We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ice cream in Vienna”

Eissalon Tuchlauben
Ranked #30 of 103 Dessert in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Inner City
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Unfortunately, this place is closed in winter as they sell only the ice cream but most definitely, it is the best ice cream in town, with the great location. They also sell the ice in containers to carry out. My advice, keep the calories count down on other meals and go for the Tuchlauben ice cream - it is worth every lick!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GourmetCook2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    21
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The absolutely best icecream in town!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I am a huge icecream fan and a regular customer of Tuchlauben. I think I've tried every single icecream place in Vienna and this is undoubtedly the best. I recommend it to everyone!!

Helpful?
Thank AndaCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best in Vienna.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I love this place. Gelato is the best in the city, and not nearly as ridiculously crazy as the gelato joints near Schwedenplatz. Ladies there are sweet, and the gelato is, too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzeQ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Arguably, I've had ice cream at Eissalon Tuchlauben only once. A scoop of "Wild Beeren" (Wild Berries). The scoop I ate was light, very tasty and not at all sugary, not to my taste anyway. When my ice cream melted, I didn't notice a glob.

I'd like to add, by way of comparison, that the hazelnut and vanilla ice cream at Schwedenplatz and Zandoni left lingering and rather unpleasant aftertastes something the "WiId Berry" at Tuchenlauben didn't.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllyDresden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“victim of its own success”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Once arguably the best ice cream in town (together with Schwedenplatz) Tuchlauben today sells sugary and artificial mass market produce that, when melted, turns into creamy glob. What a shame.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StumpjumperXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eissalon Tuchlauben also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Eissalon Tuchlauben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing