We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
Nearby Hotels
$225
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Austria Classic Hotel Wien(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$203
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$177
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pension Neuer Markt(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$184
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Novotel Suites Wien City Donau(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Domizi(Vienna)
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kugel(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$144
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$255
$214
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$97
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
111
209
61
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
209
61
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe rittergreat locationshopping streetmaria hilferstrassehotel barminor issuehistorical buildingreception staffmetro stationnice hotelcity breakwalking distancebars and restaurantsminute walkquiet at nightwifi connectioncomfortable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 411 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

It is an old inconspicuous house, close to the famous "Naschmarkt" and next to "Mariahilferstraße". In few minutes you reach the citycenter by foot.
The location is central in Vienna, friendly staff, good breakfast, very nice bar "Barfly`s", there is really nothing to complain - just go there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4HHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Fuerst Metternich, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear guest,
thanks a lot for your friendly feedback and the time you spent for writing it. We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you have been confident. We would be happy to welcoming you, your friends or familiy again!
Your Hotel Fürst Metternich Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is nice, the rooms would need a renovation, the bathroom is ok, both are very comfortable and clean. Free wi fi. The staff is very corteous. The location is excellent. You can go walking to Ringstrasse, you can enjoy Mariahilfer Strasse an be there in minutes. But it has no air conditioner, we had a room at the front and we needed to open the window..... We barely got any sleep. It was too noisy, we could hear each people's steps all night and construction noise early morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ofelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Fuerst Metternich, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and the time you spent for writing it. It helps other people to choose a hotel and us to improve our service.
I am really sorry, that you have not had a good sleep. The rooms to the street are usually quiet, as it is a dead-end-street since "Mariahilfer Straße" is a pedestrian area. But of course there might be some deliveries or construction works sometimes what makes more noise. We do also have some rooms in a quiet court. So just ask for that!
We did already start with renovations in our hotel. We have two room categories, Standard and Superior rooms. All Superior rooms are completely new renovated. In the standard rooms we do some lighter renovation, so that everything is nice, lean and fine there as well.
We still hope, that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and we would be happy to welcoming you, your friends or family again in our Hotel Fürst Metternich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

When I arrived to the hotel I could see the poster announcing that the hotel is "Tripadvisor choice of 2012". I must say that Tripadvisor members have been right in their choice!
Perfect location, good breakfast, room with a good bathroom (yes!). Nice building, the hotel is a mansion built in XIX century. Clean, trained staff, so on.
I stayed there for 6 nights, service quality was quite stable during all period.

Now the tip. It is a small hotel, so not all rooms are equal. When they publish prices on booking sites two different prices for a room for two or for a room for single are often mentioned. I would recommend to go to higher price. Personally, I saw the hint in one of reviews that for a single room there is a serious difference in rooms size and location and payed attention.Then, payed a little bit more (like 10%) and the room was perfect.
The last thing: the location is perfect both for sightseeing and shopping. To the museum quarter I went by feet!

Room Tip: If there is an option (two kinds/prices for a single room) - go for more expensive one without hesitation.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Fuerst Metternich, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thanks a lot for your feedback and the time you spent for writing it! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we would be very happy to welcoming you, your friends or family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel's location is great. Though the hotel itself has seen better days.
The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.
Staff was available for check in and did exactly what they meant to do. No delays for check in, room was ready upon arrival, etc.
Wifi was an absolute plus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

1. The hotel is very well located
2. Near Mariahilfer with an excellent trade
3. We made several trips to downtown on foot
4. It seems the decade of 60 and is in need of a makeover
5. The reception service is excellent. A Bolivian and attentive

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio Seiji I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews