We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel But Lousy Air Conditioning System”
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
Ranked #123 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

There are many pluses to this hotel. The location is excellent. The hotel staff is professional, extremely nice and very helpful. The beds are comfortable. The pillows are soft and luxurious. The rooms are simple and comfortable and clean (if you want luxury stay somewhere else). I've stayed here 3 times over the last 9 years and I've always found all of the above to be true and unfortunately all of the below is true also.
The big problem with this hotel is the air conditioning. It is horrible. I'm staying here in early June. The temperatures are somewhat mild (mid 70's) but at night, the air conditioner mysteriously begin pumping out warm air into an already warm room. I was almost roasted alive two nights ago because we had the window closed. (I got 3 hours of sleep because it was so uncomfortable.)
The air conditioning system here has worked the same ever since my first visit to this hotel in 2004. There is an adequate amount of somewhat cool air in the morning, in the afternoon and in the early evening but around 2AM, warm air comes out of the air conditioner (as though you had turned on the heater). I stay here because my friends love this hotel so I've learned to sleep with the a/c turned on and the window wide open (which of course means we get the noise from the street in the middle of the night). Requiring the window to be open also means that we can't have the black out shades all the way down (because we need the fresh air to come into the room during the night). Consequently, I wake up when the room is bright (this time of year that happens at 5AM) but I don't mind this too much.
If they improved the a/c, I would give this hotel a rating of "excellent" as it truly is. But I need to be in a cool environment for a good night's sleep. If you don't care about a/c you will love this place for the comfort. Other minor complaints include weak wifi signal on the 7th floor of the hotel and a super slow elevator. Overall, these are minor complaints compared to the quality of this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on a lower floor so you can use the stairs and avoid the super slow elevator (also it's goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiepGies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 199 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

The positive first:
- friendly staff
- centrally located (a few minutes from Stephansplatz), yet very quiet
- clean (but... see below)
- good breakfast buffet with good coffee

The not so positive
- The single rooms are rather unattractive. Window gives to an inner court; not really a room to enjoy being in
- Heating / cooling not easy to regulate
- One night I had some sort of insect in my bed

It is a decent place. I wonder how they got their fourth star, but still recommendable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Usually I travel to Vienna for business and pleasure and Amadeus is the best Hotel to stay in Vienna.
Is a family business and personal is very pleasant, and familiar. You will see the same faces for years.
Breakfast is good and simple, with small tables and nice ladies, which are serving tea or café. Breakfast is included in the room price.
Because is in center of Vienna , is very comfortable to make sopping, or to have a dinner in a good restaurant.
In winter time you can walk to Central Hall, in order to drink warm wine, and eat specific Austrian food.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Charming, character hotel. Location is splendid. 3 min walk to the Stephans Dom. Staff are switched on and willing & able. Breakfast in nice and quality although the variety is limited. Surrounded by nice shops, cafes, restaurants. A good bet if you're in Vienna for the first time and don't want to spend a couple of hundreds of Euros per night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vulasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I booked this hotel on the recommendation of my tour book and foind it to be a great disappointment. The room faces a back alley and is very dark. I was provided one flat pillow and one small towel. THe only toileteries provided came in the form of a large bottle of all-purpose soap- no shampoo, conditioner, or lotion. How am I supposed to wash my hair?

I could understand all of these limitations in a one-star or maybe a 2-star hotel, but this is supposed to be 4 stars! It's not inexpensive at all, and I thought I was splurging for a nice hotel. HUGE disappointment. When i asked the front desk to change rooms, they switched my to a second room with an equally dismal view of the back alley. The website doesn't show this! Then I asked to cancel the second night, and the woman at the desk was very rude.

Fnd another hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhervez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmadeusWien, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Mrs. Rhervez,
thank you for taking the time to comment on trip advisor. Please accept our comment here, as we would like to explain our point of view:
The shampoo/shower gel combination offered is a high quality cosmetics product, which is much appreciated by our guests. A great number of guests will purchase this item, or even make orders after their stay at our Hotel, because of it´s great quality. As with any other product offered, in any Hotel, it will always be a personal matter of taste - if colour, texture or perfume of the selected item suite the individual taste. You might not have enjoyed something about the shampoo, which we are very sorry for, but would like to enforce once more, that the product itselfe is a high quality value and has never caused any complaints in terms of shampooing, conditioning or what so ever.
Very similar to your quality complaint of the shampoo, we would also like to explain the argument about the room you stayed in. You have been offered different room types, to comfort all of your wishes, but have decided to stay with your selected standard room, which you confirmed to like. You asked for a room with a better view, which we tryed to accomodate in offering the same room category, on a much higher floor level. As you did not enjoy the view there either, you decided to cancell your booking, which we certenly would have accepted, but would have had to charge a cancellation fee. These are standard hotel regulations - which you accepted with your booking. Please understand that short term cancellations cause a loss for the Hotel, and have to be charged.
A downtown location whithin the historic city center of Vienna doesn´t offer many possibilities to a generous view - but the rooms offer all comfort and amenities a vour star hotel can offer. This might have also been a very individual preference and expectation, which we are sorry to have not fulfilled.
We are also sorry about your perception concerning the staff friendlyness. We might have disappointed you, as we were not able to fulfill your wishes in terms of a better view?
Our guests comfort is most important to us, and we are awfully sorry if your experience has left you with any other feeling than that. Please, come and visit the Hotel Amadeus again, and make up your experience with another stay, which will proof best service and standards to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I always stay here during my business trips in Vienna. The location in perfect: a very quiet road just 2 minutes walk from the main square and St Stephan Dome. nice, cosy, clean hotel, good breakfast and very kind and friendly staff. Ideal if you go on business.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GreenwichMaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very near to all the attractions, easy to just walk to St. Stephen's Cathedral (Stephansdom), the Danube river is not far, and near to all shopping places. It's in the hart of the city but still very quiet cause there is not much traffic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Wandl
Hotel Wandl
#167 of 358 in Vienna
400 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#33 of 358 in Vienna
903 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#106 of 358 in Vienna
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#34 of 358 in Vienna
471 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#62 of 358 in Vienna
480 reviews
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#143 of 358 in Vienna
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Wildpretmarkt 5, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $164 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amadeus 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right at the heart of Vienna, the hotel enjoys a superb location in the 1st district of the Austrian capital. Hotel Amadeus is the ideal starting point to explore the beautiful city of Vienna or conduct your business. Cafes and restaurants serving Viennese cuisine as well as elegant shops and boutiques can be found in immediate vicinity. St. Stephan's Cathedral and the Hofburg (Imperial Residence) are only a stone’s throw away from the hotel. Elegance, tranquillity and personal touch ensure that your stay in the Hotel Amadeus will be an enjoyable one. The well-furnished rooms fulfil the needs of both business and private guests and a delicious breakfast makes for good start into the day. We look forward to welcoming you! Elisabeth Pfneisl, General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing