We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vegetarian food”
Review of yamm!

yamm!
Ranked #164 of 4,270 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $41
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: Some people say we are the best vegetarian restaurant in Vienna. Our recipe consists of fresh vegetables and herbs, ripe fruits, diverse spices and a large portion of friendly hospitality. But come check out yamm! for yourself. The best way to do this is with a cosy breakfast, lunch with colleagues just the way you like it, or if you have some time in the afternoon, come over for a freshly ground cup of coffee and home-made pastries from our patisserie. And yes, sometimes you just need a gin and tonic after a hard day of work. We get it. Our delicious food is also available to take away if you don‘t have time to stay. Foodora can also deliver it directly to your home. Have something to celebrate or want to present something to the world? We know everyone‘s taste is different, so yamm! can adapt perfectly to any occasion so that your guests will feel completely at home.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful vegetarian food”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

After a few days in Europe we were craving for some vegetarian food and Yamm proved to be a good choice. It's only vegetarian, it's a buffet and the food is paid for by weight. Nice salads, falafals, noodles, rice and spicy chutneys and sauces. Very friendly service and a great ambience, both indoors and outdoors. For those who are vegetarians by choice, this is the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freelander270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    145
    65
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Selective, average veg dishes”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Has mostly Lebanese veg dishes with one or two Thai/Chinese. Food was mostly bland and nothing too inviting. Maybe as Indian vegetarian we had different expectations.
Did expect few Indian or Italian dishes. Setup is good, food to be weight & purchased. Is certainly pricy. I still managed but my wife & child had to go to another restrau for survival!

Helpful?
Thank compvishal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Like an up-market Tibits”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

For those who know London vegetarian restaurants, the set-up is like Tibits in Heddon St, in that you take a plate and help yourself to portions from numerous vegetarian or vegan dishes, then take your plate to be weighed. The food is priced according to weight. It's a bit different in that drinks and sweets are served at the table, and it's a bit more expensive (and has a more up-market feel) than Tibits, but worth every Euro. Unfortunately we discovered Yamm on our penultimate day in Vienna, but next time we visit we'll certainly go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petermillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I'd eat here everyday if I could!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I'm always very jealous of people who talk about sampling the 'local cuisine' when they go abroad, knowing that as a vegetarian it can be hard to fully rely on restaurants in parts of Europe fully grasping the concept. So what an absolute joy to discover Yamm! I have no idea what I ate here - but I know that everything tasted delicious, and I had no fears that it contained hidden meat or fish.

But not only is the food fantastic, but the set-up here is great fun. You are handed a card on arrival (like a credit card) which you take to the buffet area. Here you choose a large or small plate or bowl, and load it up with everything that looks good (all of it - a great selection of hot and cold food). You then take your plate to the weighing machine, using your card, and it prints out a slip telling you how much you've spent (in our case, 9 euros and 11 euros for my husband and I, for nicely full plates).

The self-service aspect ends there, and the waiting staff bring your drinks and desserts (again, a fantastic selection of deserts, cakes etc - all delicious). The staff very all very friendly and helpful (and all spoke English), the food was wonderful, and not over-priced. We had a decent sized plate of food each, a lovely dessert each and a really nice coffee each, plus a large bottle of mineral water to share, and it came to about 35 Euros.

We had dinner here on the Friday night - and it was so good, we went back for lunch the next day. A real vegetarian delight.

I wish there was a Yamm everywhere!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent Vegan food, bit pricey”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

If you enjoy vegan food this is a place worth trying. The buffet has a wide variety of tasty morsels, and you can you pick and mix, go to the scale and pay (putting it first on a card and later through the waitress) for the weight of what you have selected. Pretty nifty system. The food ain't exactly what I would call cheap but it was very good and certainly worth trying. Good service too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugenio_aus_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed yamm! also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to yamm!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing