We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite a strange place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of pentahotel Vienna

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
pentahotel Vienna
Ranked #67 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite a strange place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

i would call it an artistic place, although it might also be called a bit too artistic. Rooms are interesting, but mine was rather noisy, also one night there was a party at the lobby which lasted quite long and could be heard quite well even on the higher floors. The reception is the bar - which is indeed interesting & funny, but created some confusion with almost everybody who entered for the first time...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anetinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    593
    152
    28
    17
See reviews for
140
686
63
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not ideal if you want to be bang in the centre but plenty of good local restaurants (inc motto) & close to a tube stop. Hotel itself has a fantastic bar, comfy sofas, exposed brick work, quirky decor...I'm sure you get the pic. decided it was best hotel barvwe've ever had. Had nice breakfast to start the day...inc vino if your hangovers not too bad! Rooms are average size with good big tv's (not that we watched them much...handy sd slot for photo viewing though) stylish decor again & good shower. Top class place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nee_i_l76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Pay attention at the back ! My wife and I had an extended weekend at this Hotel just after Christmas and found it to be an ideal location to explore Vienna. It was easy to find once you got off the CAT train being just 4 stops down line 4 on the UBahn (Pilgramgasse station) and then a couple of streets up. Being near this station is handy to get to the Zoo (a must see for their Giant Pandas alone) and to get into the main tourist areas, I MUST point out however after seeing other reviews on here that the best way to see a City IS ON FOOT and always will be. This hotel is a good location and NOT out of the way, you miss so much of a city going by taxi/train everywhere and we found some lovely little shops in Christmas decorated arcades and alleyways..we were given 2 legs so use them !
As for the Hotel, how can you not love it when they have big pictures of Pugs adorning the corridors along with silver Lizard ornaments ! Yes the breakfast was pricey @ 19 Euros so guess what...we simply did not have it...no complaining...no moaning..went outside in the morning as there are plenty of Cafe's near by and ate in them...simple (and a lot cheaper) nor did we eat dinner in the Hotel, dining out at the different restaurants that Vienna has to offer is far more interesting than eating in your Hotel but that applies to anywhere you travel and is a major part of ANY trip. We used the bar and the pool table and what food we saw coming out of the kitchen looked ok.
Our room was fine and clean with a massive rain head shower (always welcome), we did miss the tea/coffee in the room but did find the (very reasonable) vending machine amusing. The sauna/showers along with the little gym is on the 6th floor and it was lovely to have that to ourselves on a Sunday evening. We found the staff to be very pleasant and spoke very good English and to clear up some negative reviews we did not have to stand about waiting for them at all and the lifts were quick, modern and always available !?
One little WiFi tip, as they do charge 5.50 euros for 24 hours... as long as you don't need the internet all day but just to check in on stuff you can buy the password in the evening and use it the following day until your 24 hours are up

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a8kgkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel from the inside and out. Some interesting details include the multiple light settings that you can manipulate from bed and modular furniture set-up. Spring for the barely-more-expensive upgrade on the single person room and you get notably more space. My colleague requested a regular room for 2 and my single room superior was appreciably bigger. Charming dog photos line the hallways to the rooms. Each room has a unique door sign and mirrors are abundant in the halls. Based on previous reviews, I did not opt for the pricey breakfast -- there are plenty of places to grab a coffee and breakfast outside the hotel and a McDonald's outside the subway station.

Pros:
1. Boutique style presentation
2. Cute toiletries
3. Close to stylish shopping and eating
4. Occasional live music in the lobby bar
5. Grocery store around the corner (Billa)

Cons:
1. Located outside city center (but easily accessible via subway)
2. Housekeeping lacked attention to detail. The green hand soap was a lie detector and the telltale green residue inside the sink and on the counter each of my 4 days exposed the subpar cleaning.
3. The bathtub knob that changes from spout to showerhead was broken and I had to grab the raw screw each day to change the setting.
4. Despite requesting a taxi to the airport for the day of departure that accepts credit card, (and confirming this request TWICE), the hotel called me a cash cab. After spending a week in a city that is practically a cash-only society, I was close to cash-poor. I was disappointed that the hotel did not confirm a credit card taxi and this left a bitter last taste to my trip.

Would stay again and definitely recommend. Of note, I pricelined the hotel (did not bid, rather selected the lowest rate offered), and had no difficulty or disappointment at check-in.

Room Tip: Spring for the slightly more expensive upgrade to your room -- I believe it was a "superior&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTravelMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just spent 6 nights at this hotel including christmas day and found it to be a very pleasant and comfertable stay. Our room was clean and well presented beds were very comfortable. There was no minibar in the room but each floor had vending machines with beer wine and softdrinks at a very reasonable price. All the staff were friendly, although some had limited english it is to expected as we are visiting their country. We ate here everyday and the food was excellent. We left early on Boxing day and the lovely Hungarian boy (sorry his name eludes me) gave us some good advice and organised a taxi for getting back to the airport as train services did not start early enough. We found the location of the hotel excellent and we walked everywhere. City centre is about 10 min walk and you can branch off in any direction from there. If you are not up for the walk Underground was very short walk from hotel. There are also lots of cafes and bars about a minute along the street if you fancied a change of scenary. If I had one little thing it was that there was no tea and coffee facilities in the room and Im a sucker for a cuppa in the morning but this is stated on Hotel info so that was my own fault. All and all it is was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Front desk needs help (not that friendly). Room service needs improvement, extra pillows were brought two days after because I called and told them that the room was not cleaned and that I was still waiting for the pillows. Their burgers and fries were very good.

Room Tip: Not a four start hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mime13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel about a dozen times on business just before moving to a very nice rooftop apartment in the 5th district of Vienna, close to the hotel. I have tried all room categories and they all have their own charm. The breakfast buffet is versatile and tasty. In the restaurant / bar, I love their burgers and they do awesome cocktails.
But the best in the hotel is the STAFF. They are all young and hip, but at the same time very professional and caring.
A fter a strenuous day at work, I still go there often to just “hang out” at the bar and chat with their staff.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel!
Rainer Ludwig, Vienna, Austria

Room Tip: I like their Suites the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KailuaWave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Margareten
Falkensteiner Hotel Wien Margareten
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#59 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#44 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Vienna

Property: pentahotel Vienna
Address: Margaretenstrasse 92 | 1050 Vienna, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Vienna
#45 Family Hotel in Vienna
#49 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#51 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A revolution in the way you sleep, eat, drink and relax is coming to Vienna. The beautiful city may have a timeless elegance and charm, but sometimes things need to be shaken up a little bit. The pentahotel Vienna takes what you'd expect from a hotel and shakes off the stiff formality of a traditional reception area and replaces it with a laid-back Pentalounge that's cool, relaxing and elegant. We like to do things differently, but also know the things that make your stay unforgettable; all the comfort and convenience you need, and none of the pointless gimmicks that you don't. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your pentahotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentahotel Vienna Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing