We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New Name Added in the List”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel City Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel City Central
Ranked #56 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A New Name Added in the List”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have visited a number of places in Europe and had added only few names to my book-list. Hotel City Central is among one of my favorite destinations, which I have discovered recently. I stayed here with my cousins for three nights in May 2012 and all of us had no complaints. Staff is outstanding and will go out of the way to help you. Décor of the room as well as the building is fabulous. Location is perfect that is away from the crowds of old city. Buffet breakfast which included free champagne was served in a pretty dining room. It was really one of the best. Above all, the high quality services offered at reasonable prices impressed me a lot. I will surely recommend this name to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Nisha M,

Thank you for adding us to your book-list and recommending us to your friends.

We are delighted to learn about your experience and thank you for your nice comments.

We wish you a beautiful year 2013 and remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    297
    72
    10
    2
See reviews for
145
326
51
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I booked this hotel with a deal through HRS. I chose it for its location close to the city center and for the good reviews I saw on tripadvisor. I was not disappointed. Within 30 minutes of arrival, I had obtained a sim card for my phone from a shop across the street and some small necessities from the grocery store located right next door. After a short nap, where I was not awakened by the daytime street noise outside my window, I walked across the bridge and hopped on Tram 1 for a short evening ride to the Christmas market at the town hall. For the rest of my three nights there, I walked everywhere, including back to the town hall market. The hotel is ideally situated for exploring the city and enjoying the museums and cafes.

My first morning, I was very pleasantly surprised by the hotel's breakfast. It had everything you could desire including sparkling wine. There was an excellent selection of hot and cold items to chose from including cold cuts, cheeses, fruit, yogurts, breads, pastries, soft-boiled and scrambled eggs, plus hot breakfast meats. I don't remember when I have seen such an extensive display of items to choose from in a hotel of this rating.

Staff in the breakfast area were very attentive and made sure that tables were cleared and reset and food and drink items were restocked. Cleaning staff was efficient and I was never bothered by them. Everyone that I dealt with at the front desk was friendly and most helpful.

I especially appreciated the free wifi that was available in the rooms. The signal was strong and available when I needed it. I was able to access my online public library back home in the States and download five books before leaving the hotel to use on the rest of my trip. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again when in Vienna.

The hotel is easy to reach from the airport using the underground system. The trip cost only 4 euros. When I left the hotel, I joined a Danube river cruise. The city port area is not far from the hotel and can be reached by the underground. I actually ended up walking to the ship with my roll aboard bag after picking up another friend at a hotel closer to the port. I wouldn't recommend walking if you have more luggage, especially since the underground is convenient and even a taxi should be inexpensive given the short distance to the port.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellady83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear travellady83,

We are pleased to read that you chose to stay with us after reading the reviews of other guests which already visited us and thank you for reviewing us too.

We really appreciate your nice compliments which have been passed to the entire staff. Thank you.

Wishing you a nice year 2013, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have stayed here for 2 nights. location is great. close to center and metro station but there is no noise isolation in the rooms at all. we heard everything from next room and also from upper room.
>> very disappoint point was, the cleaning lady started to clean and hover the rooms as of 8.00 am and we couldn't sleep due to cleaning noise at all!!!

also, in the morning, we had to wait 20 minutes to get a table for breakfast.there was not enought tablets and chairs!!

Weird enough, there were not enough toilet papers and they did not replenish it either!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Compasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Compasser,

Thank you for writing about your impressions.

We are very sorry to learn that you could not enjoy your Vienna stay since you had no restful nights. Please do accept our sincere excuses.

Your critic regarding the cleaning noise and the missing replenishment has already been passed to our housekeeping department. Again sorry.

We place great emphasis on service and quality, and really regret that we did not offer you a nice stay.

We hope you will give us yet another opportunity to convince you.
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alassio, Italy
Level Contributor
166 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is in a very convenient area just steps from the historic centre and Schwedenplatz U-bahn station. Pleasant and professional welcome on our arrival by the friendly and multi lingual receptionist, with warm drink and efficient formalities.
Hotel lobby and common areas are moderately spacious and furnished, reflecting the old, possibly historic nature of the building and a balanced budget approach. Rooms are generally pretty small (even though some standard corner rooms are very spacious... To the dismay of a friend who had booked a Superior room only to find it smaller than the lucky one in the group who got the standard corner room!).
Good wooden furnishing; simple, but clean and well maintained bathroom, with modest hotel toiletries. Fitness room is minimalistic with two machines only.
In a room facing the inside, we often smelled smoke, probably coming from smoking rooms. Sound proofing is not good - we could hear all activity in the nearby and upstairs rooms.
Breakfast buffet is very nice, in a bright room with a good choice of cold and some warm food. Service for hot drinks a little slow although they are not short of waitresses.
Overall a good compromise, and kind service, but this hotel should probably be rated a three-star according to prevailing standards.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto_NW_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Roberto_NW_Italy,

Thank you for posting your experience.

We are happy to learn that you were satisfied with your arrival and felt comfortable with the staff.

After reading your comments regarding the room categories we checked your bookings and our assignments. The standard room is definitely smaller than the superior one; however, the different room arrangement can lead to an optical illusion.

Your improvement suggestion regarding the service speed has been noticed.

We thank you for helping us control and improve our offer and hope you will give us a further chance to fully convince you.

In the meantime, we wish you a nice Christmas season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

chose this hotel based on tripadvisor and couldnt be happier !

location is great just across the river from the ring stasse, and ubahn U4 station and tram line. Tram #2 stops just a little way past the hotel as well. So easy to get to the sights and importantly home again at nigth when tired.

We caught a cab from Hbhf but should have used the ubahn, (which is how we left) Take brown line and then green U4.

We had a room with sitting room that held the fold out bed for our teenager so was very spacious. Bathroom was great with good shower and space to the toilet.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was fantastic. Lots of hot and cold foods.

Staff were excellent, especially the breakfast manager always with a friendly hello.

Room Tip: ask for a smoke free floor as well as room. we had a street facing room but had no noise with windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear RobRb,

We are pleased to read that choose to stay with us based on the TripAdvisor reviews and that your expectations were completely fulfilled.

We appreciate your praise and wish you a Merry Christmas.

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here in July. I was concerned about being across the river since so much of our activity would be on the other side. But it was great! The hotel is barely a block from the bridge and the walk was easy. On top of that, it was less expensive and the accommodations were superb! We had a lovely room, the breakfasts were filling, and the staff was the best. We wer off the beaten path and didn't have the usual noise of being on the other side. The walk was easy and convenient. I highly recommend this hotel. Their sister hotels are across the river and one was down the street. We ate at the sister hotel down the street for an authentic Austian meal--it was somewhat expensive and too much food, but very good. The hotel staff recommended restaurants for us--actually called in to get us a reservation at a wonderful Italian place off the city center that was excellent--can't remember its name. Overall, it was a great chice for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmfarfol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear gmfarfol,

thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and really appreciate your compliments.

Wishing you a nice Christmas season, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I spent a wonderful week at City Central Hotel. I really loved the hotel: great location with lots of shops and restaurants, friendly and helpful staff, nice and clean room and very good breakfast. I will come back at this hotel for sure! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel City Central, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Iulia17,

We are delighted to learn about your experience and really appreciate your praise.

We thank you for recommending us and wish you a very nice Christmas season.

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#25 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#24 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Central

Property: Hotel City Central
Address: Taborstrasse 8, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Vienna
#35 Family Hotel in Vienna
#43 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#49 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#68 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City Central 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name already reveals much about the smart Hotel City Central’s advantages. The central location near the 1st District, the historic centre of Vienna, coupled with the employees’ typical Viennese charm and a perfect price-performance ratio, distinguish this hotel. Behind the stylish facade, guests find a perfect refuge for their stay in Vienna. 58 rooms and three individual apartments in a nearby building are all convincing thanks to modern comforts such as air conditioning, FLAT TV with Sky programs, and WLAN (free of charge). A special attraction is the Winter Garden with its pyramid-shaped glass roof where a rich and varied breakfast is served. Covered parking spaces are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Appartements City Central
Appartements City Central Hotel
Best Western Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing