We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great breakfast”
Review of Hotel City Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel City Central
Ranked #58 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good value, great breakfast”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel City Central in Vienna in late May 2013. I selected this hotel after lots of research on Tripadvisor.

I chose this hotel because of location, price, and its ability to handle car parking.

The hotel location is great, just a block walk down to a bridge which takes you into the city center. As others have mentioned, this hotel has an old world style. We had a small double room. The twin beds were situated on either side of the room. The room is decorated with wood, which really gives it an old world charm. The bathroom was nice size. The room and bath were very clean.

The hotel has a fabulous breakfast buffet which was included in our room rate. A full selection of typical European breakfast items, plus hotel items such as scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. The buffet itself occupies a large dining hall, and there is adjoining dining room set with probably about 30 tables. The morning we were there was busy, with some people having to wait for a table, or take their breakfast elsewhere to eat.

The front desk staff is particularly helpful. I had developed a head cold and needed some cough syrup. The previous night, I had seen an apothecary just across the bridge, and was going to head over there. The clerk instead directed me to one which was closer, just a few doors down from the hotel. After returning to the hotel, I realized the directions on the bottle of cough syrup were in German, so I had no idea on dosing. The desk clerk again was there to help me understand the dosing.

This hotel is a good value for Vienna. It is not in the city center, but just a moment's walk across the bridge and you are there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rj2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear rj2002,

Thank you for your nice comments and informing us about your impressions.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff made you feel very comfortable with us.

We hope that in the meanwhile your head cold is vanished and you are fully recovered.

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    307
    74
    13
    3
See reviews for
155
332
56
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The location of the hotel was great. Although in a very quiet area, it was just 1 min away from the river and 5 min walking away from the city center. The rooms, hotel and service were OK given the price we have paid. However, for our last night we moved to another room in order to accommodate one more person. This was requested clearly by email. The price difference between the rooms was 20 EUR including breakfast for the extra person which seemed pretty reasonable. However, the extra bed was a sofa and not knowing if this was normal or not, we prepared the sofa ourselves because the folded sheets were left below the sofa for us. On top of that the person ended up sleeping uncomfortably because we didn't manage to open the sofa fully -all this preparation was supposed to have been done by the hotel staff. Having complained about this on the next day, the hotel still insisted for us to pay the extra 20 euros. I think that waiving the extra 20 euros would have been a nice gesture.
The breakfast had a lot of variety and the quality was ok. On all 3 breakfasts I had, eggs were clearly too dry. Room views were awful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Organizador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Organizador,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your experience. First of all we would like to apologize for not preparing the extra bed. Of course this should have been made by us! Please do accept our sincere excuses. This incident has already been discussed in the team in order to avoid a repetition. Thank you for informing us.

Your remark regarding the eggs has also been passed to the service staff in order to optimize the preparation.

We are happy that you still enjoyed the hotel location as well as the breakfast variety and hope to get a further chance to fully convince you about our service and quality consciousness.

In the meanwhile, we wish you a nice summer continuation.

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ten Boer
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have been staying in Hotel City central on several occasions. It is situated on Taborstrasse, near the Danube Canal, just outside the city center. The atmosphere is pleasantly Viennese, friendly and a little old fashioned. But in the good meaning of the word.
The rooms vary in size from spacious to relatively small. All have an ancient 'inn' flavour. Beds are good and cleaning is exemplary. The only disadvantage being that the walls between the rooms are relatively thin.
Breakfast is served on the first floor and the buffet is varied and enjoyable. The hotel does not have an in house restaurant, but you can dine at the Hotel Stephanie, which is also from the Schlick group, a few doors further.
The main disadvantage of the hotel is the relatively busy Taborstrasse. For me this means that I always ask for a room at the backside of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear DocJan,

We are very happy that you stayed at our Hotel City Central on several occasions and thank you for your trust.

We hope to welcome you back soon and look forward to your next booking.

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had the pleasure of visiting Vienna and the City Central hotel in the early (very early) spring and we thought very highly of the hotel. It is a little outdated but the location is very good only a short walk to "Downtown". The staff was helpful and serviceminded especially in the breakfastroom. The room was ok but a little small and you could hear and SMELL people walking by in the corridor. Breakfast was excellent with a variety of choices and plenty of space. Schwedenplatz and public transportation is just a short walk away and a grocery store is just up the street. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Stefan W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your impressions on TripAdvisor.

Your comments are very important to us and give us the possibility to control our service, improve it and adapt it to the special needs of our guests.

We thank you for highly recommending us and remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

be careful when you make the reservation at this hotel, because even if it is written on the site that the cancellation is free, at the moment of reservation the hotel blocked for 2 weeks the entire amount of money (we made reservation for 2 rooms), the equivalent for entire period. so,for 2 weks we could not use our money. on the site there is no comment or warning about this thing.

we would change the hotel, but we're too late to make any change. we'll never stay again at this hotel.

Anyway,the hotel is well located, relatively close from the centre: 15 minutes to walk till Stephan's Dome. very close is the direct bus from the airport. the rooms have old furniture but they are very clean. the breakfast is very good, and have free lactose products-for those who are interested. the staff is very nice and helpful.
the walls of the hotel are extremely thin, you can hear everything through them.even if you are a heavy sleeper you may have troubles with this. our room had windows to the street, but it was ok, the noise from outside was not disturbing as long as the window was closed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexM1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear AlexM1903,

Thank you for posting your experience. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the hotel itself and appreciate your compliments for the location, the breakfast offer and the staff.

But we are sorry that your stay has been overshadowed by the problems with the credit card. Depending on which offer you choose we ask for a pre-payment or only a credit card guarantee.

We hope you will still keep your stay in good memories and remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I recently spent a week here on a visit to Vienna with my family. I have to say that I have stayed in some 5 star hotels in the past and didn't have the same positive experience we had here.

Firstly, the location is outstanding in terms of walking access to the old town of Vienna, you are minutes away from Stephansplatz, and the underground rail network is a very short walk (easy with luggage) across the Danube kanal, making access to bigger stations such as Westbanhof and Landstrasse (for airport access) really easy.

The rooms are very well maintained and comfortable. Breakfast is one of the best I have had across Europe. There is a large Billa supermarket next door for groceries.

The final thing I would mention, that really stood out for me, was the attitude of the staff. I have stayed in some very expensive hotels where there is an expectation that the staff are helpful, but I generally got the impression that it was their job. At this hotel I got the impression that the staff take genuine pride in their work and making people comfortable.

This deserves a specific mention. At check in the fellow behind the counter was good humoured and quick to allay any concerns, and provide advice to relax some travel weary travellers. At breakfast the lady managing the breakfast area was meticulous in making sure everything was in order and everyone had what they needed. Further we had a drama that was about to derail our holiday, and we needed to print documents and send a fax in the middle of the night, the night duty manager was incredibly helpful and persevered to assist and make sure that our documentation got through.

I would definitely look forward to staying here again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terminalvelocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear jp1978canberra,

Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you entire team made you feel comfortable and could always give you good advise and support you.

Your nice compliments have been forwarded and we thank you for your specific mention.
We attach great importance to customer satisfaction and your words really please us. Thank you.

We would be happy to welcome you back and send best regards to Canberra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The location of the Hotel is simply brilliant! I had stayed in this hotel in July 2012 with my husband and 18 month old daughter. I was to reach the hotel with my toddler a day before my husband ( he was joining us after some work related travel). With a baby to manage all on my own, I could not have asked for a better location in Vienna.

There is a supermarket right next to the hotel, a shop where you can buy calling cards / cell phone etc right opposite and it is a 5 min walk to Stephansdom. There is a tram,bus and underground station at a 2 min walk,

The service at the hotel was extraordinary - especially during breakfast. For our entire 4 night stay, they were nice enough to give us warm milk for the baby and sterilise her feeding bottles ( in the microwave). I had read great reviews of the breakfast served in this hotel - but I could not have prepared myself for the feast that was laid out each morning. A wide variety of cereals / nuts / spreads/ cheese/ breads and fruits were on offer. In addition, there were eggs to order, hot bacon, choice of teas, coffee and juices and top it all champagne (for which you need to reach early).

The room was neat and bathroom clean. All the staff were extremely friendly (especially with the kid) and made our stay really comfortable. The staff at the reception also was really kind and helpful and guided us on places of interest, best way to reach a place, directions etc.

If I go back to Vienna, I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_StillHaventFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear I_StillHaventFound,

We are glad that you still remember your last year stay and now choose to write a review.

We are pleased that you felt very comfortable and although travelling alone with a child you felt comfortable from the beginning.

Your nice comments have already been passed to the staff. Thank you.

Looking forward to your next family vacation, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#21 of 360 in Vienna
1,184 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#19 of 360 in Vienna
501 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#23 of 360 in Vienna
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 360 in Vienna
1,628 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#49 of 360 in Vienna
927 reviews
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#60 of 360 in Vienna
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Central

Property: Hotel City Central
Address: Taborstrasse 8, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Vienna
#35 Family Hotel in Vienna
#43 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#49 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#68 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City Central 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name already reveals much about the smart Hotel City Central’s advantages. The central location near the 1st District, the historic centre of Vienna, coupled with the employees’ typical Viennese charm and a perfect price-performance ratio, distinguish this hotel. Behind the stylish facade, guests find a perfect refuge for their stay in Vienna. 58 rooms and three individual apartments in a nearby building are all convincing thanks to modern comforts such as air conditioning, FLAT TV with Sky programs, and WLAN (free of charge). A special attraction is the Winter Garden with its pyramid-shaped glass roof where a rich and varied breakfast is served. Covered parking spaces are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Appartements City Central
Appartements City Central Hotel
Best Western Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing