We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for younger crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ranked #121 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for younger crowd”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My study abroad group originally booked two nights here and ended up staying four because we loved the city and the hotel area so much. The staff went above and beyond to help us! It's a bit hard to find at first, but well worth it. Near to the metro stations and a river that has a few good bars and clubs to hang out at! Beautiful river walk and great restaurants nearby. Be sure to grab the Local's map of Vienna to find some of the city's hidden gems! Beds could be more comfortable, but no other complaints. Towels and bedding are provided. We are booking this chain wherever we find it on our Europe trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    457
    155
    42
    24
See reviews for
245
203
88
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 03-05June, 2013, with my family. The hotel is located very far from Vienna Hbf station. Finding the hotel was a challenge - you have to take the tube from the station, change the line in between, and then walk a good 15 mins from the nearest tube station, to reach the hotel. After this adventure, one gets a shock on seeing the room sizes. It is slightly bigger than my bathroom at home! Had it not been for the helpful staff, my stay would have been a disaster. The staff gave me all helpful info, pre-booked my city tour, arranged a taxi on my way back to the airport, etc. The good part of this hotel was the guest kitchen. One can cook one's own food. This hotel is actually a glorified hostel - better to avoid for families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnirbanGanguly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hostel is very modern and fantastically clean. Location is good, I walked into town on several occasions, but if you are feeling less energetic then it is a short walk to the closest underground station. Only complaints would be the small size of the communal kitchen/laundry room, far too small to cater to an entire hostel of this size. Also, the hostel accomodates a large number of school groups and has no power to control the rampaging teenagers, leading to a rather noisy, uncomfortable environment filled with disrespecful teenagers.

I would consider staying here again, but not if there were school groups.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Connecticut_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night! Very modern, and very clean!
The dorm rooms are wooden beds, and very comfortable, with no squeaking when people roll over.
Paid £13 for a nights stay, and £5 for buffet breakfast.
Would recommend definitely...
The staff are friendly and helpful, just not enough of them, so you end up waiting a lot at reception for things...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Room clean and small, bathroom clean and small too. Staff helpfull, kitchen is relly small (for all guests) and dirty. For that price You can find better accomodation (apartment with own kitchen and bigger rooms) in that area. I had crazy backpain from that beds. Mattress is too soft and my back realy suffer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaja m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked 2 triple rooms in this hotel for 4 nights and everything was perfect!
The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Plus: the bathroom was very clean and the shower was perfect with hot water at every time of the day (and night).
The hotel was full booked but there was no noise at all.
The breakfast in the morning was very good, we were totally satisfied with it!
The staff was very young and helpfull!
Really: great value for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadja858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a well run chain of hotels. They aim at budget tourists and students. the place is clean and the employees are very helpful and all speak English. The all you can eat breakfast for 6 euros is worth it and a great way to start the day. For people who didn't plan on spending much time in their hotel room this was excellent. And it was a five minute walk to old town and subway/tram stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#155 of 360 in Vienna
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#54 of 360 in Vienna
587 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#157 of 360 in Vienna
361 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Address: Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing