We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good concept, good ideas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Daniel Vienna
Ranked #132 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Been lately at the Daniel. The Hotel is situated near a very noisy road in the city centre of Vienna. The rooms are clean, with a clear modern concept. The furniture is composed of a bed, a hamock, a luggage disposal and a TV. We found it expensive for what it is. The restaurant is nice, they have many goood ideas like a completely mixed up table top, a vintage furniture and a friendly staff. Everything you find at the Daniel is different then what you find in other hotels. It can been classified in the style of hotel like the 25hours in Hamburg, the Penta in Vienna or the Casa Camper in Berlin. The only thing that really impressed me at the Daniel was the breakfast buffet and the good internet connection.

Room Tip: As high as possible....the traffic noise is impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_Moritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Thomas¬Moritz,

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and the related positive feedback to my colleagues. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our services.
We strive to provide with attractive services and rates for leisure guests as well as for business guests. In your case and for this particular date, we are sorry that we have not been able to demonstrate this in a clearer way.

Best regards
Your Hotel Daniel Vienna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 675 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in The Daniel. First impressions were good even though we had to change room due to a faulty shower. The room laked some basics I felt. Not enough hanging space for clothes, no shower caps, no tea/coffee making facility and the sink was tiny. There was a lack of surfaces to leave stuff on which meant we ended up using the wall along the window for some toiletries and make-up. The problem was some items fell off the wall towards the window and were very difficult to retrieve. Because of the amount of glass the room became very hot and didn't cool down until the early hours. Also you had to tell in advance if you wanted the buffet breakfast the next day in order to avail of the residents rate. Why? Its a buffet! A one night stay would have been enough. It feels like the rooms can't accommodate visitors and their baggage for longer than that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear M R,

greetings to Ireland!! Thank you for booking our Hotel Daniel Vienna and sending a review to Tripadvisor. Even if this review is not really positive to us.
Instead of tea & coffee making facilities, a minibar, an ironing board or shower amenities you will find for example our popular and for a thousand times sold Daniel Body & Hairwash. We are different!
Especially at the weekends many guests come to us for breakfast, which are not hotel guests. That’s the reason why we ask at the hotel guest check-in.

Best regards Your Team from Hotel Daniel Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel my look a bit bad located, but it is not. Public transport is close and you are compensated by a unique hotel. "Smart Luxury" is the slogan and this slogan appears in every detail of the hotel. It is styled from one corner to the other. But it is very comfortable and nice. Perfect for a relaxed weekend in Vienna.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffGeiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear JeffGeiger,

thank you for your positive review about our hotel. Yes indeed we are very good located - the Belvedere Castle is just opposite and to get into the city centre it is only 15 minutes by feet, 5 minutes by public transport or you rent a Hotel Daniel Vienna Vespa for EUR 15.00 per day!

We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards
Your Hotel Daniel Vienna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Fun, swish, stylish but not pretencious, clever and querky, tasty and inviting. This place is simply awesome. The food is fantastic, the rooms are simple but very well thought out and the staff are friendly without being over-bearing. Without a DOUBT, if you want a cool hotel and yummy food, this is the place to go. Forget the faceless franchise brands, this is the place to come. As for the shower...you just wont want to get out.
Also..it is so nice to stay in an Austrian hotel without the devil...aka cigarette smoke, nice job for making it clean and fresh. A couple of suggestions though...the ceilings in the room, I know they have decided to leave them that way as a homage to the previous building, but it just looks a bit half finished..you have this beautiful room finished to every detail, and then the ceiling...well, it might work for some I guess, and its not a big deal but the look and feel of the room could have that cherry on top, but it does not change the fact that this is a hotel, and the fact I have written about the hotel ceiling...well, there are bigger issues in the world I suppose!

Ganz geil hotel! Super hotel, cool staff, and I nearly forgot to mention the breakfasts....you could forgive yourself for sitting there for 4 hours eating and listening to the chilled beats in the morning and the up tempo groove at night whilst tucking into a yummy burger. I guess you could say its worth visiting the Hotel Daniel and then the Vienna tourist stuff is something to do to kill time between breakfast and going to bed!

Room Tip: Maybe get one not opposite the lift door, but a minor suggestion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChangiChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear jamesangela,

thank you so much for writing a review about our Bakery AND our Hotel Daniel Vienna :) We are speechless leaving such a good impression to you! What a pity that you don't like our ceilings in the rooms. But in this case we have a solution for you when you come next time to Vienna - we are painting a few rooms in the next weeks - so you just have to say at the reservation that you prefer a room with painted ceiling ;)

Hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards
Your Hotel Daniel Vienna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Overall great experience. Warm welcome, loved the "Don't even think parking here" sign, and the overall concept of the hotel. Small but comfortable rooms, great minimalist/modern design, very comfortable bed and duvet, great breakfast with plenty of choices and even special orders prepared on the stop. A little noisy with the bar music downstairs and the windows (single glazed) did allow a lot of noise from the street. The location though is perfect to visit the city with plenty of transport options.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back must be quieter (as not facing the main road) and the higher the better (further a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear filabu,

thank you for your feedback. It's so good to see that you appreciate our concept and modern design - that is one reason why we trust in our concept :)

Hope seeing you soon again!

Kind regards
Your Team from Hotel Daniel Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Finding the Hotel was easy...plenty of transport links, but also great by foot. On check in, I got a very warm welcome as was staying in the camper van...and the room was just so cool....a little silver camper...lovely bed, a seperate toilet and of course, the bath...no shower, attachment on tap of bath. Very basic, but you dont stay in such a place and expect a fridge, a table, a chair or a safety deposit box...The bed was firm and comfy, the towel fluffy....the soap lovely!
The staff are beyond friendly....very engaging...but be warned they will tell you off if you take a picture of the bar!!! No pictures allowed?
The bar is cool, mix matched furniture...the staff don't wear a uniform as such...just trendy casual clothes...All were very friendly and happy to chat...Did eat dinner there on one night, just too cold to venture....Great steak! Breakfast in the morning was lovely, casual...and again all the crockery was mix matched....very boho...

Room Tip: The caravan is a little noisy as is beside the road....but it is a caravan...what would you expect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear kaaw,

thank you for your nice review and that you took so much time to give us an feedback about your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable at our hotel.

We will be happy to welcoming you soon again in Vienna.

Kind regards
Your Team from Hotel Daniel Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Easy accsess to the city center with tram just outside the hotel.
Friendly and helpful staff all over, cool rooms, cool and classy bakery/restaurant wich transformed into a busy and exciting breakfast-bakery.
We really enjoyed the breakfast, and in weekends its open until 12.00

The bakery/restaurant/bar is great for reading, coctails, dinner, breakfast, lunch or even meetings.


The room was clean, the bed was lovely

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear P H,

thank you very much for your positive review!
Our Bakery is even open until 23:00. You can get breakfast from the buffet until 12:00 and then á la carte until sunset :) Of course you can also get dinner!

We look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Kind regards
Your Team from Hotel Daniel Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Hotel Schani Wien
#40 of 358 in Vienna
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kaisermühlen
Melia Vienna
Melia Vienna
#54 of 358 in Vienna
1,949 reviews
Landstraße
Eurostars Embassy Hotel
Eurostars Embassy Hotel
#180 of 358 in Vienna
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniel Vienna

Address: Landstrasser Guertel 5, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $96 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Daniel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the motto "Urban Stay - Smart Luxury", 116 fully re-interpreted, contemporary and luxury rooms await modern travellers at Hotel Daniel Vienna. Far from any sort of 'hotel chain charm', here it's the unusual details that surprise guests: Art by Erwin Wurm, bees on the roof, rooms with hammocks and urban gardening in the front garden - which is exactly where you'll find the 'room on wheels', a caravan, that is fully equipped for comfort. Furthermore, there's free WiFi, bike and Vespa rental and our very own hotel shop. Whether visiting for a business meeting or chilling out with friends, the 'Bakery' in the loft-like ground floor of the hotel attracts people with its easy-going style, which extends throughout the interior design to the international menu, which includes delicious cake offers. And it's all in the best location - right next to Schloss Belvedere (Belvedere Palace) and Vienna's main train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Daniel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing