We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“X-mas trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ranked #101 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“X-mas trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Good hotel, clean room, 10 min by foot to the center, 3 min from U2 underground station Schottenring, good bed, good bathroom appliances, not enough electrical light in the room(central).
Free wi-fi
Expensive parking 18 euro/day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MateiGogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello MateiGogu

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy to hear that your stay at Meininger Hotel Sissi was a good experience.

The next surveillanced parkinggarage cost 21 Eur pr day, making our parking for 18 Eur cheaper than the other options that are availbe in the area.

Hope to see you back in Vienna.

Your Meininger Team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    388
    115
    19
    14
See reviews for
197
236
36
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

4 of us stayed at this hotel on 12-13 Dec 2013.

We arrived early and were told that our rooms were not available yet for early check in as they were quite full. We were hoping that they would let us use one of their rooms for 1-2 hours to freshen up as we had just come out from an overnight train trip from Prague but were declined by their receptionist that morning.
Instead we were told to put our luggage in the luggage room (at our own risk) and that we can shower in the basement toilet. We left our luggage there but found out that the toilet doesn't have a shower. We were too tired to kick up a fuss so just changed clothes, freshened up and had breakfast in their cafe. Their cafe served breakfast buffet for E5.90. Nothing to shout about. For that price we expected pastry, eggs etc but they only served bread, canned fruit, either turkey or ham slices and some cheese.
We then started to walk around Vienna and didn't come back to the hotel until about 6pm.
Location was OK, with easy walking distance to 2 underground stations.

The rooms were OK. Separate bathrooms which were great. Showers were great.
Beds were good and pillows were good too.
Lighting in the rooms were a bit dark but not a big issue.
Overall rooms were comfortable for 4 people which was surprising.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iestatiptra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello tiptraa,

thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Meininger Hotel Wien Downtwon Sissi.

Our check-in-time is from 3pm. We always try our best to let you in the room ealier. But you can store your luggage at any time in our Hotel. We are very sorry that it was not possible for you to get into the room before 3pm.

We hope to see you soon at Meininger Hotel.
Do you know about our other Hotels for example in Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Cologne, Frankfurt, Munich..?

Your Meininger-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Good hotel for a fair price with a good location that is pretty close to the city center. Rooms were clean and breakfast was ok with a good choice. Parking was a bit difficult because it was in the back of the hotel and with no reservation you might end up without a place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello Bogdan C

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy to hear, that your stay at Meininger Hotel Sissi was a nice experience.
We have a limited space for parking, and therefor encourage our guests to reserve it before arrival.

Hope to see you back in Vienna.

Your Meininger Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal - Norte
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Positive:
-It could be called an Hostel "plus"
-Nice recepcionists
-Modern and clean rooms (also spacious) and bathroom
-Next to subway (5 minutes walking)

Negative:
-Although the price is good considering other Vienna hotels (so good quality-relationship), it was overpriced for this kind of hotel
-For the breakfast price (5.9 eur), it could be better: no fresh fruit salad, pastery, scrambled eggs, expresso not includded
-20 minutes walking to city centre
-Beds not very confortable after 2 days - pillows could be improved?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello Biajante

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy to hear that your stay at Meininger Hotel Sissi was a good experience.
Our prices changes on daily basis depending on the seasons (christmas/summer ect) and other activities in the city. We will take your suggestions reagding our breakfast up to consideration.

Hope to see you back in Vienna.

Your Meininger Team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gland, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Happy with the hotel and the service. Staffs are friendly. Breakfast of 5.90 euro simple but sufficient before starting out in the morning. Free wifi as well so it's great. However rooms a bit dark and the side lights a bit too low for reading.

Helpful?
Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Esther K

Thanks for the nice review. We are happy to hear that you where satisfied withyour stay.

We are aware of the effect the current lightbulps have on the room, and we are looking into some other options.

Hope to see you back in Vienna, Your Meininger Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Lovely hotel close to the centre of Vienna, perfect for a family visit of the city. Staff was very friendly, room was clean, bright and quiet. Although breakfast buffet was the same every day, there is still a lot to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g1nkgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello g1nkgo

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy to hear that your stay at Meininger Hotel Sissi was a good experience.

Hope to see you back in Vienna.

Your Meininger Team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great value for the price we paid: we had a clean, spacious room with a separate toilet and bathroom which is awesome if you're on a girls' trip :p

Location is good: although a bit outside the old centre, it is close to two metro lines and walkable to the centre (about 10-15 min to Stephansdom).

Very friendly and helpful staff. Free wifi is available.

They also have a kitchenette to cook your own meals. We didn't try out breakfast as we preferred to eat outside.

If I really have to say something bad, we couldn't really open the windows to diffuse the warmth in the room.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galatia19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Rezeptionistin at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hello Galatia19 ,

thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay in our hotel. With pleasure we read that you appreciated your stay and the services provided by our staff. We are aware of the problems that might accur during the summer, therefor have we bought a numbers of ventilators that can be rented for free at the reception.
Looking forward to see you again at a Meininger Hotel

Best regards

Your Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#160 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#58 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#163 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Address: Schiffamtsgasse 15, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi has its own unique allure and is a must for all Empress Sissi fans. Amusing little details radiate contemporary Viennese charm. The hotel is situated in the second district, and the city centre is within walking distance. The colourful Karmeliter market with cafes and restaurants is just around the corner. With its guest kitchen, lounge, bar, gaming area and free WiFi, our Sissi hotel offers much more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing