We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of Hotel Das Tigra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Das Tigra
Ranked #49 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Fairly clean. Newly renovated bathrooms. Dated carpet and furnishings. Adequate space and sufficient breakfast. Great that Internet is included in stay. Has great selection on tv. Great location. Second stay here in 5 years. Not luxe but good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you very much for the nice reviews you have given us. We are glad to hear, that you have had such a great time in Vienna- best regards and a Happy 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Das Tigra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 916 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is modern, has nice rooms, good breakfast, very friendly staff, sufficient services and is in the centre of Vienna. So IT is a great place toe be. The only remark could be, that the bathroom is a bit small, compared to the size of the room. But who cares?

Thank Theo N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Fantastic breakfast. Never seen such a variety. Rooms are big and clean with a large bathtub. Very quiet. Walking distance to downtown and shopping. Close to public transportation. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelclub007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

We are glad to hear, that you have had such a great time in our Hotel. We are looking forwards
welcoming you again some time in Vienna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I found the Best Western Das Tigra a very pleasant place to stay. The rooms were modern, spacious, clean and well lit. The rooms had all the standard facilities: TV, wall safe, mini bar, en suite bathroom, desk, etc.

The breakfast buffet was included in my room rate, and was one of the best buffets I have had. The choice of food was good, and the quality of the food was high, with everything tasting fresh.

The staff were polite and helpful, especially at the breakfast buffet.

The hotel is based right in the centre of town, on a very quiet street. It is an ideal location for sight seeing in the city, and for accessing many restaurants and bars. It is about 5 mintues walk from the nearest metro station.

The wifi did keep cutting out, but it was free.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time in order to share your experiences with us
since we really greatly on the feedback of our guest in order to be able to
mantain and increase our present standards.

We have acknowledged your problem with our wireless and will address it
in order to ensure that future guest do not have such an inconvenience.

In case of pending inquiries do not hesitate to contact us.

On behalf of our Best Western Plus DAS TIGRA Team,
We wish you a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you like to see the sights on your own and on foot, the Best Western Das Tigra is well located in the city center. First of all, from the airport it was an easy bus trip on Vienna Airport Lines, which leave every half hour from the airport. Get off at the Morzinplatz stop in the city center--one way fare is 8 euros; round trip is 13. It's about 10 minutes from the bus stop to the hotel, which is on a lower road reached by stairs. As for sightseeing, we walked to all the major sites, except when we went to a concert one evening. For that, we picked up a tram about 10 minutes from the hotel at Schwedenplatz square. The hotel itself is simple in appearance--it is a converted house that Mozart once stayed in--and the double room that we had was adequate. We asked for a queen-sized bed but were told that all the doubles are two beds put together. There was a small fridge but no coffee/tea set-up in the room. The shower was very good with great water pressure. There is no hotel restauant but an extensive breakfast buffet is served. The reception and household staff were friendly and helpful. But overall the Das Tigra does not quite measure up to its four-star price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words. We do appreciate them very much and we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel! Looking forwards welcoming you some day
in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Recently spend 9 days at this hotel. It is perfectly located. Near walking distance of all main attractions and transportation.
Very clean, delicious breakfast.
I highly recommend it.
I want to thank the front desk staff, Pavel, Marius and Silvana for their outstanding service. very polite and very helpful.

sisters from Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edelvweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

We are very glad to hear, that you have spent such a great time in Vienna at our Hotel.
Thank you very much for the nice feedback which will be forwarded soon to all our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The location, staff and service make Hotel Das Tigra first choice for those not looking to pay top prices. Central Vienna is not full of such places and the Tigra has improved to make itself the best option. Its location had always been its biggest asset, but its staff and breakfast buffet are also good. It has a free computer and printer for visitors. If there was any quibble it would be the poor selection of wine and drinks at the bar. The rooms are a little small but this is understand given its excellent central location. It makes a fine base for a city break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outineastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

It makes us very happy to receive such nice words from you. Please be sure, that you feedback will
be forwarded to allour staff.
We are looking forward welcoming you again some time in the future at our Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#33 of 361 in Vienna
443 reviews
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#41 of 361 in Vienna
1,248 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#62 of 361 in Vienna
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#24 of 361 in Vienna
542 reviews
Inner City
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
#32 of 361 in Vienna
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Tigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Tigra

Address: Tiefer Graben 14-20, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Das Tigra)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#40 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#55 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $157 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Das Tigra 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Das Tigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Das Tigra
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing