We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Ice Cream”

Eissalon Tuchlauben
Ranked #30 of 104 Dessert in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Inner City
New York City
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Ice Cream”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Arguably, I've had ice cream at Eissalon Tuchlauben only once. A scoop of "Wild Beeren" (Wild Berries). The scoop I ate was light, very tasty and not at all sugary, not to my taste anyway. When my ice cream melted, I didn't notice a glob.

I'd like to add, by way of comparison, that the hazelnut and vanilla ice cream at Schwedenplatz and Zandoni left lingering and rather unpleasant aftertastes something the "WiId Berry" at Tuchenlauben didn't.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllyDresden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    22
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“victim of its own success”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Once arguably the best ice cream in town (together with Schwedenplatz) Tuchlauben today sells sugary and artificial mass market produce that, when melted, turns into creamy glob. What a shame.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StumpjumperXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“could not get enough of it!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

During my 5 day trip to Vienna, I visited this place twice a day. I don't usually prefer soft, gelato style ice cream, but I got addicted to theirs. My favourite flavours were: ferrero, hazelnut, walnut cream, cookies, macaron.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cicek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krungthep Mahanakorn
Level Contributor
379 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 967 helpful votes
“Never Say No to Nougat”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

While we agree that this salon minutes from Graben and Stephansplatz serves the smoothest, creamiest ice cream in town (much superior to Zanoni & Zanoni's), we are quite disappointed that classics like vanilla and coffee are too sugary, with little taste or aroma of the real thing. In contrast, fruity flavours like strawberry and topfen feige are to-die-for yet they still can't beat the superstar here, nougat, its taste and texture so sinful that queueing up for it has become a ritual here in Vienna. Just be careful when choosing the toppings. Some like caramel sauce are too intensely sweet. If you're completely lost, just order any sundae from the menu. Believe it or not, even the banana split is good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PORhibido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Classic.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

With new and modern places popping up all over the city (Eisgreissler, many frozen-yogurt shops, etc.) I really came to appreciate Tuchlauben Eissalon as a Viennese classic.

For my taste, the ice-cream is the best you can get in Vienna (although everybody has a different view on that matter ofc) and they also produce some traditional choices that can't be found anywhere else.

The prices are definitely good for the quality you get and because it is not as overhyped as other places at the moment (*cough* Eisgreissler*), there are not hour-long queues.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eissalon Tuchlauben also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Eissalon Tuchlauben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing