We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky 50s style decor & fab location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel am Brillantengrund
Ranked #3 of 116 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Near to shops and night life this family and group friendly hotel was a welcome break from functional hotels in its price range. Interesting decor, great hearty breakfast Buffett which was topped up generously. Good spot!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 305 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Simple accommodations in a residential, non-touristy neighborhood. Cute courtyard and reading room, adequate breakfast, helpful staff, reasonable rates, 20 min to city center via subway or tram. There are two reasons I didn't give 5 stars. First, very flimsy and transparent curtains which ensure you wake up at the break of dawn, and second, no bath towels provided, only hand towels.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louie_Chicago_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this bed and breakfast property 9/4/13 to 9/6/13. This is a very clean property and the rooms are excellent and very large. Great selection for breakfast. The courtyard is wonderful and there is a bar opened in the evenings for guests to have a drink and unwind. It is located about 15 minutes walk from the Wien Westbahnhof train station. It's in a great location and trams are nearby to take you wherever you may need to travel to. The hotel staff was friendly, very helpful with directions and answering our questions. The neighborhood was safe and we did not experience any problems being out late at night. Excellent bars and restaurants in the area. The people of Vienna were friendly and eager to help if needed. Great value for the money at this property. We would stay here again.

Paul and Sue Navarette
Flower Mound, Texas

Room Tip: Excellent Value and great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay there. We felt the breakfast was exceptional- three types of eggs,sausage,bacon,tomatoes,cucumbers,cereal and great bread. Our room was clean and bigger than other European rooms we have stayed in. We arrived by plane, took the CAT to central city, then U3 to Volkstheater and then route 49 to within 2 blocks of hotel. After a couple of long walk days, it was nice to wake up to such a nice breakfast. Staff were also friendly and helpful especially if you have questions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JLZMcFarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Good value to money, location a bit far from center, Very good breakfast, rooms are nice and clean. When we visit the hotel parking was closed for construction and we park about 500 m away paying 12 euros per day

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My sister & I just returned from a 2 week stay here. She had been to Vienna 4 years ago and had stayed here as well. Staff was very, very helpful in doing sightseeing trips or just info that maybe only a local would know! Room was very clean and hotel very well kept. Food good not great but, i did not go to Vienna to eat at the hotel. Great breakfast to get you going for the day until you can get a wurst from a street vendor or schnitzel at a nice restaurant! No air condition you might say? Well look around. We counted 3 window units in apartments around the city that we saw. It just does not get that hot in Vienna usually. I would suggest for the hotel to maybe have some bigger fans available for just such an exception. As "spoiled americans" in a foreign city, we may need to be a little more flexible. We made it thru the record heat (105 degrees) on 8.8.13 while sightseeing at Schloss Esterhazy and Schloss Hof. We thought getting out of the city may be a little cooler. Loved the location of the hotel! Great chance to see the not so touristy side of Vienna but still be close enough to see the sights. I will definitely stay here again when I go back!

Room Tip: End of the hall rooms have less traffic at night if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
K&T Boardinghouse
K&T Boardinghouse
#2 of 116 in Vienna
251 reviews
Hotel Fabrik
#11 of 116 in Vienna
187 reviews
Inner City
BENEDIKTUSHAUS IM SCHOTTENSTIFT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Brillantengrund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Brillantengrund

Address: Bandgasse 4, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: $63 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Brillantengrund 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel am Brillantengrund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing