We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ranked #112 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Meininger Sissi in late August. The hotel is clean, modern, and convenient to downtown Vienna. There is both kitchen and laundry facilities, and the reception staff are very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. There is a grocery store right around the corner. Neighborhood feels safe, and comes alive at night with a number of local bars and restaurants. Only issue we had with the hotel was noise from the street. The hotel is not air conditioned, and when warm, it is necessary to have he window open. We had a room facing the street, and the loud talking and sound of wheeled luggage on the sidewalk was very disturbing during our stay. Best suggestion is to insist on a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenkadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Junior Operations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi kenkadish,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to know that you liked our Hotel.
We hope to welcome you another time at our Hotel!
Your MEININGER Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 840 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed one night. Well located with a walking distance from city center. New and very clean rooms. No air condion which can be an issue in high summer. We had some noise down at the street.
Overall if you look for a well located hotel with a very reasnoable price and can handle the above issue this a good choise.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shimon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Junior Operations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi Shimon,
Thank you very much for your feedback and for choosing our Hotel.
We hope you had a good time in Vienna.
Hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was located just outside the city center. It is in a quiet and very safe area. It is also about a 10 minute walk to the nearest metro station and about a 20ish minute to the center of the city ( stephansplatz etc). the rooms are very clean and modern. I was actually surprised how awesome it was for the price. Do not hesitate! STaff is very friendly and helpful

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Junior Operation Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi Jessica,
Thank you very much for your nice review.We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to welcome you another time at our hotel!
Your Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Advantages: Not expensive -good value for money, very clean, friendly staff, good location, kitchen, modern design, reasonable breakfast, comfortable bed and fantastic shower

Drawbacks: Small room (well, this is part of the deal) -in the hot summer there is no ventilation/AC so the the only option is to have windows wide open =street noise. The main disappointment was free Wi-Fi - indeed free but disconnected every few minutes and even when connected the speed was low (i.e. forget about Skype).

Good for short staying when you need a clean room to sleep and good shower and no plans to spend time in the room itslef.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shmuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Shmuki

Thank you for the review.

We are aware of the problems that might accur during the summer, therefor have we bought a numbers of ventilators that can be rented at the reception. Regarding the internet is that also a topic that we are trying to solve.

We hope to see you and your familiy back at Meininger.

Your Meininger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Perfect for only a sleep.
In Summer the room is hot and no airco.
Car parking is cheap (16 euro per night) and safe.
Friendly staff
It's a hotel with a hostel attitude.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaelRiverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear TaelRiverine

Thank you for the nice review.

We are aware of the problems that might accur during the summer, therefor have we bought a numbers of ventilators that can be rented at the reception.

As a small note we can tell that the parking cost 18 Eur, but it is still 3 Eur cheaper that the parking gararge around the corner.

We hope to see you back at Meininger Hotel near you.

Your Meininger Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

+ On-site parking
+ Not expensive
+ Pool table

- Hot rooms during summer
- Noisy hardwood flooring
- Not in a great neighborhood

Hotel is not very far from city center (15 - 20 min walk) or you can take the metro (5 min walk).

Room Tip: Do not go here if it's 30°C or more outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronD2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hello AaronD2130,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy to hear, that your stay at Meininger Hotel Sissi was a nice experience.

We hope to see you soon in Vienna or mabye in one of our other Meininger Hotels e.g. in Berlin, Amsterdam, Frankfurt...

Your Meininger Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First night in Vienna and we had trouble finding this hotel. Would have helped if there was a sign just outside the Herminengasse exit of train station to point the direction. Even this exit was difficult to find in the train station. We took a wrong turn and then we were lost. As it was dark, and we've never been there before, we were frightened. The locals we asked were so unfriendly and rude. Good thing there was a Mercure Hotel nearby and the reception helped us to call a cab to take us to this hotel. It was not a great place to stay unless one is desperate for a place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adniesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Junior Operations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hi Adniesz,

Thank you for your feedback and we are so sorry you had trouble finding our Hotel.
We are working improving the directions to our Hotel, so you can easily find the Meininger Hotel Sissi.

Maybe we will see you in other Meininger Hotel?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 359 in Vienna
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#152 of 359 in Vienna
386 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#46 of 359 in Vienna
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi

Address: Schiffamtsgasse 15, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $56 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi has its own unique allure and is a must for all Empress Sissi fans. Amusing little details radiate contemporary Viennese charm. The hotel is situated in the second district, and the city centre is within walking distance. The colourful Karmeliter market with cafes and restaurants is just around the corner. With its guest kitchen, lounge, bar, gaming area and free WiFi, our Sissi hotel offers much more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing