We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but with one major problem”
Review of Hotel Das Tigra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Das Tigra
Ranked #55 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good hotel but with one major problem”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful hotel, extremely clean with helpful staff and a very god breakfast. Very easy access to Vienna. But one of our card keys went missing on our key cards went missing and on our last night a male gained access to our room at 10.20 pm. We think he was up to no good but thankfully my husband was there to challenge him. Reception did not answer when we called them. I think lone travellers should be careful in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haidee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    377
    66
    11
    6
See reviews for
137
437
32
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Notts - UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked the Junior suite at the Hotel Tigra between 13 to 16 June and we were very pleased with our stay. We arrived earlier than anticipated but rather than keep us waiting they quickly cleaned and prepared our room for which we were really grateful. The suite was clean and spacious and the beds very comfortable. We could even request tea & coffee making facilities at no extra cost. So do remember to ask if you fancy a cuppa in the comfort of your room.
The location of the hotel was perfect to see most of the major sites in the city with St Stephens cathedral a mere 5 mins walk away. We visited the Museum quarter as well which was a 15 min walk away.
The hotel staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants and places to visit.
Breakfast was included in our stay and it was varied with a good choice of food on offer.
Finally we left early on the morning of 16 June and the hotel packed us a lunch bag to take on our trip home - unbidden on our part and so thoughtful on theirs.
All in all, a perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Govfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words which we do really appreciate. We are looking forward welcoming you some time in the future in Vienna. Our city is always worth a second visit,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a great base for a city break.

Excellent location for the price, courteous staff, very clean and quiet rooms, efficient air-con (which was essential during our stay), free WiFi throughout and a great breakfast to set you up for the day's touring.
Note that there isn't a restaurant for an evening meal in the hotel and the bar area is very small. Reception can get quite crowded during check-in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIMON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel based on reviews from trip advisor and we were not disappointed. The hotel is close to the D tram, and two U Bhan stations so getting around the city was quite easy. The hotel is in a quiet location so sleeping with the windows open was not a problem. The staff was kind, and the included breakfast was absolutely amazing! We would stay here again without reservation.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmiller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Everything you could want in a city hotel in Vienna - well located with easy walk to major attractions and subway, friendly helpful staff with excellent English, spacious rooms with comfortable beds. Breakfast included in a lovely dining area with smallish selection of nonetheless great food. Only criticisms really are the separation of WC from rest of bathroom, and the fact that every device using the wifi needs its own wifi username and password which have to be typed in each day (iphone, iPad, computer, etc)
Overall an excellent choice when visiting Vienna or business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanarail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Great location about a ten minute walk from Stephanplatz Well furnished, comfortable hotel. Mozart even lived here at one time. Who knows? Maybe his genius will rub off by staying here. Free wifi. Close by trains. I bought a 48 hour pass which I used frequently. Be forewarned. I was asked to present the ticket about 5 times by undercover authorities during that period. Viennese enforce their laws. Free breakfast buffet was fine and front desk was very helpful when I needed their assistance. Good find

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry51555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in this lovely hotel. Location is on a quiet street within 10 mins walking distance of Stephansplatz. The rooms were of a very good size for a family of 3. Pavel on the front desk was very helpful as was the young Filipino lady.
Due to a medical condition on our 2nd day I needed a doctor and the hotel staff arranged one within 1 hour. The breakfasts were excellent.

It was difficult to find a pharmacy that was open on a Saturday in Vienna. My wife eventually found on after searching for several hours.
Vienna is truly a beautiful city and we enjoyed our stay here immensely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice feedback, which we do really appreciate. Vienna is always worth a visit -
maybe we will have the pleasure welcoming you again some time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#34 of 360 in Vienna
425 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#69 of 360 in Vienna
456 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#20 of 360 in Vienna
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#23 of 360 in Vienna
702 reviews
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#41 of 360 in Vienna
1,205 reviews
Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Tigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Tigra

Property: Hotel Das Tigra
Address: Tiefer Graben 14-20, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Das Tigra)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Vienna
#41 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#55 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Das Tigra 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Das Tigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Das Tigra
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing