We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location, correct service for a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
Ranked #154 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Central location, correct service for a good price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Booked this hotel for a congress stay because of price and location. Before arriving i sent several emails asking for details and answers were always quick and detailed. The hotel has a great location, with ten minutes walk from a railway station, three minutes from a main street and metro. I was given a hotel room on the top floor but the elevator doesnt go up there so hadto walk one floor. Room was ok but not very stzlishly furnished although the building is very nice. Staff was kind and helpful. All in all, a good hotel, comfortable rooms,very good price (especially for Vienna) and a great location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gallusdomesticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    184
    50
    17
    10
See reviews for
43
174
34
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

First up the hotel location was great, just a short walk from the metro station. There are shops and dining choices just outside. Service staff was responsive and attentive, exactly what you would expect from a 3 star hotel.

I found the rooms a little small though, but I don't have any basis for comparison since this was the only hotel I stayed in during my trip to Vienna. However, I did find the air conditioning in my room below par. It was too warm and I had to sleep in just a singlet.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Fuerst Metternich for 6 nights, mid-October 2011. Be aware first, that the photos are very misleading.

Pros: We found the room spacious and the beds very comfortable. The room was clean and very quiet. The location is good: just a block from the U3 U-Bahn station, and it is walkable to the Museumquartier or to the Ringstrasse. There is free wif-fi available, although the signal is weak in the room; better coverage in the lobby.

Cons: The room was overly warm and stuffy [but we solved that by keeping the windows open]. There is no kettle for heating water for tea or coffee in the room, and guests are asked not to use such devices if they brought them [I assume the wiring is old and inadequate]. Although there is an elevator, you will need to climb steps [with luggage] to the first floor/reception, and then there are many "half floors", so you will need to lug luggage another flight. The people in reception were indifferent about providing assistance. The breakfast is overpriced at 13 euros -- go a couple of blocks on Mariahilferstrasse to the Cafe Ritter and enjoy better service, cheaper prices, and a more homey, Austrian atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank disheveledprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

I have stayed at FM twice - most recently at end of July 2011, and also in early Oct 2010 when it was wet and cold. I stayed there again cos I knew where it was and could not be bothered (in a 6 week European tour of hotels largely for 1 or 2 nights) in choosing yet another. The location is great - a 10min or so walk from Westbahnhof, as I arrived at that station in 2010. In 2011 I arrived by metro from another station but as it is close to 2 metro stations it is very handy. I got a really cheap rate from HRS for single room of 63E a night. For Vienna that is quite cheap. The first time I got a really much bigger and more luxurious room for some reason (off season?) which I would give 4 stars - most recent room was a little smaller but still more than adequate although shower booth a little poky - so 3 1/2 stars. Both rooms over internal courtyard so quiet - street rooms would likely still be OK as it is on side street of Maria Hilferstrasse which is the High St of Vienna for shopping. Not really any good for restaurants there though unless you head more down towards museum quarter - check out Zum Roten Elefanten on Gumpendorferstrasse, reviewed by me elsewhere here. Do not bother with breakfast at FM I think - I refuse to pay 15E for breakfast in such places - you could likely almost buy a 2 course lunch at Roten Elefanten for that.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster United Kigdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

After the entrance ( all marble collums etc) it really does go downhill from there... and remeber this is Austria.. not some 3rd world country. Location is OK 15 mins to the centre, but the rooms.. like a 1970 dorm. Oppresive dark dingey, terrible bathroom, and the place aint Cheap either..this is not a 3 star hotel at all. The staff were ok, the breakfast is adequate..but tbh, look elsewhere fr your accom.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Vienna was the second stop of our Europe trip & I didn't have high expectations from this hotel after having stayed at a beautiful one in Milan. Plus I'd read enough reviews to know what I was in for but the location & price were the deciding factors when booking. I must say that the hotel was very disappointing! We didn't opt to have breakfast there as we wanted to enjoy the tradional Viennese breakfast options elsewhere. To start off with the good things. It's location right off Mariahilferstrasse is amazing. We found the area to be lively, with plenty of good places to eat & shop. Also a little walk lead to the Museum Quarter. A bit further down and we saw The Opera House. Also incredibly close to the Westbahnoff station. Location therefore was the only saving grace as the hotel staff was aloof and not very helpful, the room was musty with an odd window which barely opened. The bathroom was incredibly small & strangely the towels were hung at the level of the toilet, very unhygienic! I must say the shower was lovely though & I can't fault it. The bed was comfortable and large but the side tables were dusty. Due to the unbearable heat in the room with a window which barely opens, a musty strange scent & dark interiors, the room lent an air of being unclean even if it may have been. There's no one to help with the luggage when you have to climb all those stairs. Overall I would suggest this hotel for someone who really couldn't find a better deal although I'm sure there would be. Mariahilferstrasse was the saving grace of this leg ouf our journey. Absolutely loved the vibe of the place. (There's a supermaket very nearby so it's convenient to pick up water & other necessities).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lash7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
245 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Good location, easy parking (but you have to put parking coupons in the car), large rooom (we have a room for 3 persons), very decent price for Vienna, friendly people and good breakfast

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Labienus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Savoy Hotel Vienna
Savoy Hotel Vienna
#144 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Altwienerhof
#134 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Mariahilf
Hotel Kummer
Hotel Kummer
#53 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerst Metternich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerst Metternich

Property: Hotel Fuerst Metternich
Address: Esterhazygasse 33, Vienna 1060, Austria (Formerly Austrotel Fuerst Metternich)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#108 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#124 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fuerst Metternich 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to present the rich in traditon Boutique Hotel Fürst Metternich in hostoric splendor as an individual, family run boutique hotelTradition & FlairThe Hotel Fürst Metternich offers its guests the unique flair of Vienna at the turn of the 19th to the 20th century. The building in the style of the German Neo-Renaissance was built in 1896 and is embedded in a row of houses with typical Viennese character. A special highlight is the preferred downtown location in a quiet side street of the shopping boulevard “Mariahilfer Straße“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fuerst Metternich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austrotel Fuerst Metternich Vienna
Austrotel Fuerst Metternich Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing