We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool, funky, welcoming”
Review of pentahotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Vienna
Ranked #71 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool, funky, welcoming”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This proved to be a great location for either walking or training into the centre. With a few days only to see the sights, the staff were very helpful and gave good suggestions about less obvious places to visit. I was impressed by the lobby- the perfect place to start hr evening with a cocktail or finish it with a hight cap - unlike most hotel lobbies - relaxing and cool decor, good music and again great service gave a funky bar a chilled ambience. Breakfast was delicious ! I will definitely rebook this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    628
    160
    32
    18
See reviews for
146
708
66
344
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights early in January. The hotel is lovely and unique with a "tongue in cheek' atmosphere, something that we like in hotels (that is why we chose it). The quirky bar in the centre of the entrance hall also serves as reception and the breakfast they offer is good, although there is room for improvement. We had a nice size room, but the bathroom was exceptionally small with a terrible shower over the bath. The amenities they offer in the bathroom were fun though. However, the staff at the hotel are rather bartenders than anything else. At check-in the young lady had actually no clue how to check us in and how to explain the hotel. She later on during the stay also did a breakfast shift - one member in our party ordered a soft boiled egg for breakfast and she couldn't find an egg cup...just said "take it like this or leave it". Upon checking out we made a suggestion on how to improve a bit of their service to their guests - the young gentleman just laughed in our face, and told us that he is not interested in improving the service to guests - saying that everyone is happy as they are! The location is ok as one is quickly in the centre of Vienna - however there are very few shops and restaurants/pubs in the direct area of the hotel, so one always has to go somewhere else. One member of our group had dinner one night in the hotel and said the food she had was poor to mediocre....all in all our stay there was ok, but the staff is just plain badly trained and has a 'no-care' attitude....something I am not really used to in a hotel that claims to be 4 - 5 star. Don't know if I am rushing back here...Vienna has too many other fabulous hotels with great staff

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mfaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very cool place. We were very happy to book there as from the pics on the website the place looked just perfect. The reality was even better.
Close to main public transport and to main roads leading to the center, very easy to find.
The hotel itself has a bar downstairs, with pool and couple of rooms to hang around, all nicely furnished and decorated. Reception being at the bar might be a bit confusing as your first don't expect to check in with bartender, but I like the idea (+saving space works well:)
Room itself, was a bit smaller than expected, but clean and very comfortable to stay. All windows properly sealed so even tho you might expect some traffic noise from outside, it's all quiet and no issue to sleep well.
What we liked the most was all the work someone took to decorate the hotel, with all small details and info signs which will make you smile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetrH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

THOUGH somewhat out of the city centre Pentahotel serves as a superb base for exploring central Vienna and the interesting suburbs and what it does it does whilst offering unbeatable value for money.

We stayed here for four nights on our first visit to Vienna. Reaching the hotel from the airport was a simple case of one change on the U-Bahn and a three-minute walk from the Pilgrimgasse station. The ease of reaching Pilgrimgasse is what made it so convenient with a short U-Bahn trip in either direction landing travellers either at Karlsplatz for all of central Vienna's sights or Schonbrunn for the out-of-town sightseeing. It was a doddle.

The hotel is modern, clean and well-decorated. The rooms are spacious and the beds, comprised of two singles pushed together, are large and comfortable. The bathroom is smart and the shower was a joy - powerful and capacious. The rooms cannot be faulted. There was even the most underrated amenity of modern hotels - power outlets at the bedside which can be used for charging phones and keeping them within easy reach. So often ignored.

We didn't eat at the hotel however it features a modern, interesting-looking bar and lobby area. On weekend nights the hotel lobby was busy with drinkers enjoying the array of cocktails and pool tables. This did lead to a congregation of smokers at the front door of the hotel which would have to be pushed past if arriving late in the evening - untidy, not offensive.

We would not hesitate to return. It served its purpose with aplomb and offered us everything we needed with ease and convenience. It is also wonderfully well-located for a short walk to Mini Restaurant which is, for us, an absolute must for anyone venturing to this beautiful, fascinating city.

Room Tip: The pictures are of Room 421. I suspect most rooms are similarly-sized, clean, well-appointed and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astraeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Penta Hotel, Vienna, is a unique experience! On entering the reception/bar area, you can see you are in for something different. There is a welcome smile from the reception, also doubling for the bar, which works very well. It adds to the atmosphere, along with the cosy seating area, which, unlike most city hotels, makes you want to linger in the evening for a drink or a bite to eat. The breakfast is the best ever, a huge assortment, to suit everyone, and there is even Prosecco, so you can start the day with a Buck's Fizz!
The rooms are nice and warm, and quiet, with unusual décor, and immaculately clean. The toiletries in the spacious bathrooms are of good quality, and the rainfall showers are wonderful.
The Penta is in a very handy position for getting around. You can walk to Karlsplatz in about 20 minutes, a nice walk, straight down a shopping street. The Metro and buses are also not far away, and you feel safe walking in the area at night.
Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Pentahotel in Vienna is that kind of hotel which is out of stereotypes and beyond the standardized typical hotel chains. It owns a unique atmosphere by its specific design and ambiance. First surprise when entering the hotel: there is no classical reception - it's embedded in the spacious bar which is centered in the large two level lobby, which is furnitured with cushy couches and a billard table.
The service personnel is young and guest oriented. The rooms are functional with a pretty design and excellent beds. The hotel offers a good and diversified breakfast buffet. Guests who are aiming to do some sports may use the small fitness facility which meets minimum standards.
In walking distance to the hotel are a lot of nice and good restaurants and pubs. Public transportation (underground) is near by (5 minute walk).

Room Tip: Ask for a room located to the backyard of the hotel. The entire 6th floor is reserved for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is in a nice neighborhood and close to the train station. The price we paid was really reasonable. The hotel room/bath was nice and clean. The staff is pretty good as well. The check in is a bit strange because it is connected to the bar. Drinks there are a bit pricey we liked the bar down the street with free wifi (~11euro) at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnathon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#59 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Margareten
Falkensteiner Hotel Wien Margareten
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#43 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Vienna

Property: pentahotel Vienna
Address: Margaretenstrasse 92 | 1050 Vienna, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Vienna
#45 Family Hotel in Vienna
#51 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#51 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A revolution in the way you sleep, eat, drink and relax is coming to Vienna. The beautiful city may have a timeless elegance and charm, but sometimes things need to be shaken up a little bit. The pentahotel Vienna takes what you’d expect from a hotel and shakes off the stiff formality of a traditional reception area and replaces it with a laid-back pentalounge that’s cool, relaxing and elegant - perfect as a neighbourhood hub. We like to do things differently, but also know the things that make your stay unforgettable; all the comfort and convenience you need, and none of the pointless gimmicks that you don’t. Our practical, comfortable guestrooms ensure a sound night’s pentasleep. The pentapeople always provide a sense of lively community amongst hotel guests, drop-in customers and hotel associates and give our guests pentafun and surprise in lounge and guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your pentahotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentahotel Vienna Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing