We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in a very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint Shermin
Ranked #18 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Special and charming hotel. Interesting decoration. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast.
Excellent location near Karlsplatz (several metro and tram lines), only a few minutes to walk, so it is easy to access even by foot some main atractions of Vienna. Two restaurants just at the entrance of the hotel and a supermarket in front of it. Reasonable price for this location in Vienna. The only problem is the stairs to the first floor of the building which could be difficult to some people, and also no aircondition which could help a lot in hot summer days. But besides that I would highly recommend. We will return for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 632 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with 2 other friends in a 4-bedroom. We got a very good deal from booking.com which included breakfast. The hotel was located in an old building but hotel interior was modern. Bedroom was spacious and most importantly clean. Breakfast was superb and suprisingly with good variety.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m3lodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed here with my family and it was a great location at a very affordable price. It was the perfect place for us to explore Vienna from. The breakfasts were wonderful, the staff was very helpful, and we loved everything about it. I would definitely go there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The staff are very helpful, breakfast service is unhurried and attentive, with excellent quality food. Hotel Shermin is recently renovated, and each room has a different theme -- ours was the Maria Theresa, featuring a full size reproduction of a painting of the lady herself, with a color palette that matched that of the Kunsthistorische Museum (where the original is housed, I believe).

After I fell and injured my foot, the staff member on duty that day (I believe it was Raphael) offered the loan of his crutches, which I declined, but I certainly was impressed by his offer. What I did take advantage of was access to their freezer, so I could put ice on my foot as needed. On our last day, he went down to the taxi with us, to be sure the driver knew where we needed to go. He did the same a few days later as we were leaving the city, also assisting us with our luggage.

The hotel could not be blamed for the horribly hot weather, but each room was supplied with a good strong floor fan, which was helpful, at least.

Note, there is no elevator, so expect to traverse a rather long and winding stair case.

Great location, just a few steps from a couple of major tram lines, and a bit further up to the Karlsplatz, which is the nearest subway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Well, once I got myself on the right street (Karlsplatz stop, you're no fun in the rain), the Hotel Shermin was super easy to find and in a location that proved to be pretty ideal. I arrived outside of the hours when the staff were there, but they emailed me the door code for the building ahead of time--beware that there is no elevator, my fellow over-packing travelers! It's only one flight of stairs and good for you, anyway. I was in...I'm guessing the architecture room? The modern art room? I never asked, but it was a single room and SO spacious and fun! I enjoyed the oranges and blues and modern fixtures, including a shaggy rug and big art works. My room had two windows that opened towards the street, but I didn't really notice any noise, and heavy curtains to preserve my morning cave-like atmosphere. The bathroom was tiny but extremely clean and modern. There was a refrigerator/mini-bar in my room (to be filled by the grocery store and bakery at street-level), and the info book in the room was very thorough. Breakfast was very nice, European, and the self-serve coffee/espresso machine was much appreciated. My only gripe is that I had no wi-fi despite the router being at the end of the short hall and could never get my laptop to find the network over my three day stay. Regarding the location: it's super close to the University and Karlsplatz metro stop, about a ten minute walk from the opera house, and a 15-20 minute walk to the Belvedere. This place was really affordable for the value, the furnishings eclectic and fun, and overall, a really great little hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaymeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

we stayed for 3 nights/June/, the room was large,clean.The staff was very helpful.
The weather was hot and in the room unfortunately was hot too.We asked for a fan and this was a decision.There was a lot of noise from the square. But the perfect location and the others priorities excuses the inconveniences.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaysyEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Our family of four stayed in a quadruple room (the Vienna Woods room) for 2 nights and had a fantastic time. The room was very new with unique fixtures and a modern bathroom. The location was perfect for exploring the main sights and staff were especially helpful in answering all our questions, helping us call attractions for tickets, etc. There are staff available only at certain hours of the day but this was no issue for us. Breakfast room is small but the food was excellent. It was somewhat warm in the room during our stay in late June since there was no A/C but the fans were helpful. The windows also completely open which was nice, but then there was a fair amount of street noise at night. Our room was the farthest from the lobby, which is where the router was, so we had little to no wi-fi in our room. When we needed Internet we sat in the lobby, where it was lightning fast. Overall a fantastic, unique, personalized experience that I would definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josieshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

We are very pleased about this review. Thank you. We have extensively renovated between January and March 2012, but still no air conditioning provided. We will consider that in the next building phase in the autum, next summer will be cool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,926 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,552 reviews
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#17 of 359 in Vienna
664 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#15 of 359 in Vienna
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Shermin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Shermin

Address: Rilkeplatz 7, Vienna 1040, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Vienna
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#18 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $89 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saint Shermin 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish, family-run Hotel Shermin offers modern accommodation in the centre of Vienna, just a 5-minute walk from the Karlsplatz Underground Station. The daily breakfast buffet includes traditional Viennese coffee. Free Wi-Fi is available.The spacious, individually furnished rooms come with a private bathroom, minibar, seating area, and a flat-screen TV. Room themes include Viennese sights such as the Augarten Park or the Lainzer Zoo's Hermes Villa, which was once the hunting residence of the imperial family.The Shermin Hotel has a convenient and quiet location close to the State Opera and St. Charles Church. The Kärntner Straße shopping area is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Saint Shermin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shermin Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing