We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a 4... but lacks air conditioning”
Review of Hotel Das Tigra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Das Tigra
Ranked #55 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“It's a 4... but lacks air conditioning”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a great hotel in many regards. It's right in the heart of Vienna, within a 5-10 minute walk of many of the major sites, restaurants and amazing high end shopping. It also has a really nice breakfast buffet and modern rooms (we were in a "comfort" room 557 - great bathroom!) That said, the hotel does NOT have air conditioning - they have air cooling. The night we arrived it was in the low 90's outside... and our room felt about 80. We spent about 30 minutes trying to get an honest answer about why they have an thermostat that doesn't control the room temp. Finally we got them to bring us a fan that we just put next to the bed and ran on high for the entire 5 nights we were there. The other annoying aspect is that their wifi requires a separate password for each devise - and you had to enter it every time you wanted to get online.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 699JaneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us such a great feedback about our Hotel.
We do really appreciate that and will also forward it to all our staff. Concerning Internet and Air Condition we want to apologize. Both devices usually operate very strong, especially our Internet usually hasa very good reception in the whole building.
Nevertheless we hope, that you have enjoyed your time in Vienna. We are looking forward welcoming you some time in the future and would like to show you, that we have improved our Service!
Best wishes from Vienna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    377
    66
    11
    6
See reviews for
137
437
32
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wachtebeke, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent city hotel! Quiet location, but close enough to the centre, just a 5 minute walk away from all the important things to see. Friendly staff and room was very nice! The best thing however is the breakfast. So much choice, it's incredible! I have never seen such a large breakfast buffet in a city hotel! I really enjoyed this aspect of the hotel. I would certainly recommend this hotel and I would like to return here someday.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KatrienDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We kindly thank you for sharing your impressions of our hotel and staff with us.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you as a guest
again.

We wish you a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced (for Vienna), offers good, clean rooms and isn't far from the action - shops, tourist sites etc. Staff are very helpful. There is no restaurant (just an area to get a snack) but there are restaurants within easy walking distance. Breakfast offers a good selection of hot and cold dishes. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our 2 rooms faced the street however there was no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,


We kindly thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay on our property and
hope to be able to great you again in person shortly.

We wish you a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

was work booking, stayed 2 nights, all staff very friendly & helpful. room excellent, very clean & tidy. breakfast was excellent. 2nd day, had to leave early am before breakfast, asked if possible for lunch box/bag in place of breakfast, no problem. contained bottle of water, sandwich & roll, piece of fruit & chocolate bar. complimentary drink, tea, coffee, fruit juice & water also offered while waiting for coach.
1 minor problem, air condition next to window, ok to use during day, but full length curtains inhibit use at night
if you have children please take care if window open as window ledge is low.
on day off, managed to see some of the tourist sights,tourist tram (yellow tram)
was 9 euro for day. run every 30 mins, free headset which is connected to box on backrest in front of you, many languages catered for. you can get on & off as you wish.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind Feedback. We are glad to hear about your nice stay in our
beautiful city!
Best regards from Vienna,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My daughter and I had a Double Standard Room with twin beds for two nights. We arrived early in the morning, and our room was not yet ready, so they stored our bags for us while we explored Vienna. The hotel is inside the Ringstrasse and about 5 minutes walk to the closest subway station and walking distance to several sights. It is located on a quiet street. The room is larger than most in Europe and the bathroom had a great rain shower. The wifi worked well. The breakfast buffet was the best we had on our two week trip. If I ever get back to Vienna, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rphamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind words. We are glad top read about you nice time in Vienna and especially at Das Tigra. We are looking forward seeing you some time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our booking was for a standard room for three nights and being in central Vienna, it was one of the more affordable places we looked into. We arrived a little early (no more than half an hour) but unfortunately we were unable to check-in straight away, so we left our bags and wandered around the city for a few hours. Once we returned we were given an efficient, however not overly friendly check-in.
Wifi access codes are provided at reception when you check-in, however we weren’t given our access code at this time, and had to make a trip back down later on (after reading the compendium). Also, it’s one access code per device. So if you have two devices, you’ll need two codes. Cue our second trip downstairs once we figured this out (no-one told us this when we collected the first code!).
Our room was street-facing on the top floor (eighth), right across the hallway from the elevator and despite a very solid door, the noise from the elevator travelled into our room quite clearly. There also seemed to be another floor above us that had wooden flooring, and you could hear every step (though we’re not sure if it was part of the hotel??).
Despite being on the top-floor, our sleep was disturbed by a nightclub down the road. They started up at about 9pm and continued well into the morning. I was able to sleep through it with earplugs, so I recommend taking these if you’re a light sleeper. We stayed three nights, Wednesday through Friday, however the nightclub was only open on the Thursday (as it was Easter Friday this may have been why the nightclub wasn’t open?.
The room itself was on the whole very good. Very spacious bedroom/living area, and generous sized bathroom. Very clean and well decorated. It was also nice and warm which was a blessing as Vienna was freezing while we were there! On the downside however, the pillows look big and fluffy, but go flat very quickly once used - I had a very sore neck and shoulders each morning.
Breakfast had a great selection with plenty of choices and attentive servers if you’re wanting anything more like hot toast or coffee.
The location was okay, down a nondescript street that looked to be a mix of residential and commercial buildings. It’s approximately a 5 minute walk from the nearest u-bahn station (Herrengasse), and 10 minute walk to Stefansplatz. We were lucky to strike a cute easter market just around the corner, on the the ‘square’ overlooked by The Scottish Abbey ("Schottenstift"), which had lots of gift and food stalls and helped add to the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for leaving such a great and detailed feedback about our Hotel and the surrounding.
We do really hope, that you have enjoyed your time in Vienna a lot, since there are always new
things to explore! Best wishes from DAS TIGRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked 2 night here in June and extended it by 3 rather then venturing out and staying in Krems or Melk. The breakfast is superb and something we looked forward to every morning. The location is very good and we felt everything was very walkable even the Nasch Market. The front desk had said it was too far to walk, but it really was no more then a 15 minute firm walk.
The hotel is clean and modern. The bathroom has a European style. Shower is nice and large with a strong jet flow and a rain shower. Sink/toilet somewhat tight. One person at a time can use that area. Safe in closet/wardrobe. Hanging and shelf space. Mini fridge, nice desk area and flat screen tv. 2 pleasant chairs and a table. Don't expect a nice view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickvandekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very pleased and happy, that you have given us such a great review. If you decide to return to Vienna we would really appreciate welcoming you again at our Hotel DAs Tigra!
All the best and "Grüß Gott" from Vienna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#34 of 360 in Vienna
425 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#69 of 360 in Vienna
456 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#20 of 360 in Vienna
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#23 of 360 in Vienna
700 reviews
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#39 of 360 in Vienna
1,202 reviews
Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Tigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Tigra

Property: Hotel Das Tigra
Address: Tiefer Graben 14-20, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Das Tigra)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Vienna
#41 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#55 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Das Tigra 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Das Tigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Das Tigra
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing