We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, cheap, well equipped.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ranked #116 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, cheap, well equipped.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I booked this expecting a hostel but it's much more or a budget but very good hotel. The rooms are very well equipped and clean and modern, and the bar is good for grabbing a beer or coffee. However, it's not the most social of places due to the size, the common area is just the bar area which is great if you are in a group but alone is a bit too big to really meet anyone.

Depending on what you want this is a great place to stay thats not too far from the city centre and easily accessible from transport. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi,
thank you for reviewing us.
Most single people meet in the guestkitchen to cook and talk.
We hope to see you again!
Kind regards,
Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    446
    149
    41
    22
See reviews for
230
200
85
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Classic Room for 2 is perfect, it was away from the crowd and has a nice view of the city. At 5.9 euros, their breakfast buffet is worth every cent.

This is the second time in Meininger for me. I'm amazed at how efficiently they run this place. The young front desk staff are happy to help with city information, restaurant recommendations, train info - they have all the answers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santhosh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi,
thank you so much for your nice review.
We hope to see you again!
Cheers,
Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is a 20 minute walk outside the city center in a quiet neighbourhood. The rooms were very clean and the ensuite shower in our dorm was separate from the toilet, which works out great. The common areas are nice and big but were packed with kids and families. It would be nice if the bar area was in a separate room for guests wanting to stay at the hostel and escape the pg13 atmosphere. Their kitchen is tiny, the fridge was always completely full and their wifi was terrible. A decent stay in a clean hostel and good neighbourhood.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weermar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi,
thanks for reviewíng us.
Great that you enjoyed the room.
We have a lot of different clients but often we have young people and everybody is welcome!
So perhaps we see you again?
Cheers,
Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Third time staying with the meininger hotels in Vienna.
Always a safe bet and an excellent value for your money in Vienna.
Reception staff spoke excellent english and were very nice.
The room was a bit on the small side, but was very smartly designed, cleaned well.
The bathroom was very clean.
Had an amazing view from the 5th floor.
Breakfast is a bit bland and not worth the 7 euros.

Will stay there again if in vienna.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi,
thanks for reviewing us.
It´s fine that you stayed so often in our house.
But our breakfast has a price of 5,90 Euro what is really cheap for Vienna.
Hope to see you again soon,
Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A very nice city hotel - great design, VERY comfortable bathroom, plentiful and tasty breakfast, friendly staff and good location - less than 10 minutes from U-bahn station Shottenring by walk. Next time in Wien we will definitely stay there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrinaVayserberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi,
thank you for such a nice review!
We hope to see you soon again!
Kind regards,
Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here with my family (wife and 2 kids of 5 and 7 y/o) and I gotta say that it was a great choice. It's 25 mins. walking from the center, maybe too much for some people but you get a chance to walk and see very nice places that are not in the center. The hotel itself was very nice and clean, staff was young and helpful, the rooms were clean, maybe a bit small but comfortable. I will recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in Vienna and save some money in hotels (price was just right). Parking space has to be reserved and it costs 15 euros per night, and I think that was ok. Will come back to this hotel no doubt... in fact, from now on every time I'll go to a big city I'll look for a MEININGER hotel (just in case).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hi Javier!

Thank you so much for your good review! We would be happy to welcome you again in our house!
Maybe you should try Meininger for your next trip in another country, you will like it ;)

Greetings from Vienna!

Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Excellent location, park your car and walk. The staff is friendly and gives helpful tips which made our stay pleasant. The parking is bit of a challenge and expensive but this can be overlooked considering during day you park in the parking area and in eve outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review us!
Great, that you enjoyed your stay with us, so we hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#160 of 362 in Vienna
1,509 reviews
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#269 of 362 in Vienna
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#163 of 362 in Vienna
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing