We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to Vienna!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of pentahotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
pentahotel Vienna
Ranked #67 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Essex,, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go to Vienna!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We booked the pentahotel and were not disappointed. Although our room was not ready on arrival, we made ourselves comfortable in the bar, where there was a pool table and a chess set which kept the kids amused.
The room was amazing. Plenty of space.
Great location for the trams and within walking distance - margaretta's italian restaurant and over the road, an ice cream parlour!!

All you could ever want in this amazing city

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mstoker_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    603
    154
    30
    17
See reviews for
143
694
63
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is beautiful with a night club style interior.I found most of the staff friendly. Location is great.The breakfast is beyond good it would satisfy middle america. The food at the restaurant was the best food we had in all of Vienna. The parking was full and the closest garage was hard to find and expensive. If you have no GPS have fun.

Room Tip: Make sure they have parking for you. If not get them to print out a map.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elv53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Broadly speaking, I really enjoyed my stay at Pentahotel and loved the location, which is well-connected to Vienna's great public transport system. It is in an area which is not too touristy but right by Margarentenstrasse that has lovely bars, cafes and bakeries. If you want to get to Innere Stadt/Stephanplatz, it's a quick metro ride away. Or if you fancy a day-trip to Bratislava or Budapest, the Sudbahnhof train station is 15mins by bus (the 13A takes you straight there and is very frequent).
As for specifics about the hotel, the staff were not surly to us (we were expecting the worst, from previous Tripadvisor reviews) but were very friendly. It was a little slow at checkout but not overly so that it spoilt our experience. The decor was funky, cleanliness was top notch and I noticed that the hotel really went for quality in terms of its furnishings (bed and shower was excellent), toiletries, even the dining cutlery was a good make. I haven't given it a 5/5 only because I'm being extremely critical and I'd say the hotel lost points in terms of the slightly cramped room size, not having a safe in the room (to me that's a must-have), no free wi-fi (free use of Macs in lobby was restricted to 5 mins!), the constant easy jazz playing EVERYWHERE in the hotel public areas that started to grate on the nerves, and it would have been nice to have the toiletries replenished without having to ask. But the positives more than offset these little negatives and I'd go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoonTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The pentahotel from first impressions looks really lovely. When you enter, the bar area is also the reception desk and this is a new concept. The room we stayed in was on the 5th floor and nicely decorated along with a lovely wet room. Everywhere is very clean and the hotel is perfectly situated just a 5 minute walk away from the tube. A walk into Karsplatz is about 15-20 minutes and very peaceful. The one thing that lets this hotel down slightly is the service of the staff. When trying to get a drink, we could be sat at the bar for 10 minutes before any of the staff offered to serve you. Sometimes, they were serving other customers which is fine, but quite often this was not the case. Also, breakfast is extremely expensive at 19 euros (although very nice). I would stay again, but for a 5 star review I would like to see service improve

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Pentahotel group is challenging the traditional hotel concept with for instance combined bar and reception, funky interiors etc. Nothing wrong with that. However - service needs to improve. We were greeted with a some what nonchalant behavoiur. Not unfriendly, but the staff made us feel invisible. The room was overall OK except from poor ventilation and bad smell. Resturant was very good (also the service from the male waiter was good!). Fun watching the Euro football finale on big screen in the bar/ reception.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

It was low season when I visited so the rates were very good. The room, while small by north american standards, was very clean, modern, and comfortable. The shower and bathroom, again small, but I quite enjoyed the shower with its numerous shower heads and great water pressure.
The location of the hotel was ideal in that it was surrounded by pubs and restaurants, was a very short walk to the subway and the famous Nachtmarket. On the downside, the staff at the front desk which double as a bar seemed less than interested in helping us out with any information of any sort. They seemed far too busy talking amongst themselves to suggest any restaurants or sights or to provide directions. Also, the minimal buffet breakfast was extremely overpriced compared to other hotels I have stayed at in other European cities. As this is the only hotel I stayed at in Vienna, I have no idea how the prices compared to other hotels for breakfast, but I made a point to not eat there. I would definitely stay here again if only for the location. Europeans may find it not all that central, but being from North America, I found the distances to everything quite minimal. A short walk to sights, shopping, night life, and again, everything is easily accessible via the great transit system that is very close by. A pleasant neighbourhood for strolling about during the day and evening as well.

Room Tip: I imagine rooms on the back would be quieter, however, the only noise was in the mornings when truck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

New, modern lounge style hotel where reception is actually a bar or ... Bar is actually a reception.
Located in district 5 - so quite far from center. Area is not so nice. I spent 3 nights there, for my business trip. Always had private transfers, 15-20min to the center. Like that it's fine. Otherwise can't really advise it if you look for location. But lounge area and a bar is very nice. Breakfasts are of good quality and price is fine. I'd suggest them to offer Internet wifi for free, they'd earn a few points, especially for travellers on business purpose. Beds by the way are comfortable too but air conditioning (provided by GEA fancoil units for those who understand) is very loud. Overall I rate it quite good but not sure whether I can advise to stay there. Location is really not interesting.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NataliaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#59 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Margareten
Falkensteiner Hotel Wien Margareten
Hotel Schani Wien
#36 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#41 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Vienna

Property: pentahotel Vienna
Address: Margaretenstrasse 92 | 1050 Vienna, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Vienna
#45 Family Hotel in Vienna
#48 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#51 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A revolution in the way you sleep, eat, drink and relax is coming to Vienna. The beautiful city may have a timeless elegance and charm, but sometimes things need to be shaken up a little bit. The pentahotel Vienna takes what you’d expect from a hotel and shakes off the stiff formality of a traditional reception area and replaces it with a laid-back pentalounge that’s cool, relaxing and elegant - perfect as a neighbourhood hub. We like to do things differently, but also know the things that make your stay unforgettable; all the comfort and convenience you need, and none of the pointless gimmicks that you don’t. Our practical, comfortable guestrooms ensure a sound night’s pentasleep. The pentapeople always provide a sense of lively community amongst hotel guests, drop-in customers and hotel associates and give our guests pentafun and surprise in lounge and guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your pentahotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentahotel Vienna Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing