We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Experience”
Review of Restaurant 1070

Restaurant 1070
Ranked #260 of 4,264 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $82
Cuisines: Austrian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Neubau
Description: We do not tell you WHAT we cook, however, every guest is asked by table what he does not / may eat. (/Indigestible , allergies. ) Following we serve 3 plates of fully culinary surprises! Then with pleasure you have the possibility to go for more - up to 10 courses our chef creates for you. Every evening differently!!
MaineUSA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting Experience”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were staying at the Maria Theresia Hotel and were out for a walk looking for a place for an early dinner. It was on the next street over. We sat down outside , ordered a drink and then found out about the three course surprise menu. Actually, the food was quite good and it turned out to be a plesant experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BluePhantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    52
    23
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“quirky, fun and good food.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited this place right before new Year 2012 based on lots of good trip advisor reviews and weren't disappointed. We loved the concept of not knowing what we were going to get, and found each dish delicious and interesting. We had things we probably wouldn't have tried, and found it a good way to sample a variety of local dishes, which is helpful if you don't particularly know about Viennese food.You can tell them about anything you can't or don't want to eat- in my case I can't eat shell fish, and they'll bring you an alternative, but other than that you have no say about what you eat! In some ways it's like doing a taster menu in that each dish is small and you can go on having dish after dish until you feel you've had enough! We actually stopped a tiny bit short and then slightly regretted it when we saw what other people were having later!

It's a tiny intimate place- like eating in someones dining room at home, with about 6 tables. The waitress spoke excellent english and was able to explain the dishes as they arrived, and suggest wine to go with.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable and different evening there!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fionamw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice concept, but food just okay”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I love the concept of this place. No menu, you just tell them what you like and don't like. That ensures fresh food, and forces you to try things that you might otherwise not. However, at least on the night we visited, none of the dishes were particularly interesting or even good. Just okay. Our main dish tasted like fish even though we said we don't like fish (perhaps fried in the same pan?). And the worst was the cigarette smoke. I know that smoking is common in Vienna, but after having lived in the civilized world for the last several years, it was difficult to spend a few hours in a such a small restaurant with the smoke. To make matters worse, it really was not the diners who were smoking -- it was the staff at the bar in the front. Service was also particularly slow, even by european standards (we were there 1 hour before getting even the first dish -- and that is the same dish that everybody else was getting). Again, great potential and concept but poor execution at least when we visited.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unwilted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our experience wasn't like many of the other reviews”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Maybe it was just our evening but a dish arrived late, the waitress forgot about our side order and was quite rude when we left.

We've had some lovely food in Vienna but when we visited here it wasn't that special - my wife had a vege dish which was pasta on fried cabbage and my fish dish wasn't that better. Maybe just the evening but not a nice meal for our experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank borgia1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprises on your plate....”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A wonderful and different concept and also really tasty food, with good combinations of different ingredients. They were polite and very kind to explain us the contents of each dish...I must say each and every surprise served was really delicious. A good place for Vegetarians as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pavan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 1070 also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Restaurant 1070? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing