We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saint Shermin
Ranked #20 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very nice hotel. The entrance to the hotel should be ignored due to maintenance, it has no relation with the beautiful rooms. The location is good, close to city center. Finally, they gave us a present when we arrived, and it was a very nice, handy gift.

Room Tip: Some rooms look to the street; if street noise is a problem for you, choose accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aykut k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    133
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
83
262
54
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A pension, I now know, is not a hotel. When arriving at 6 pm there was no one from pension to check us in and no code given to us to get in building, fortunately door to building was left agar by mistake and the cleaning lady was present and gave us a key code and room key without any identification confirmation. Later at night when we needed to reach the pension to alert them that there was no air conditioning, the phone in room had a dead battery , no plug, and desk phone had no dial tone. An email to pension was answered alerting me that there is no air conditioning in the pension after 10 pm no matter what the temperature they cannot turn it on "by law". It was very hot that night and other people in pension were also in hallway complaining about stifling heat. All said, breakfast is excellent, location is excellent, price is good as long as you don't come in the summer. Also walls are thin and can hear neighbors more then desired. Construction in hallway and no elevator so not for people with disabilities now. Would be nice if pension web site would alert disabled people about this although we managed fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurelroadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, Inhaber at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest, We are very sorry that during your stay requested our air conditioning has failed. Now, the air conditioning works perfectly again, even after 22 clock. We are also pleased to announce that in the next few days, our lift is put into service. On your next visit with us, we are confident that it will lack any comfort.
Saint SHERMIN your hotel in Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I would have given Shermin a rating of 4... but they turned the air conditioning off at 10pm. We stayed on a REALLY hot day - so our only option was to open the windows on to the main road, letting the traffic noise in. Despite opening the windows, it was hot enough to melt chocolate in the room.

On the plus side the rooms were immaculate and imaginative and the bathroom products were very nice. Some of the rooms are much smaller than others however. The location is really good as its 10 minutes walk to the opera from where most other things are accessible within 10 minutes. The staff are very friendly and they did their best so I feel bad giving such a low score.

In conclusion, it's a nice hotel with great potential. If they can sort out the AC, or you are staying outside peak summer then it will be lovely. In the meantime, the website and booking agents should amend their descriptions of the hotel having AC.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Yangrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, Inhaber at Hotel Saint Shermin, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest, We are very sorry that during your stay requested our air conditioning has failed. Now, the air conditioning works perfectly again. Thank you nevertheless have found positive words about our hotel. We assure you our best service during your next stay in Saint SHERMIN.
Your hotel in Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent value for money. Everything is newly renovated and every room follows a different theme. This kind of design is otherwise only found in much pricier establishments. The beds are comfortable, the interior practical and breakfast was a pleasure. The staff is very friendly and you are 5 min by foot from the centre. A real gem!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerchantGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have been here for 6 years running. The former owners sold it a few years ago and the new owners have done a total redo. While it was always comfortable, it is now dazzling. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast is top of the line. the only negative is that the rooms are not well lit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenmarylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The value of this place cannot be beat. Very thoughtful staff, right next to the metro and the nicest room I stayed at during my three week trip to Europe. The wifi can be a little patchy and you can sometimes hear your neighbors but the price is incredible for what you get. The rooms look brand new. The soap and moisturizer they provide is great. Flat screen televisions in big rooms. A lot of thought has gone into this place. I highly recommend it. Just book it already

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisIsEstlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We only stayed two nights but it was the nicest room we had in Germany and Vienna. The service is wonderful and the AC (new to hotel) is awesome. The bathrooms are very small but we are ok with this. The hotel arranged a car service for us from the train station which we paid for of course. The only draw back would be if you are a disabled traveler. The stairs leading to the hotel lobby must be climbed as their is no lift. Our Taxi driver carried our bags up and the gentleman at the desk brought them down when we left. We never had breakfast but I'm sure it was just as lovely. The Opera house is a 10 minute walk with FREE outside TV Opera on the weekends. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. They provide some nice toiletries and they have additional items for sale if you wish.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mabeyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#24 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Shermin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Shermin

Property: Hotel Saint Shermin
Address: Rilkeplatz 7, Vienna 1040, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#18 Family Hotel in Vienna
#18 Business Hotel in Vienna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Shermin 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish, family-run Hotel Shermin offers modern accommodation in the centre of Vienna, just a 5-minute walk from the Karlsplatz Underground Station. The daily breakfast buffet includes traditional Viennese coffee. Free Wi-Fi is available.The spacious, individually furnished rooms come with a private bathroom, minibar, seating area, and a flat-screen TV. Room themes include Viennese sights such as the Augarten Park or the Lainzer Zoo's Hermes Villa, which was once the hunting residence of the imperial family.The Shermin Hotel has a convenient and quiet location close to the State Opera and St. Charles Church. The Kärntner Straße shopping area is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Saint Shermin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shermin Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing