We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice affordable hotel in Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ranked #127 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Meininger hotel is a nice option to stay when travelling to Vienna. The hotel is pretty new, the room and the commom areas have a cool decoration. Internet wi-fi was free and the staff is really friendly and helpful.

It's close to subway station and there's a tram stop nearby.

Overall, my experience in Meininger was really nice and I though this hotel it's really value for money.

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms, but mine was at the top floor and it was really nice, as I h...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tati_Luz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013
Google Translation

Hi,
vielen Dank für Deine tolle Bewertung.
Es freut uns, dass es Dir bei uns gefallen hat!
Hoffentlich bis zum nächsten Mal!!!
Liebe Grüsse aus Wien,
Dein M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We are 2 couples that stayed in 02 to 04 October 2013.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Hannah and Lara that helped us with restaurants and some places to visit.
The rooms are design to be a hostel as well, so in the room are a bunk bed and a double bed, but this is not a problem, because the room are really comfortable, good space, very clean and without hostel mess, and that's what matter.
The breakfast is complete and delicious.
The next U-bahn station is about 10 min walking, and more 5 min by train to get to city, or you can walk about 30 min to city.
There are wi-fi free with good speed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thamiris_Gaberz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi,
thank you so much for your nice review.
We told the good commentary to Hannah and Laura.
So we hope to see you again!
Cheers,
Your M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was there last year and must say I was rather disappointed. We were 2 but got a 4 person room - which wouldn't have been a problem normally but it was dirty! The room had clearly not been cleaned after the last guests. After reporting this and being promised by the receptionists that it would be cleaned, nothing happened. Wi-fi was quite useless and it was pretty loud, as the place is a hostel. There's nothing wrong with that, except that I went with my mother and wouldn't have chosen a hostel, had I known so..

Room Tip: Breakfast was very nice, book with breakfast! It's cheap and varied!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ioana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi,
thank you for taking time to review us.
You are right that we are a mix of hotel and hostel.
But we have also a lot of older people who like this atmosphere.
So we hope to see you again!
Cheers,
Your M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a nice, clean and modern hotel near city center. Staff is very friendly. Free WiFi in the rooms with a good speed.
Hotel is like 15 - 20 min walk to city center but you can take the tube which is a 5 - 10 min walk to different areas in the city.
No safe boxes in the room but you can get your own at the reception for a refundable 5 Euro.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yadawee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi,
thank you for reviewing us.
We hope to see you again!
Kind regards,
Your M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked this expecting a hostel but it's much more or a budget but very good hotel. The rooms are very well equipped and clean and modern, and the bar is good for grabbing a beer or coffee. However, it's not the most social of places due to the size, the common area is just the bar area which is great if you are in a group but alone is a bit too big to really meet anyone.

Depending on what you want this is a great place to stay thats not too far from the city centre and easily accessible from transport. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Hi,
thank you for reviewing us.
Most single people meet in the guestkitchen to cook and talk.
We hope to see you again!
Kind regards,
Your M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Classic Room for 2 is perfect, it was away from the crowd and has a nice view of the city. At 5.9 euros, their breakfast buffet is worth every cent.

This is the second time in Meininger for me. I'm amazed at how efficiently they run this place. The young front desk staff are happy to help with city information, restaurant recommendations, train info - they have all the answers!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santhosh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi,
thank you so much for your nice review.
We hope to see you again!
Cheers,
Your M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is a 20 minute walk outside the city center in a quiet neighbourhood. The rooms were very clean and the ensuite shower in our dorm was separate from the toilet, which works out great. The common areas are nice and big but were packed with kids and families. It would be nice if the bar area was in a separate room for guests wanting to stay at the hostel and escape the pg13 atmosphere. Their kitchen is tiny, the fridge was always completely full and their wifi was terrible. A decent stay in a clean hostel and good neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weermar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Hi,
thanks for reviewíng us.
Great that you enjoyed the room.
We have a lot of different clients but often we have young people and everybody is welcome!
So perhaps we see you again?
Cheers,
Your M-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#65 of 361 in Vienna
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 361 in Vienna
953 reviews
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#156 of 361 in Vienna
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $50 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing