented with polite staff. overall just disappointed that we were not really very well catered for or made to feel comfortable.

Room Tip: When you close the curtains you block out the air con. When you open the curtains you are faced with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Rajan S,

We thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us of our Hotel. We regret being informed that your expectancies had not been reached. All our guest have the possibility of ordering Tee and Coffee facilities with our front office team either by personally going to the reception or by calling the number: 105 from any room on our property. Unfortunately the red card was left on your room door the second day of your stay preventing our cleaning staff from being able to access the room and maintain it at the preset standards. We will inform our staff of the inconsistencies presented during your stay and we will take your feedback into consideration in order to improve standards.

We hope to have the chance to great you again in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    376
    66
    11
    6
See reviews for
137
436
32
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent location. Near main attractions and metro station. The breakfast was excellent with a good selection of different types of food. The room was very clean and pleasant. Staff were very helpful.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to be informed that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff and property has reached your expectancies. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and that we get the chance to great you in person again shortly.

Warm greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a great hotel in many regards. It's right in the heart of Vienna, within a 5-10 minute walk of many of the major sites, restaurants and amazing high end shopping. It also has a really nice breakfast buffet and modern rooms (we were in a "comfort" room 557 - great bathroom!) That said, the hotel does NOT have air conditioning - they have air cooling. The night we arrived it was in the low 90's outside... and our room felt about 80. We spent about 30 minutes trying to get an honest answer about why they have an thermostat that doesn't control the room temp. Finally we got them to bring us a fan that we just put next to the bed and ran on high for the entire 5 nights we were there. The other annoying aspect is that their wifi requires a separate password for each devise - and you had to enter it every time you wanted to get online.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 699JaneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us such a great feedback about our Hotel.
We do really appreciate that and will also forward it to all our staff. Concerning Internet and Air Condition we want to apologize. Both devices usually operate very strong, especially our Internet usually hasa very good reception in the whole building.
Nevertheless we hope, that you have enjoyed your time in Vienna. We are looking forward welcoming you some time in the future and would like to show you, that we have improved our Service!
Best wishes from Vienna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wachtebeke, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent city hotel! Quiet location, but close enough to the centre, just a 5 minute walk away from all the important things to see. Friendly staff and room was very nice! The best thing however is the breakfast. So much choice, it's incredible! I have never seen such a large breakfast buffet in a city hotel! I really enjoyed this aspect of the hotel. I would certainly recommend this hotel and I would like to return here someday.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KatrienDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We kindly thank you for sharing your impressions of our hotel and staff with us.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you as a guest
again.

We wish you a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced (for Vienna), offers good, clean rooms and isn't far from the action - shops, tourist sites etc. Staff are very helpful. There is no restaurant (just an area to get a snack) but there are restaurants within easy walking distance. Breakfast offers a good selection of hot and cold dishes. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our 2 rooms faced the street however there was no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,


We kindly thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay on our property and
hope to be able to great you again in person shortly.

We wish you a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

was work booking, stayed 2 nights, all staff very friendly & helpful. room excellent, very clean & tidy. breakfast was excellent. 2nd day, had to leave early am before breakfast, asked if possible for lunch box/bag in place of breakfast, no problem. contained bottle of water, sandwich & roll, piece of fruit & chocolate bar. complimentary drink, tea, coffee, fruit juice & water also offered while waiting for coach.
1 minor problem, air condition next to window, ok to use during day, but full length curtains inhibit use at night
if you have children please take care if window open as window ledge is low.
on day off, managed to see some of the tourist sights,tourist tram (yellow tram)
was 9 euro for day. run every 30 mins, free headset which is connected to box on backrest in front of you, many languages catered for. you can get on & off as you wish.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind Feedback. We are glad to hear about your nice stay in our
beautiful city!
Best regards from Vienna,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My daughter and I had a Double Standard Room with twin beds for two nights. We arrived early in the morning, and our room was not yet ready, so they stored our bags for us while we explored Vienna. The hotel is inside the Ringstrasse and about 5 minutes walk to the closest subway station and walking distance to several sights. It is located on a quiet street. The room is larger than most in Europe and the bathroom had a great rain shower. The wifi worked well. The breakfast buffet was the best we had on our two week trip. If I ever get back to Vienna, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rphamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind words. We are glad top read about you nice time in Vienna and especially at Das Tigra. We are looking forward seeing you some time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#35 of 360 in Vienna
423 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#71 of 360 in Vienna
456 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#20 of 360 in Vienna
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#23 of 360 in Vienna
700 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Tigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Tigra

Property: Hotel Das Tigra
Address: Tiefer Graben 14-20, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Das Tigra)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Vienna
#41 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#55 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Das Tigra 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Das Tigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Das Tigra
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing