We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improve Internet and add AC - and it will be excelent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Ranked #109 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Improve Internet and add AC - and it will be excelent”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Advantages: Not expensive -good value for money, very clean, friendly staff, good location, kitchen, modern design, reasonable breakfast, comfortable bed and fantastic shower

Drawbacks: Small room (well, this is part of the deal) -in the hot summer there is no ventilation/AC so the the only option is to have windows wide open =street noise. The main disappointment was free Wi-Fi - indeed free but disconnected every few minutes and even when connected the speed was low (i.e. forget about Skype).

Good for short staying when you need a clean room to sleep and good shower and no plans to spend time in the room itslef.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Shmuki

Thank you for the review.

We are aware of the problems that might accur during the summer, therefor have we bought a numbers of ventilators that can be rented at the reception. Regarding the internet is that also a topic that we are trying to solve.

We hope to see you and your familiy back at Meininger.

Your Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    406
    119
    21
    16
See reviews for
217
240
38
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Perfect for only a sleep.
In Summer the room is hot and no airco.
Car parking is cheap (16 euro per night) and safe.
Friendly staff
It's a hotel with a hostel attitude.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaelRiverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear TaelRiverine

Thank you for the nice review.

We are aware of the problems that might accur during the summer, therefor have we bought a numbers of ventilators that can be rented at the reception.

As a small note we can tell that the parking cost 18 Eur, but it is still 3 Eur cheaper that the parking gararge around the corner.

We hope to see you back at Meininger Hotel near you.

Your Meininger Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

+ On-site parking
+ Not expensive
+ Pool table

- Hot rooms during summer
- Noisy hardwood flooring
- Not in a great neighborhood

Hotel is not very far from city center (15 - 20 min walk) or you can take the metro (5 min walk).

Room Tip: Do not go here if it's 30°C or more outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronD2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello AaronD2130,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy to hear, that your stay at Meininger Hotel Sissi was a nice experience.

We hope to see you soon in Vienna or mabye in one of our other Meininger Hotels e.g. in Berlin, Amsterdam, Frankfurt...

Your Meininger Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First night in Vienna and we had trouble finding this hotel. Would have helped if there was a sign just outside the Herminengasse exit of train station to point the direction. Even this exit was difficult to find in the train station. We took a wrong turn and then we were lost. As it was dark, and we've never been there before, we were frightened. The locals we asked were so unfriendly and rude. Good thing there was a Mercure Hotel nearby and the reception helped us to call a cab to take us to this hotel. It was not a great place to stay unless one is desperate for a place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adniesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Junior Operations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi Adniesz,

Thank you for your feedback and we are so sorry you had trouble finding our Hotel.
We are working improving the directions to our Hotel, so you can easily find the Meininger Hotel Sissi.

Maybe we will see you in other Meininger Hotel?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just what you need for a city break in Vienna. I stayed in a room with three others and it was clean and modern and had all the space we needed. Great value. Close to Schottenring U-bahn station so really good location. Good continental all-you-can-eat breakfast if you choose to have it. Some bad points: no air conditioning in the rooms and we were there when it was quite hot. It was ok with the windows open, but it could be a bit noisy outside early in the morning. Apart from that, no complaints! Was really pleased with the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFan953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Junios Operations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi TravelFan953,

Thank you for choosing MEININGER Hotel Sissi for your recent stay in Vienna.
We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see again soon!

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located 10 minutes walk from U2 and U4 metro. The hotel is new with good new furniture on a very quiet street. Personnel is friendly. The rooms are quite large with enough space for kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _293948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Junior Operations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your family at Meininger Hotel Sissi.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Hotel!

Your Meininger Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I used this for a one night stay for a conference.
It looks like low-income housing on the outside, but it's a great little hotel.
My room was perfect in every way, very modern, great sleep.
At the price point it's impossible to fault.
The location wasn't that great, but otherwise I'd return and recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Junior Operations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Ivan,

Thank you for your feedback and for rating us!

It is nice to hear that you had a great stay in Meininger Hotel Sissi.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Your Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 361 in Vienna
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#155 of 361 in Vienna
369 reviews
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 361 in Vienna
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi

Property: MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Address: Schiffamtsgasse 15, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi has its own unique allure and is a must for all Empress Sissi fans. Amusing little details radiate contemporary Viennese charm. The hotel is situated in the second district, and the city centre is within walking distance. The colourful Karmeliter market with cafes and restaurants is just around the corner. With its guest kitchen, lounge, bar, gaming area and free WiFi, our Sissi hotel offers much more than just low-cost accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing