We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service in the restaurant at Sunday brunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Daniel Vienna
Ranked #118 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I live near Hotel Daniel and go there quite often for tea or dinner. This past Sunday a small group of friends and I went for brunch. They don't take reservations on the weekend and the place was full. The hostess, Anna, never took down our name for a table of 4. We proceeded to sit down, thinking we would be called. It never happened. People who came after us preceded us to a table. I suggested two two top tables could be combined to accommodate us. She ignored us, rudely. The place is popular for a reason so perhaps CONSIDER TRAINING THE STAFF TO SEAT PEOPLE PROPERLY. This level of service is basic and was so poorly handled we are telling all our friends in the neighborhood to never eat there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Nicole,

first of all we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for the effort you have made to give us your feedback. We highly appreciate your great praise for the quality of our breakfast, the atmosphere, as well as the eat & meet culture of our Bakery.
We deeply regret that your latest visit here has started with such an unpleasant experience for you. Given the fact that we have grown to a popular breakfast place in Vienna lately, we are well-frequented especially on weekends. On the one hand, this is a great confirmation for us, on the other hand it brings with it a challenge for our team, particularly on Sundays, and they have to withstand the pressure on behalf of the guests. Many visitors of the Bakery show little understanding for the big rush we are facing specially on weekends. We think that it is a pity and unappealing that you judge that harshly. In the last couple of months we have managed to create a young, dynamic and motivated service team that sets itself to work with great energy and pleasure. Particulary Anna is a good example for these characteristics. Our guests have always been treated by her with respect and she approaches them with sincerity, politeness, friendlyness and optimism.
We feel really sorry that your stay at our place did not meet your expactations and assure you that we will give serious consideration to your points of critisicm. Nevertheless we would also like to point out that we are very proud of our employees and they deserve our greatest recognition and respect. A lot of positive feedback is adressed especially to our team and our atmosphere. We don't want to deny that mistakes can happen, particlulary when working under stressful circumstances, however we are keen to learn from the mistakes we make. When entering the Urban Stay Daniel you are coming down. The main idea of this is that our visitors should feel free not only to come back down but also to calm down and become more tolerant and relaxed.
As you know we are optimistic for the world and so are our guests. The way you air your grievance shows us that you do not conform this motto. If you still do not wish to visit us anymore because of this single instance, we appreciate this decision and remain
with kind regards,

the Hotel Daniel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 698 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was the most interesting hotel that I've stayed! The shower was in the bedroom area, divided by a glass wall: the view from the bed of another person taking a shower is amazing! The hotel is super clean and comfortable, with modern and creative design ideas.
I suggest buying breakfast with the room, the morning breakfast is fulfilling and delicious! The restaurant is open until very late, and there many great quick bites in the menu. Also good location.

Room Tip: room 606 has a GREAT corner view and room disposition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreacarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear andreacarioca,

thank you so much for your friendly assessment and takeing time for that! We are very happy that you like and understand our concept and hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Best regards from the hotel daniel vienna team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very well located hotel, only few mins far from the very centre of Vienna. Modern style and modern concept, it has an impressive impact because the hall and reception are really original. it's a 4 stars hotel. And this is the point. You can be innovative, modern, super cool but you are a Hotel. And if You are a 4 stars hotel you cannot avoid to offer constant assistance to the guest. I'm saying that the reception was always empty. Morning, afternoon, evenings and nights. Everytime I looked at it, maybe just to say hello or to smile, it was empty. I often saw the personnel chatting or eating or reading in the bar zone. In standard rooms u have an immense shower but any closet. This is only a matter of style, you can like it or not (I prefer to have closet and a smaller shower) but the rooms are perfectly cleaned. But the lack of reception personnel is not accettable if you call yourself a 4stars hotel. That's why it's more appropriate to say that Daniel Vienna is a handsome and clean and expensive HOSTEL! (To be a 4 stars hotel is cheap, but if u are a Hostel it's expensive). One last mention for the bar and bakery. It's good and the personnel very kind.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxFels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weitzer-Hotels, Manager at Hotel Daniel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Mr. Fels,

thank you for your review. Actually, we do not have 4 stars. Hotel Daniel Vienna is different. This is why we do not participate in an old not working system. We work outside of the star rating system, since we are rather rated by well known international magazines like the Wallpaper, where we won the award "Runner up" for best business hotels in the World 2012, and not for best Hostels... I am sorry, that you felt like you would not have any assistance in our Hotel. It strikes me that you write that our front desk was empty the whole day. This is not really possible, since we have anywhere up to 100 check ins and checkouts a day. In the future the front desk will mostly be constantly set with 2 hosts. I am very happy, that you liked our restaurant Bakery. We are very proud of this special place, which is absolutely unique in its style and radiant charisma, which comes from our unique mixture of guests, which are artists, business guests, tourists, young at heart, hipsters and more, our optimistic team, the style, the lighting, the music, and on and on and on…
We are different, we are proud of it, and we are optimistic for the world!

your Hotel Daniel Vienna Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stopped in for a late lunch and found ourselves smiling at the quirky decor, enjoying a colourful set of hummus flavours and other fine things. Not everything was right: my burger's fries were more soggy than crisp, for example. But we'd happy go back again for another visit.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This place was so cool, I bought the soap! Even better than I thought it be from the photos on the website. Hotel and rooms are super clean and modern. Loved the bakery downstairs - not your typical "hotel breakfast" experience - it's a cool, friendly place you would go to even if you weren't staying there. I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleensulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Have now stayed at this hotel several times and the experience gets better each time. Staff are all very friendly and relaxed and very much in keeping with the stylish nature of the hotel. Rooms are minimalist but comfortable with lots of exposed concrete and funky lighting.
My one complaint about the room is the lack of a desk area so you end up balancing your notebook on the lap if needing to work. Having said that this is a good reason for decamping to the bar area downstairs where there are plenty of tables and you will find many other young professionals tapping away at their keyboards. Breakfast is excellent value compared to other hotels in Vienna.
The hotel attracts a very stylish crowd of mainly young professionals.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterCW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Daniel for one night end of October together with my husband. Liked it a lot! The hotel is in a refurbished office building, the style is a mixture of 60s vintage with new design, and attention for detail. If you are into modern hipster urban design, this is your place in Vienna I think. Rooms are interesting - industrial roughness, glass and wood. The glass-walled shower is certainly an eyecatcher (keep that in mind if you travel wifh someone else than your romantic partner, lol). The breakfast on sunday was legendary, even if you don't stay there the cafe is worth the detour. That might be the only min: location is not that ideal, well the 21er Haus is arround the corner and the Belvedere. Also: some of the receptiondesk staff could be more charming. Otherwise: perfect, will stay there again def.

Room Tip: Maybe better take a room to the back, cause there is a busy street to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangosmoothie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#37 of 359 in Vienna
771 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kaisermühlen
Melia Vienna
Melia Vienna
#58 of 359 in Vienna
2,046 reviews
Novotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
#49 of 359 in Vienna
178 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Courtyard by Marriott Vienna Prater/Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniel Vienna

Address: Landstrasser Guertel 5, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $90 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Daniel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the motto "Urban Stay - Smart Luxury", 116 fully re-interpreted, contemporary and luxury rooms await modern travellers at Hotel Daniel Vienna. Far from any sort of 'hotel chain charm', here it's the unusual details that surprise guests: Art by Erwin Wurm, bees on the roof, rooms with hammocks and urban gardening in the front garden - which is exactly where you'll find the 'room on wheels', a caravan, that is fully equipped for comfort. Furthermore, there's free WiFi, bike and Vespa rental and our very own hotel shop. Whether visiting for a business meeting or chilling out with friends, the 'Bakery' in the loft-like ground floor of the hotel attracts people with its easy-going style, which extends throughout the interior design to the international menu, which includes delicious cake offers. And it's all in the best location - right next to Schloss Belvedere (Belvedere Palace) and Vienna's main train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Daniel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing