We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality - price balance!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ranked #99 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent quality - price balance!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Hotel is very well located and the staff is excellent. It is not in the centre of the historic town however the metro stop is only 2 minutes away and it takes only 20 minutes to be right in the centre of the City. It has a nice sitting area, with a pool table, and a kitchen that all guests can use to cook, store their goods or even do a washing machine! I really enjoyed my stay. The room was big, clean and warm with a really good shower...what else can we ask for?? I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carinamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Junious Operation Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello carinamp,

Thank you very much for your nice rview.
We are happy to know that Meininger Hotel Sissi met all your expectations.
We can't wait to welcome you again!

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    391
    115
    20
    14
See reviews for
201
238
36
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
None
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

A family room is a regular room with a bunk bed (don't expect the upper bed will be prepared. They are not allowd to prepare it because of safety laws...). Breakfast is o.k. but you will have to pay for any coffee from the machine (espresso, capuccino ect.). I think they should not charge for that. There is WiFi but it is very slow. The hotel is very close to the metro station. Going with kids was very easy.

Helpful?
3 Thank Efrat C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toni_Meyer, Junior Operations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Efrat C,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
First, we are sorry that you were not satisfied with our service. We really appreciate your feedback and it is very useful for us, though our breakfast buffet includes free coffee and it is
'all you can drink'. The coffee machine is only an option.
Concerning the wifi, we are aware about the speed problems and we are working on that.
We are looking forward to welcome you another time at our hotel!

Your Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Extremely helpful staff. They recommend a restaurant just around the corner that was perfect when we were too tired to go searching ourselves on arrival. Cheap buffet breakfast that was nothing fancy but couldn't fault it for the value. Left luggage service and bike rental. The rooms are advertised as sound proof and were good enough but still needed earplugs for the noisy street outside - I think we might have been over a bus stop.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HannahDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Junior Operations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Hannah,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you in MEINGER Hotel again.

Your Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Meininger Sissi in late August. The hotel is clean, modern, and convenient to downtown Vienna. There is both kitchen and laundry facilities, and the reception staff are very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. There is a grocery store right around the corner. Neighborhood feels safe, and comes alive at night with a number of local bars and restaurants. Only issue we had with the hotel was noise from the street. The hotel is not air conditioned, and when warm, it is necessary to have he window open. We had a room facing the street, and the loud talking and sound of wheeled luggage on the sidewalk was very disturbing during our stay. Best suggestion is to insist on a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenkadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Junior Operations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi kenkadish,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to know that you liked our Hotel.
We hope to welcome you another time at our Hotel!
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed one night. Well located with a walking distance from city center. New and very clean rooms. No air condion which can be an issue in high summer. We had some noise down at the street.
Overall if you look for a well located hotel with a very reasnoable price and can handle the above issue this a good choise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shimon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Junior Operations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Shimon,
Thank you very much for your feedback and for choosing our Hotel.
We hope you had a good time in Vienna.
Hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was located just outside the city center. It is in a quiet and very safe area. It is also about a 10 minute walk to the nearest metro station and about a 20ish minute to the center of the city ( stephansplatz etc). the rooms are very clean and modern. I was actually surprised how awesome it was for the price. Do not hesitate! STaff is very friendly and helpful

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Junior Operation Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Jessica,
Thank you very much for your nice review.We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to welcome you another time at our hotel!
Your Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Advantages: Not expensive -good value for money, very clean, friendly staff, good location, kitchen, modern design, reasonable breakfast, comfortable bed and fantastic shower

Drawbacks: Small room (well, this is part of the deal) -in the hot summer there is no ventilation/AC so the the only option is to have windows wide open =street noise. The main disappointment was free Wi-Fi - indeed free but disconnected every few minutes and even when connected the speed was low (i.e. forget about Skype).

Good for short staying when you need a clean room to sleep and good shower and no plans to spend time in the room itslef.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Shmuki

Thank you for the review.

We are aware of the problems that might accur during the summer, therefor have we bought a numbers of ventilators that can be rented at the reception. Regarding the internet is that also a topic that we are trying to solve.

We hope to see you and your familiy back at Meininger.

Your Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#157 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#56 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#159 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Address: Schiffamtsgasse 15, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi has its own unique allure and is a must for all Empress Sissi fans. Amusing little details radiate contemporary Viennese charm. The hotel is situated in the second district, and the city centre is within walking distance. The colourful Karmeliter market with cafes and restaurants is just around the corner. With its guest kitchen, lounge, bar, gaming area and free WiFi, our Sissi hotel offers much more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing