We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
Nearby Hotels
$373
$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna(Vienna)
$477
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$128
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$238
$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$227
$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$259
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$242
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveler rating
111
210
63
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
210
63
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe rittergreat locationshopping streetmaria hilferstrassehotel barminor issuehistorical buildingreception staffmetro stationnice hotelcity breakwalking distancebars and restaurantsminute walkquiet at nightwifi connectioncomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 414 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

From reading other reviews on here I get the impression that some of the rooms in this hotel must be much nicer than the one we stayed in. Upon arrival, well passed the check-in time stipulated by the hotel, we found that our room was not clean, despite the fact that it had clearly been prepared for new guests. The beds had been made and new towels put in but everything we touched had a layer of dust over it, including the glasses accompanying the mini bar. The room furniture was outdated and needs replacing, especially the carpet, but worse than all of this was the fact that there was still faeces in the toilet from the previous occupants when we arrived!!
The room smelt of cigarettes, which, it became apparent during our stay, was due to the fact that the hotel bar users and some members of staff used the area directly outside our room window to smoke. It was boiling hot so we had to keep the window open but the smell was constant and overwhelmed the room.
Speaking of the window, it looked out directly on to a concrete square with no view but that of the backs of other rooms and, as we were on the first floor, hardly any light or air could get into the room.
The area directly outside our room was also backed onto by the public toilets used by the bar users and staff and so we spent our evenings and nights woken by loud talking among smokers or, even worse, the noises coming from the toilets.
It definitely seems that some rooms are far superior to others at this hotel, and for the price, I'm not sure it's worth risking getting a room like the one we had...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cesca1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Fuerst Metternich, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

First of all i want to thank you for your feedback. It helps us to improve our services.
Then i want to appologize for the inconvinience you experienced in our hotel. I am really sorry, that you found the room not properly cleaned. I will immediately talk to our housekeeping staff! Something like that should never happen!
We do have two different rooms: standard and comfort rooms. The comfort rooms offer more space, new design and new furnitures. But also the standard rooms are in the 3-star standard, but of course more simple then the comfort rooms.
If you would send me an e-mail with your room number in which you stayed and the date of your stay i can check the room and talk to the person in charge who cleaned the room (anita.schlattner@austrotel.at).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Entering Hotel Fürst Metternich is like leaving the 21st century and walking into the turn-of-the-century world of a Viennese operetta like Franz Lehár’s “The Merry Widow.” The art nouveau row building is exceedingly charming with a very friendly, helpful front desk workers and an unobtrusive maid staff. Located just off of Mariahilferstraße (a popular shopping district), Fürst Metternich is literally around the corner from the Zieglergasse stop on Vienna’s excellent U-Bahn system. Even if you choose to walk, you’re only 10-15 minutes away from Vienna’s Ring. I will say that my single room (room 26 to be exact) was a bit cramped as the desk and armoire are in a narrow hallway across from the bathroom…the remaining 50% of the room had just enough room to tread carefully around the bed. This annoyance aside, I can at least say that the bed was comfortable and much larger (double bed) than I had expected for a single room. Photos on the hotel’s website and YouTube promotional video are a bit misleading, at least in regards to single rooms. The bathroom was definitely roomier, and always clean. Much like many of the hotels on my trip, there is no air-conditioning, but an open window can help alleviate the heat…and if your room is at the back of the building (as mine was), you’ll hear almost no noise. For those with smartphones/laptops, internet can be accessed via WIFI passwords—provided free from the front desk in 24-hour increments. I cannot comment on the free breakfast as I was rather busy each morning.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building and in the center (like rm. 26) will likely be smaller than others, but will have less outside noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The room and services of the hotel staff are very good. Moreover, the hotel is located near a metro station which makes moving around Vienna easy. There are also many eating places nearby as well as a super-mart. Overall, I am very happy on selecting this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jongfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lovely modern room with very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. The entry and reception is quite different, traditional style, a bit pokey but interesting.

The location is good; Vienna is a sprawling city and this is not too far from the centre and close to rail transport.

Fairly bland service biut overall a good value hotel.

Room Tip: Try for one of the renovated rooms
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marakesh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a typical city Hotel albeit beautifully old fashioned. It is very difficult to actually see the name when coming down the road and at street level there doesn't appear to be a hotel name on the door. However you do enter another world inside, small Victorian grandure. The room was pretty basic but I think that with the advent of en-suites the room sizes diminished; however it had everything we needed. There was a kettle and cups - with no makings - but I'm sure if we'd asked it would have arrived.A very convenient hotel with the metro and buses very close by. Breakfast was a bit lacking I must say and positioned so that there was a constant queue. The staff where Ok and I would recommend it for a city break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viennart, Manager at Hotel Fuerst Metternich, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and the time you took for writing some comments. It helps us to improve our services and other guests to decide for a hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you like our hotel. If you would tell us, what exactly you missed on the buffet breakfast we could think about some new offers on our buffet. You can also write me directly: anita.schlattner@austrotel.at
We would be happy to see you again in our hotel Fürst Metternich!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews