We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential to be better.”
Review of pentahotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
pentahotel Vienna
Ranked #60 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel was nice and clean with a larger room and a huge rainfall shower head. The location is two metro stop outside the inner ring, outside walking distance to the large majority of attractions. The metro is easy to use and can get you to the inner city quickly. The breakfast seemed drastically over priced and with restaurants close by it seemed hardly worth it. Surcharges for WiFi I find petty. The room was quite but nothing special. It was good for 3 nights and a cheaper option based on the deal we got.
.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loganberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,619)
There are newer reviews for pentahotel Vienna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

Beautiful lobby...very nice room. A little cozy, but it had everything we needed...including a wonderfully comfortable bed. Staff was very helpful...got us hooked up with Metro and we could go anywhere!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrendaG0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A friend of mine and I decided to try a boutique hotel while visiting Vienna in 2011.
This hotel/bar/lounge is an experience to say the least. The receptionist / bar tender was fantastic and I felt like we were entered an upscale lounge. The hotel's ambiance is one that I have never experienced. Our room was very clean, quite big, and it had everything we needed.
The location is great and within walking distance to the bars we wanted to frequent.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Shane76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great Hotel. The hotel is in a perfect location to explore the beautiful City of Vienna.
I chose this hotel based on the reviews from tripadvisor and a great hotel offer through BA.com and I wasn't disappointed.
The hotel is as shown in the pictures, funky, modern and clean.
All the staff from the receiption, bar & cleaning staff were all polite, professional and welcoming.
I was in room 203. The room was clean and comfortable. Not a great view out of the window to the back but it didn't bother me, as I didn't go to Vienna to spend time in the hotel.

The hotel is only 5 minutes walk away from Pilgramgasse tube station, which is on line 4 of the U-bahn - the green line. (When you come out of the station take the Pilgramgasse exit - turn right - cross over the road from the traffic lights and you will be outside the post office, stay on this side of the road and walk to the top the road, the road will bare to the right and another 2 minutes walk is the hotel)

It only took around 45 minutes from the Airport. I took the City Airport Train into the City Centre, which runs every 30 minutes and costs 19 Euros return and then took the tube from Landstrasse to Pilgramgasse.

As well as the tube,the hotel is located in an area, where you can access good bus routes to the main tourist spots, eg Bus no. 59A will take you to Karlsplatz, no 13A/14a will take you to Neubaugasse the main shopping district.

If you don't want to use public transport, it is easy to navigate and find the main tourist spots on foot. Vienna is an easy City to get around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettyboop809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently with a friend. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and efficient. The service was very good. The beds were super comfortable and a great shower in the bathroom. The best bit was the amazing breakfast. It was faultless. Loads of everything and all really fresh and plentiful…..and prosecco too!

Our room (along with many others) faced into a concrete service area so not a great view. We had our window open at night as we don't like to live with air conditioning all the time. Consequently we were woken on both mornings around 6am as the service vehicles loaded and unloaded noisy trollies for what seemed ages. If you like to open your window this is something to bear in mind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 694nickyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A lovely long weekend in a modern, stylish, well-located hotel. The hotel was fully booked, so we got an upgrade, making it even nicer. Close to the metro, so easy to explore the city. We didn't have breakfast included and didn't fancy paying nearly 20 Euros pp to sample it, but it did look delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend (sat-tues) and for £90 per night inc good buffet breakfast, this was an excellent deal, especially when you throw in the location and service we experienced.

The hotel itself is 'boutiquey' I guess but I don't want to labour that point - modern will also suffice (not wanting to mislead any boutique hotel afficionados). The room we had was a very spacious double, with good sized bathroom. The lobby area is also the dining area and chilled out bar - and looks exactly like the photos on its website, which was reassuring when we arrived. The first room we had (see photos) did not have fully functioning air-con and we were moved immediately on request with no problem - the room we moved to was on the same floor and similar size, so we were very pleased at how easy they made it for us. Both rooms were spotlessly clean and came tv (BBC news 24 only English channel) and although some guests seemed to have paid, we were connected to wifi at no extra charge. Beds were massive (2 pushed together but we had excellent nights sleep all the time). There was no fridge in the room but that didn't bother us.

We had breakfast on two of the mornings and that was very good. There was a wide selection of hot and cold dishes from eggs and bacon, to fresh fruit, hams, cereals, lots of breads and much more. Being a buffet you could obviously have as little or as much as you wanted. We didn't eat here for any other meals but did enjoy a couple of cocktails before going out on two evenings. The lobby has a nice bar area to sit and chat before or after a night out (we left the bar one evening at 1am and it was still open).

The location of this hotel is excellent. It is literally a 5 minute walk to the tube station (Pilgrimgasse) which can take you in 5 mins to central Vienna (Stephansplatz) and the airport shuttle (Landstrasse). It is also walking distance to the Naschmarkt and Karlsplatz in about 15-20mins. The area surrounding the hotel was very quiet when we stayed so no noise from the street to be heard.

I'm not sure what else to stay but that if this hotel is in your budget and you like the look or sound from its own website - BOOK IT! Penta Hotel is a great stay for a visit to Vienna.

Room Tip: Ask for a "junior suite". We got one by chance but, when looking at the fire evacuation ma...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeycastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Margareten
Falkensteiner Hotel Wien Margareten
Hotel Schani Wien
#38 of 361 in Vienna
724 reviews
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#58 of 361 in Vienna
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#54 of 361 in Vienna
980 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Vienna

Address: Margaretenstrasse 92 | 1050 Vienna, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Vienna
#45 Family Hotel in Vienna
#51 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#149 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $97 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A revolution in the way you sleep, eat, drink and relax is coming to Vienna. The beautiful city may have a timeless elegance and charm, but sometimes things need to be shaken up a little bit. The pentahotel Vienna takes what you’d expect from a hotel and shakes off the stiff formality of a traditional reception area and replaces it with a laid-back pentalounge that’s cool, relaxing and elegant - perfect as a neighbourhood hub. We like to do things differently, but also know the things that make your stay unforgettable; all the comfort and convenience you need, and none of the pointless gimmicks that you don’t. Our practical, comfortable guestrooms ensure a sound night’s pentasleep. The pentapeople always provide a sense of lively community amongst hotel guests, drop-in customers and hotel associates and give our guests pentafun and surprise in lounge and guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your pentahotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentahotel Vienna Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing