We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the middle of Vienna”
Review of Hotel Das Tigra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Das Tigra
Ranked #52 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the middle of Vienna”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights at the end of September, and to be honest, I was pleasantly surprised after having somewhat low expectations!

After a 35 min taxi ride from the airport, we arrived at the the hotel, which is down a quiet street yet only 5-10mins walk from Stephans Cathedral.

The rooms were dated, yet extremely large and very clean. Free, fast wifi in room was an added bonus, and the restaurants in the area were exceptional (again only 5 mins walk away - try Gasthaus Floß or Floss, and Indien Village)

Breakfast was extremely generous and included in our room rate, and the girls working every morning were always delightful and had a ready smile for us - plus lots of coffee which always put a smile on my face :)

Would recommend to anyone who wants a spot in the middle of Vienna, close to sights and supermarkets, restaurants etc

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrueKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice words - we do really appreciate your generous feedback.
Looking forwards welcoming you again in beautiful Vienna!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    365
    65
    10
    5
See reviews for
130
425
32
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Tigra is inside the Ring and about four minutes from Herrengasse U Bahn station and six from the Stephansdom. Graben equally close. The hotel is in a quiet street and provides excellent B and B accommodation. My room was at the front but very quiet. A good selection of restaurants is available close by. The room was just what you need for a few days in Vienna. Breakfast first class and staff helpful and friendly. Front desk staff also very well informed and helpful. It is hard to find anything to complain about. It is not the Sacher or the Imperial; it has no pool/gym; the rooms are not specifically Viennese and the price reflects this. So for excellent value and sensible prices the Tigra is a very good solution.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosenau65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments about our Hotel and about our city in general.
We are very glad to receive such positive Feedback and are looking forward welcomin you some
time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a week-end to see the city and also had tickets for two performances in State opera. The hotel was excellent in all the aspects - spaceous room (we had a double and also had a friend staying in our room, and even with an extra bed it was absolutely ok). Very good service and cleaning, great breakfast. Location is very nice - 10 mins relaxed walk from the Dome and Opera. I would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yury N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel had big rooms, simply furnished and was on a very quiet street within easy walking distance from everything. Only 1/2 hour or less from airport, too. The breakfast room was nice and the foods available very good. We found the staff knowledgeable and helpful. Taxis came right away, even the one for 4 a.m.!

Room Tip: We had a second floor suite which was huge, and our friends had standard rooms which they said were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffyo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

In an historic building (where Mozart stayed twice) but its nicely modern. Street is fairly quiet and a 5-10 minute walk from St.Stephan's church/central square. Metro is also a 5 minute walk. No real lobby or curb appeal. Beds are quite comfortable but linens are second rate, bed and bath. The rooms vary so if you don't like the first one assigned, ask for another. The frosted glass door on the bathroom looks cool but when your spouse gets up to use the bathroom in the middle of the night and the light wakes you up it suddenly is a big negative. Mini-frig but No coffee or tea making in rooms. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimNewtownSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
In the name of the whole team we would like to thank you very much for your nice feedback -
We do certainly appreciate your kind words and we are looking forwards welcoming you
again in Vienna at our Hotel some time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here recently on a 4-day visit to this lovely city. Don't be put off by the outside appearance of the hotel, it's not stunning to look at, but it more than makes up for this in what it offers. It's in a very quiet street where the buildings are very high (so high you have to look up from the bedroom window to see what the weather is doing!), and it's an easy walk into the heart of the city. There is no restaurant, but there are plenty nearby within easy walking distance. They do, however, serve an excellent buffet breakfast. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the staff all spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KernowTravellers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabrinaWien, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Das Tigra, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel Das Tigra and highly appreciate your positive comments.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, decent location, beautiful room, great breakfast and friendly staff. Would stay here again as it represents great value. We were here in April however and there generally wasn't much happening after 10pm in the city.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlycme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#34 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#21 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#54 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#25 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#41 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Tigra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Tigra

Property: Hotel Das Tigra
Address: Tiefer Graben 14-20, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Das Tigra)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Vienna
#41 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#55 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Das Tigra 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Das Tigra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Das Tigra
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing