We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ranked #105 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We booked a triple room in the hotel through Budgetplaces.com for a very reasonable price. Arriving at the hotel was not difficult as it is only about a 5 minute walk away from the Herminengasse exit of the Schottenring u-bahn/metro station.

The room did not actually match its description - the description of the room at the point of booking was that it comprises single beds. The actual room was identical to a quadruple room I had previously stayed in in Meininger Amsterdam - two single beds joined together with a double-decker bunk bed. We did not mind this difference, and everything else was good. The room was spacious, with ensuite toilet facilities - the shower and toilet were separated which was good. There was a television, table and chair, and towels were provided. The shower was good - hot water was readily available and water pressure was excellent. Everything was very clean. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, but it looked like it was the standard buffet spread.

The only slight downside is the WiFi - the hotel, as with other Meininger branches, uses a username and password system which you can get from the hotel reception. But it apparently gets overloaded very quickly according to the reception, so trying to connect to the WiFi is really a matter of luck and it may take many many repeated attempts before you establish a successful connection. This can be frustrating if you need the internet urgently. However, once connected, the internet worked fine.

The location of the hotel is good - near the metro station, and there are some restaurants and bakeries nearby from which you can get a meal or breakfast. It is walkable to most attractions but note that the walk may be more than 30-40 minutes.

I would recommend this hotel as the rooms and location were excellent for its price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharingan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Hello,

thank your for your review.

We are happy that your stay at the MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi was great.
We feel sorry that you was not very satisfied with your wifi-connection. This is not our standart.

We would like to welcome you to our other MEININGER Hotels. For example in Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich or Salzburg.

Greetings from Vienna

the MEININGER-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 851 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night. The location is good, cheap price (for Vienna) and really friendly and helpfull stuff in reception. Rooms were small but fresch and we had free wi-fi, nothing fancy though.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Slava M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Slava,

thank you very much for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

We would like to welcome you to our other MEININGER Hotels. For example in Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich or Salzburg.

Greetings from Vienna,
the MEININGER-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

great place to stay a little bit out of the main center which I loved as you got see a bit more of a different side of Vienna! Still walking distance to most attractions and easy to get the tube in to the main center ! Very clean comfy and friendly staff ! Great breakfast in the morning would recommend to stay !

Thank Jaimey G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Jaimey,

thank you so much for your review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Visit also our other MEININGER Hotels for example in Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London or Salzburg.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Greetins
your MEININGER-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed there with my 2 friends for 20 days and enjoyed myself a lot.
Room was big in size, clean
Great Location
Friendly Staff
Very Nice Kitchen
We used to play Billiards and Fooseball most of the time and n the reamining time we cooked food there only.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ankitmittal1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Hello,

thank you for your review.

We feel happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.
It is very nice to hear, that you were looking foward to us the guestkitchen.

We would like to welcome you in our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg.

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Leaving the hotel today, after 4 nights. Was impressed, given low expectations due to other European hotels of similar cost. Was given a top floor, corner room facing the courtyard after having requested these at booking. So, kudos to Sissi for honoring requests.
Found the 2nd District where the hotel is located to be an oasis of calm, with several stylish and delicious restaurants nearby--particularly Skopnik and Lohn, and Mochi. The hotel is a 5-10 min. walk from the U4/U2 Schottenring stop, as well as teams 1, 2, and 31; and from the Donaukanal, a lively scene most evenings.
The room was found to be spacious, with effective sound-proofing; had comfortable beds; and modern, well-kept up bathroom fixtures. Toilet was separate from shower, a nice accommodation. The hot water kept up throughout.
The room was free of dust, even the out of the way places; and bathroom was kept clean. Housekeeping entered once while we were in, and despite the Do-Not-Disturb sign. They made our beds but didn't change the sheets, an unexpected but in hindsight economically-sensible protocol. The only deficiency the room had was that the lighting was insufficient, which has been noted in previous reviews.
Front desk staff were on hand 24 hours, spoke very decent English; sold us Vienna Cards, laundry soap, and bottles of water (refrigerators in lobby for this, and beer and ice cream); and provided some directions when needed.
Summarily, the hotel worked superbly for a short tourist visit to Vienna. Meininger has a good product here, and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Hello,

thank you so much for your detailed review!

We feel happy that you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi and that you would recommend us.

We would like to welcome you at any time in our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg.

Greetings from Vienna,

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

- The room door lock from the inside was broken and the cleaning staff would knock once and enter right away without awaiting reply. Also, questionable higyene of towels and sheets, our bed occasionally wouldn't be made.

+ Great location, just next to the tube station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Hello,

thank you for your review.

We feel happy that you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.
We are sorry that you was not satisfied with our cleaning stuff, this is not our standard.
If you put your towels on the floor, they will change them. If not, they do not take them because of the environment.

We would like to welcome you in our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg.

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I expected avarage accomodation and service, but I was nicely surprised. Room: big and very clean with comfortable and huge bed. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The best part was the location - very close to center and during the night it was very calm. The breakfast was also fine (lots of things to choose :-)) I can wholeheartedly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Hello,

we thank you very much for your nice review and your invested time to write us.

We feel very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at MEININGER Hotel Wien Sissi.

Visit our other MEININGER Hotels in Amsterdam, Brüssels, Berlin, Cologne, Frankfurt, Hamburg, London, Munich and Salzburg.

Your MEININGER – Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 359 in Vienna
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#52 of 359 in Vienna
690 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#155 of 359 in Vienna
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi

Address: Schiffamtsgasse 15, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $48 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi has its own unique allure and is a must for all Empress Sissi fans. Amusing little details radiate contemporary Viennese charm. The hotel is situated in the second district, and the city centre is within walking distance. The colourful Karmeliter market with cafes and restaurants is just around the corner. With its guest kitchen, lounge, bar, gaming area and free WiFi, our Sissi hotel offers much more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing