We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value for Money - cheap and very cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ranked #126 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for Money - cheap and very cheerful”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Lets start by saying this is not my normal style of hotel. I instantly felt a little aged here in the sea of youth but it was intoxicating and refreshing. The staff were very enthusiastic and helpful at this budget hotel which offered both shared and private rooms.. The entrance foyer is the hub and served an amazing breakfast for 5+Euro - a great and very sustantial start to the day and recommended.
Location is good not great, but handy enough if you a are not scared of a 15 min walk along the engaging canal area. Perfect for an early morning run too.
Rooms are spotless and very simple but serviceable and friendly. Nice clean modern bathroom with comfy firm matresses and sparkling white linen.
I would recommend this if you are looking too save some money - its only a bed afterall, and if you want to feel the energy and optimism of your youth return....... or to make friends and have some fun if you are younger or young-at-heart.

Room Tip: The top floor are great with big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    460
    159
    43
    25
See reviews for
249
203
88
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The rooms are not sardine-can sized, but do not expect more room than necessary to walk around your bed (I stayed in a twin-room). Also the bathroom is about the same. However, since we did not consider to stay indoors more than to sleep for the night, this did not bother us.

The 6 Euro breakfast does not provide anything extra, but all the basics are available. No eggs or other hot food though.

The staff is very helpful and polite. Had no issues with them. The venue is clean and tidy. I liked their young design. The bathroom in the room is proper, good.

Many reviews note the vast number of teenagers, but during our stay this did not bother us at all. During our stay time had visitors from all age groups, and no markable noise on the corridors or the common areas.

I recommend this location for one-three nights, but not for longer stays, for you might prefer a wider selection for breakfast, and a slightly more spacious room (with e.g. a closet with doors).

No pool, no gym.

Closest sub-way about 8 min walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin room, top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We travelled with our two children to Vienna and were looking for affordable accomodation, as we just need the room for sleeping. For the price paid I found the hotel great. The rooms are rather small, but clean and functionable. The bathroom was small, but again clean and functionable.
The breakfast buffet had a small selection, however it was fresh and well presented. If you dont mind to clear the table after you finish your breakfast, I can surely reccomend this hotel. I found the reception team very helpful and friendly.

The location is good and the Metro styation is just a 5 minutes walk away.

The only disapointment would be the past and pizza we ordered and was catered from a nearby restaurant. That food was not good, no taste at all.

However, whenever I am back in Vienna I would book this hotel again.

Absolutely value for money!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carcrash666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Clean rooms nicely designed, with a modern flare. They are small but very functionnal and comfy. For the price of 6 euros, breakfast is tasty and complete.

Unfortunately, this is more a youth hostel then an hotel. It accomodates school groups and young travellers. Some evenings, it was noisy in the hallway. It seems that the staff does not really control this behaviour. In the morning, all the groups go into the cafeteria and took most of the spaces.

Speaking of staff, some were very helpful and welcoming, especially those on the dayshift. During evening shift, those who were in function seemed to improvise. At one point, while they were three clerks, no one responded to the visitors requests. Instead, they all gathered behind the computer for whatever reason. And do not ask questions between 10 pm and 11 pm: they were all counting the cash. They told the guests they had to wait.

As for the location of the hotel, it is somewhat in a residential zone. You have to walk a lot to find a nice restaurant. Nearest subway station is located 10 minutes of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My study abroad group originally booked two nights here and ended up staying four because we loved the city and the hotel area so much. The staff went above and beyond to help us! It's a bit hard to find at first, but well worth it. Near to the metro stations and a river that has a few good bars and clubs to hang out at! Beautiful river walk and great restaurants nearby. Be sure to grab the Local's map of Vienna to find some of the city's hidden gems! Beds could be more comfortable, but no other complaints. Towels and bedding are provided. We are booking this chain wherever we find it on our Europe trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 03-05June, 2013, with my family. The hotel is located very far from Vienna Hbf station. Finding the hotel was a challenge - you have to take the tube from the station, change the line in between, and then walk a good 15 mins from the nearest tube station, to reach the hotel. After this adventure, one gets a shock on seeing the room sizes. It is slightly bigger than my bathroom at home! Had it not been for the helpful staff, my stay would have been a disaster. The staff gave me all helpful info, pre-booked my city tour, arranged a taxi on my way back to the airport, etc. The good part of this hotel was the guest kitchen. One can cook one's own food. This hotel is actually a glorified hostel - better to avoid for families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnirbanGanguly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hostel is very modern and fantastically clean. Location is good, I walked into town on several occasions, but if you are feeling less energetic then it is a short walk to the closest underground station. Only complaints would be the small size of the communal kitchen/laundry room, far too small to cater to an entire hostel of this size. Also, the hostel accomodates a large number of school groups and has no power to control the rampaging teenagers, leading to a rather noisy, uncomfortable environment filled with disrespecful teenagers.

I would consider staying here again, but not if there were school groups.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Connecticut_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 361 in Vienna
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#72 of 361 in Vienna
1,105 reviews
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#158 of 361 in Vienna
1,610 reviews
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 361 in Vienna
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing